State Council Membership Director Meeting SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT 2015 NOVEMBER 19-21, 2015 | WASHINGTON, DC WEBCAST – MARCH 20, 2015 Jason Gudenius Senior Account Director, MGI Chantal Rotondo Manager, Membership Acquisition Marketing State Council Membership Director Meeting
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Goal and Expectations State Council Membership Directors Provide leadership to chapter membership directors in all areas of membership responsibility Assure that chapter membership directors have access to best available resources for member recruitment and retention Track and report to state council statewide and chapter member retention rates. Collect successful membership recruitment/retention initiatives to share with chapter membership directors 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Better (and Happier) Together Chapter Renewal Rate Chapter only renewal rate 59.06% SHRM & chapter 78.32% SHRM overall Renewal Rate – about 80% In-chapter member 81.81% At-large member 66.73% 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Holders of Plans, Collectors of Stories 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Foundations of Membership Marketing Frequency 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Foundations of Membership Marketing Using Multiple Channels 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Foundations of Membership Marketing A Direct Ask with incentive (call to action) 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Foundations of Membership Marketing Regular communication of value (engagement communication and activities) 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Foundations of Membership Marketing Multiple contacts in the renewal series 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Foundations of Membership Marketing Testing & Tracking What works best 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Foundations of Membership Marketing Have a Budget - Members are an Investment! 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
The Economics of Membership Response Rate Cost to Obtain a Member Renewal Rate Average Tenure Lifetime Value 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Response Rate Measures the number of prospects who responded to a marketing effort. Response Rate = Total number of responses / Total number of prospects contacted X 100. 5 responses to 500 people contacted = 1% 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Cost to Obtain a Member Package A cost = $.85 X 15,000 = $12,750 Package A new members = 90 Package A Cost to Obtain a Member = $141.67 Package B cost = $.85 X 15,000 = $12,750 Package B new members = 115 Package B Cost to Obtain a Member = $110.87 A B 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Renewal Rate Renewal Rate = (# of members today – new members over the past 12 months) / # of members 1 year ago today. Ex. We have 1,000 members today. 280 new members came in over the past 12 months. One year ago today we had 900 members. What is our renewal rate: (1,000-280)/900 = 720/900 = 80% 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Average Tenure Avg. Tenure defines how long on average members stay with an association. We need to know our renewal rate to find this. Average Tenure = 1/lapse rate (opposite of our renewal rate) If we have a renewal rate of 80% how long on average do members stay with our organization? Average Tenure = 1 / (1 - .80) = 1 / .2 = 5 years 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Lifetime Value (LTV) Using our average tenure, we can understand the economic value of a member over time. 1. Lifetime Value = (Average annual dues revenue + average annual non-dues revenue per member) * Average Tenure 2. With annual dues of $100 and average annual non-dues of $50 what is the lifetime value of our members? 3. Lifetime Value = ($100 + $50) * 5 = $150 * 5 = $750 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Templates, Tools, and Resources for Chapters Basic marketing plan Acquisition Templates Renewal Templates Win-back calling scripts Sample email copy 100 marketing hints books MGI 2015 Membership Marketing Benchmarking Report 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Resources on the VLRC 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Member Get a Member 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Customizable SHRM & Chapter Brochure 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Customizable SHRM & Chapter Brochure 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Sample Acquisition Templates 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Sample Renewal Templates 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Communication Channel Sample Renewal Tools Renewal Effort Communication Channel Date 1 Email 120 days before expire 2 Direct Mail 90 days before expire 3 60 days before expire 4 45 days before expire 5 30 days before expire 6 Day before expire 7 Telephone Call Day of expire 8 15 days after expire 9 60 days after expire 10 Email Exit Survey 75 days after expire 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
Why Join a Chapter Video 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
What other samples or tools would be helpful? 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
What are your Biggest Challenges? 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Challenges help provide a clear message for local membership directors ( onboarding, marketing templates) how to tap into untapped markets (@ large members, those who are not in immediate chapter location) how to create a member dashboard/show member metrics how to spread membership responsibilities 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015 Challenges provide a distribution list for directors members to connect how to engage millennials/ provide stats how to engage @ large without feeling like we are pushing/ forcing them to feel like they have to join a chapter 2015 SHRM VOLUNTEER LEADERS’ SUMMIT ©SHRM 2015
THANKS!