Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Continents Oceans Equator/Prime Meridian

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Continents Oceans Equator/Prime Meridian"— Presentation transcript:

1 Continents Oceans Equator/Prime Meridian
Map Skills Continents Oceans Equator/Prime Meridian

2 Compass Rose A compass rose shows direction. The cardinal directions are North (N), East (E), South (S), and West (W). A good way to remember the directions is: Never Eat Shredded Wheat


4 Continents There are seven (7) continents in the world.
A continent is a body of LAND. The continents are: 1. North America 2. Europe 3. Asia 4. Africa 5. South America 6. Australia 7. Antarctica


6 Oceans There are four (4) oceans in the world.
An ocean is a large body of salt water. The four oceans are: 1. Indian Ocean 2. Artic Ocean 3. Atlantic Ocean 4. Pacific Ocean An easy way to remember the oceans is: I Am A Person. Indians Always Paint Arrows.

7 The Continent of Europe
The countries of Spain, England, and France are located on the continent of Europe

8 The Continent of North America
The United States of America is on the continent of North America

9 Equator The Equator is an imaginary line around the middle of the earth that divides the globe into the northern and southern hemispheres.

10 Prime Meridian The Prime Meridian is an imaginary line that divides the globe into the eastern and western hemispheres.

11 Hemispheres Half of a sphere (glove) created by the prime meridian or the equator.


Download ppt "Continents Oceans Equator/Prime Meridian"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google