Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Branches of Government Study Guide

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Branches of Government Study Guide"— Presentation transcript:

1 Branches of Government Study Guide

2 SS4H5c Identify the three branches of the U.S. government as outlined by the Constitution. describe what they do how they relate to each other, checks and balances, and separation of power how they relate to the states

3 How many branches of government are there?
There are 3 branches of government: Legislative Branch (Congress & House of Representatives) Judicial Branch (Judges & Courts) Executive Branch (President)

4 What does the Legislative Branch (Congress & House of Representatives) do?
Make/Write laws for the country. This branch is called the Congress (Made up of a House of Representatives and the Senate) Congress can raise money through taxes or borrowing. It uses the money to pay for an army, roads,national parks, etc.

5 What does the Judicial Branch (Judges & Courts) do?
Judges decide and settle conflicts about the meaning of laws and whether laws have been followed. Many courts across the nation make up the judicial branch. The highest court is the Supreme Court and it decides if the laws are constitutional.

6 What does the Executive Branch (President) do?
This branch can suggest, execute, enforce laws and carry out laws made by Congress. The President is the head of this branch. A President is elected every 4 years.

7 How do the branches of government relate to each other?
Power is divided among all 3 branches of government (legislative, judicial, and executive).

8 How do the branches of government relate to the states?
The central government shares powers with the states. This is called a federal system. Federal government has power over issues that affect nation. States have power over local issues such as having elections, establishing schools, and trading within each state. National government has the most power.

9 Checks and Balances The constitution gives the federal government more power but not unlimited power. There are 3 branches to limit the government’s power. Each branch limits the power of the others. They check and balance each other.

10 Separation of Power Congress can reject judges selected by the President and treaties made by the President. Only Congress can declare war. The 2 chambers of the government are: Senate House of Representatives

11 Separation of Power continued..
The Supreme Court decides whether laws are unconstitutional. The President makes treaties and chooses judges. A treaty is a negotiated agreement between two or more nations. President can veto (reject) laws made by congress.

Download ppt "Branches of Government Study Guide"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google