Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

By: Heather Towery Davis EDU 451 Reinhardt University

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "By: Heather Towery Davis EDU 451 Reinhardt University"— Presentation transcript:

1 By: Heather Towery Davis EDU 451 Reinhardt University
The Life Cycle of a Frog By: Heather Towery Davis EDU 451 Reinhardt University

2 Standards National Standards
NS.K-4.3 LIFE SCIENCE As a result of activities in grades K-4, all students should develop understanding of The characteristics of organisms Life cycles of organisms Organisms and environments State Standards S2L1. Students will investigate the life cycles of different living organisms. a. Determine the sequence of the life cycle of common animals in your area: a mammal such as a cat or dog or classroom pet, a bird such as a chicken, an amphibian such as a frog, and an insect such as a butterfly. National Education Technology Standards Technology Operations and Concepts Students demonstrate a sound understanding of technology concepts, systems, and operations. Students: a. understand and use technology systems

3 What is a frog?

4 Amphibian A frog is an amphibian. An amphibian is a cold blooded vertebrate (meaning it has a spine) and adapts to live both in the water and on land.

5 What is a life cycle?

6 Life Cycle A life cycle is how a living thing grows, lives, has young, and dies. A life cycle is a living thing’s stages of development.

7 What are the stages in the life cycle of a frog?

8 The Life Cycle of a Frog

9 Eggs Stage one is eggs. A mother frog lays many eggs at one time. She lays her eggs in the water. The eggs do not have shells. They are like jelly. Each frog begins its life cycle as an egg.

10 Tadpoles Stage two is tadpoles. Tadpoles hatch from the eggs. Tadpoles look like fish. They even have gills to breathe in the water just like fish do.

11 Tadpoles with Legs Stage three is tadpoles with legs. The tadpoles are growing! They grow back legs and front legs. They are developing lungs to breathe air. The tadpoles tails begin to shorten.

12 Froglet – A Young Frog Stage four is a froglet, or a young frog. The frog is now around two to four months old. It is breathing air through its lungs and it no longer has gills. It still has a little bit of a tail, but it is much shorter.

13 Adult Frog Stage five is an adult frog. This frog is now 11 weeks old. It has fully developed lungs and legs. Its tail has been completely absorbed by its body. It will eat small insects and worms. The adult frog must stay near water. Its skin is thin and must stay wet. The female frogs will lay eggs of their own and the life cycle begins again.

14 Metamorphosis The stages a frog goes through are dramatic changes. The tadpoles which hatch from the eggs, look more like fish than a frog. They go through a BIG change in their life cycle to look like adult frogs. This big change is called metamorphosis.

15 The Life Cycle of a Frog 1. Egg 5. Adult Frog 2. Tadpole
4. Froglet – Young Frog 3. Tadpole with legs

16 Works Cited Communication 4 All Enchanted Learning Microsoft Clipart
Georgia Science – A Closer Look, Teacher’s Edition by The McGraw Hill Companies; 2009 Science Assessment by Options Publishing; 2006

Download ppt "By: Heather Towery Davis EDU 451 Reinhardt University"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google