Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels

Slides:



Advertisements
Similar presentations
The Big Idea for the “Emerging Young Artists” is to do SMART marketing using digital marketing avenues. The idea is to create awareness and increase.
Advertisements

Digital Marketing Overview Tpugliese Adapted from Anton Koekemoer | April 2012.
Presented By: Jeanne Foulon, President October 7, 2010 Presented By: Jeanne Foulon, President October 7, 2010 Expanding Your Website’s Reach New Jersey.
Chapter 9 Customer relationship management
Customer relationship management
Digital Marketing Overview
Search Engine Optimization Strategies The Basics of SEO Offered to you by Mary Anne Donovan Vice President, SEO Literacy Consultants.
Jennifer Ford.  Blog – A type of website or online journal that allows you to publish articles and updates that visitors.
Seorak. Internet Marketing Steps For Web Promotion: 1. Search Engine Optimization 2. Social Media Optimization 3. Internet Research These are basic steps.
Slide 10.1 Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5 th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Chapter 10 Evaluation.
Google Online Marketing Challenge (GOMC)
What does the course cover:  The course is a practical guide to use digital marketing to effectively reach out to internet audience while building your.
Angry Kitty Digital Strategy: Market Segments, Targeting & Promotions.
Chapter 8 Campaign planning for digital media
Artur Strzelecki.  10 teams  10 non-profit organizations  6 students per team  2 weeks of developing campaigns  ~50€
Top Objectives: 1.Increase web traffic and exposure 2.Become definitive authority on Coffee 3.Increase sales to coffee centric Food Service Operators 4.Engage.
Search Engine Optimization: Understanding the Engines & Building Successful Sites Zohaib Ahmed Google Analytics Individual Qualified March 2012.
AdWords Instructor: Dawn Rauscher. Quality Score in Action 0a2PVhPQhttp:// 0a2PVhPQ.
© IDM Academy 2008 Getting the Most from Search - Integration, Ethics & Testing for Success Simon Heyes Head of Sales Operations
Chapter 15 Using Digital Interactive Media William F. Arens Michael F. Weigold Christian Arens McGraw-Hill/IrwinCopyright © 2013 by The McGraw-Hill Companies,
LaunchGuru Software Development Private Limited Digital Marketing Services Presentation by Venkatesh Sudha.
E-Marketing 5/E Judy Strauss and Raymond Frost
Learning objectives What approaches can be used to create digital marketing strategies? How does digital marketing strategy relate to other strategy development?
19 Managing Personal Communications 1. Copyright © 2011 Pearson Education, Inc. Publishing as Prentice Hall 19-2 Chapter Questions  How can companies.
Welcome to Whitehat PPC Proposal: Cap-MLGPK8 Created: 10th May 2013.
12 Digital Marketing trends for 2012 Dave Chaffey Presented for The IDM at: AdTech London,
Search Engine Optimization ext 304 media-connection.com The process affecting the visibility of a website across various search engines to.
Copyright © 2002 Pearson Education, Inc. Slide 8-1.
Online Advertising Greg Lackey. Advertising Life Cycle The Past Mass media Current Media fragmentation The Future Target market Audio/visual enhancements.
9-1 Chapter 9 The Internet.
1 Proposal Presentation On Search Engine Optimization.
MRIA is presenting the 3 rd Free Webinar in the series January 20, 2010.
What is Marketing? What is Digital Marketing? Understanding the Process of Marketing How Digital Marketing Wins Over Traditional Marketing Understanding.
How to optimise your WordPress website for search engines and get your offerings found by the right people Presented by: Women In Business with Maggie.
SEO for Google in Hello I'm Dave Taylor from Webmedia.
Search Engine Advertising Operations The quick way to get noticed.
Copyright © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. Slide 8-1 E-commerce Kenneth C. Laudon Carol Guercio Traver business. technology. society. Third Edition.
COMPANY PROFILE. ABOUT YELKOTECH We are a team of young, ambitious and deeply inspired professionals with endless creative energy and passion. Our innovative.
How to drive more and better quality traffic to your website.
Week 1 Introduction to Search Engine Optimization.
How to drive more and better quality traffic to your website.
Slide 9.1 Chaffey, Digital Business and E-commerce Management Powerpoints on the Web, 6 th edition © Marketing Insights Limited 2015 Chapter 9 Customer.
Think Digital, Think Ally Digital Media 1of19 SEO Press Release Strategy 2015.
Content Marketing Proposal NAME AND CLASS. Outline Part I: Market ◦The Company ◦Product/Service ◦Current Online Status ◦Challenges ◦Opportunity Part II:
Best Digital Marketers In the City For the Global Services.
Best Strategies For Website Promotion. What is Website Promotion? Website promotion is the continuing process used by webmasters to promote and bring.
Slide 9.1 Chaffey, Digital Business and E-commerce Management Powerpoints on the Web, 6 th edition © Marketing Insights Limited 2015 Chapter 9 Customer.
Figure 9.2 A summary of an effective process of online relationship building.
Search Engine Optimization Miami (SEO Services Miami in affordable budget)
Web Analytics Fundamentals Presented by Tejaswi, Chandrika, Sunil.
Slide 12.1 Chaffey, Digital Business and E-commerce Management Powerpoints on the Web, 6 th edition © Marketing Insights Limited 2015 Chapter 12 Digital.
Agenda 1 What is Digital Marketing? 2 Why People Are Going Online? 4 What Does Digital Marketing Consists of? 7 Digital Marketing Measurement 3 Benefits.
Presentation by Sunitha SEO Company in India- KG Tech
Full Name I Company I Job Title I
Search Engine Optimization(S.E.O)
Digital Marketing Overview
بازاریابی دیجیتال در یک نگاه
Online Marketing Campaign
CASE STUDY.
Customer relationship management
Internet Marketing Basics
Technology and Marketing The Awesomeness That Is Google Part II
Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels
Advanced digital marketing Introduction to digital marketing
Digital Marketing Overview
Digital Marketing Overview
Copyright © 2011 Pearson Education, Inc. Publishing as Prentice Hall
SEO Course Outlines.
DIGITAL MARKETING AGENCY Digital Marketing.
Part 3 Digital marketing: implementation and practice Chapter 9
Presentation transcript:

Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels

Learning objectives Distinguish between the different types of digital media channels Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of each digital media channel for marketing communications Assess the suitability of different types of digital media for different purposes

Questions for marketers Which digital communications media should we select for different types of campaign? Which are the success factors which will make our campaigns more effective?

Figure 9.1 Average percentage of traffic from different sources referred to a website Source: Smart Insights, 2011a

Figure 9.2 Percentage who consider different information sources as important when researching or purchasing a product or service Source: Nielsen (2011)

Figure 9. 3 Search engine results pages in Google (www. google. co Figure 9.3 Search engine results pages in Google (www.google.co.uk) illustrating the natural and paid listings Source: Reprinted by permission of Google, Inc. Google™ search engine is a trademark of Google, Inc.

Figure 9.4 Click-through rates depending on position in the natural search results Source: Optify (2011)

Which SEO ranking factors should I focus on? On page optimisation: <title> tag = 4.9/5 Keyword frequency and density = 3.7/5 Keyword in headings = <h1> = 3.1, <h2> = 2.8 Keyword in document name = 2.8 Meta name description = 2/5 Meta name keywords = 1/5 Off-page optimisation: More backlinks (higher PageRank)= 4/5 Link anchor text contains keyword = 4.4/5 Page assessed as a hub = 3.5/5 Page assessed as an authority = 3.5/5 Link velocity (rate at which changes) = 3.5/5 Social media signals (newer ranking signal) See http: //www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors

Which factors affect returns from paid search? Distribution of daily budget Amount bid (Max CPC). Clickthrough rate Creative quality including creative testing Campaign structure Match types especially negative matches Use of content network Time-of-day (day parting) Landing page quality Click fraud! * In Google AdWords, Live Search and Yahoo! Quality Score especially important

Online PR What it? ‘the management of reputation - the planned and sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill and mutual understanding between an organisation and its publics” The UK Institute of PR (IPR) ‘the managed process of communication between one group and another … (it) is the method of defining messages and communicating them to target audiences in order to influence a desired response’. Public Relationships Consultants Association (PRCA)

The key areas of online PR

Figure 9.5 Use of search engines for finding information related to product purchase Source: Performics (2010)

Figure 9.6 Stages involved in producing a search engine listing for the natural listings

Figure 9.7 Gatorade social media command centre video

Figure 9. 8 Smart Insights blog (www. smartinsights Figure 9.8 Smart Insights blog (www.smartinsights.com) showing content available from within a category of ‘social media marketing’

Figure 9.9 Popularity of social sharing services in France, Germany and the United Kingdom Source: http://www.addthis.com/services/compare-countries, accessed October 2011

Figure 9.10 The affiliate marketing model (note that the tracking software and fee payment may be managed through an independent affiliate network manager)

Figure 9.11 Distribution of length of time against purchase Source: Prussakov (2011b)

Figure 9.12 Behavioural ad targeting process

Figure 9.13 Banner blog (www.bannerblog.com.au) ad review site

Figure 9.14 Combination of touchpoints giving rise to sales Source: ecircle (2011)

Figure 9.15 E-mail response measures Source: GSI (2011) Whitepaper

Figure 9.16 E-mail service provider (www.emailreation.com) Source: SmartFOCUS DIGITAL

Figure 9.17 Sky spend by medium compared with market share of UK internet searches, June 05–March 06 Source: The Hitwise UK Media Impact Report, September 2006

Table 9.4 Summary of the strengths and weaknesses of different communications tools for promoting an online presence