Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

BELIEVE SUPPORT GROUP SETON HOSPITAL APR 2011 eating for life: rebuilding your kitchen after bariatric surgery.

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "BELIEVE SUPPORT GROUP SETON HOSPITAL APR 2011 eating for life: rebuilding your kitchen after bariatric surgery."— Presentation transcript:

1 BELIEVE SUPPORT GROUP SETON HOSPITAL APR 2011 eating for life: rebuilding your kitchen after bariatric surgery

2 what’s happened? Mentally – Prepared, but were we? Physically – Altered our bodies, but we can overcome Socially – Changing our relationship with ourselves, and also with others Spiritually – Set a foundation to refill ourselves Emotionally – Fundamentally changing our relationship with food The kitchen, a place of comfort, of feeding ourselves spiritually, emotionally, physically – becomes distant.

3 taking back your space Reclaim your space Reclaim your relationship with food Reclaim your power to create Reclaim sharing food with family and friends Reclaim your right to enjoy Take the opportunity to rebuild your kitchen All local, fresh, in plan, and within your budget!

4 identifying your needs Key ingredients of your diet?  Protein  Low fat  Low sugar What are the impediments?  Time  Costs  Preparation  Shopping What satisfies that need?  Fish, chicken, beef, lamb, rabbit, duck, pork, protein supplements How do I get around this?  Planning ahead  Budgeting  Alternate sources

5 delivery pickup Soup Peddler (www.souppeddler.com)www.souppeddler.com Dishalicious (www.dishalicious.com) Private Chefing  Food+recipes  Prepare and freeze Snap Kitchen Central Market( com) Whole Foods (www.wholefoods.com) Studio Kitchen (www.studiokitchen.com) Snap Kitchen (www.snapkitchen.com) prepared foods

6 farm to home: processors, markets, and artisans Buying meat from the farm Buying veg from the farm Buying both from local farmer’s markets Buying from a CSA Buying from Artisans Benefits - improved quality - local support - fresh ingredients - control of food source - easy to get - lower costs - bulk purchases - not over-processed

7 farm to home: processors, markets, and artisans Buying meat from the farm Buying veg from the farm or farmstands Buying both from local farmer’s markets Buying from Artisans Buying from a CSA (farm pickup or delivery) - Richardson Farms - Peach Creek Farms Urban Farms / Stands / Markets Boggy Creek Rain Lily Urban Roots Johnson’s Backyard Garden Aronsky Family Farm Artisans Confituras Amity Bakery Kocurek Family Charcuterie Antonelli’s Cheese JB Organics o Farmhouse Delivery (www.farmhousedelivery.com)

8 resources Edible Austin (edibleaustin.com) Sustainable Food Center (www.sfcfarmersmarket.org)www.sfcfarmersmarket.org Twitter Markets (T, Th, Sat, Sun)  Barton Creek Mall  Downtown – Republic Square  Triangle – Guadalupe/Lamar  Burnet Road near Justin Ln  Sunset Valley  Westlake

9 paying for it 2 week delivery from FD – 37.  Avg retail - Side of beef (275lbs./ $3) – 825.  Avg retail – lb. Side of pork (110lbs. /$3) – 330.  Avg retail – lb. Week of SK – 115.  21 meals $2-9 each Extra freezer –  Craigslist Controlling your kitchen? Priceless.


Download ppt "BELIEVE SUPPORT GROUP SETON HOSPITAL APR 2011 eating for life: rebuilding your kitchen after bariatric surgery."

Similar presentations


Ads by Google