Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

The Tudor Monarchs.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "The Tudor Monarchs."— Presentation transcript:

1 The Tudor Monarchs

2 The Tudors The Tudors reigned from 1485 until 1603.
There were five Tudor kings and queens: Henry VII, Henry VIII, Edward VI, Lady Jane Grey, Mary I and Elizabeth I. They were very powerful and are remembered for having lots of people executed (killed).

3 Henry VII Henry VII was the first Tudor King.
He became king by defeating Richard III at the Battle of Bosworth Field in 1485. He ended the War of the Roses by marrying Elizabeth York, the daughter of his enemy. He died in 1509.

4 Henry VIII Henry VIII was Henry VII’s son and became king when he died in 1509. Henry VIII is remembered for having had six wives. Henry VIII started the Church of England. He was born in 1491 and he died in 1547.

5 Edward VI Edward was only 10 when he became king.
He was ill for most of his life and died at the age of 16 in 1553.

6 Lady Jane Grey Lady Jane Grey was chosen to be queen because she was Protestant (Church of England). She was not Henry’s child and so had no right to the throne. This made the public angry. After just nine days she was forced to leave the throne and was later beheaded.

7 Mary I Mary was the daughter of Henry VIII and Catherine of Aragon.
She tried to make England become Catholic again and was known as Bloody Mary because of all the Protestants she had killed. She married Philip of Spain. This made her unpopular as the English did not trust the Spanish. She died in 1558.

8 Elizabeth I Elizabeth became queen in 1558, following her sister Mary’s death. She returned England to Protestantism. She never married. During her time as queen there was a great deal of exploration by England, including many parts of America. She died in 1603 and, because she had no children, the Tudor period ended.


Download ppt "The Tudor Monarchs."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google