Presentation on theme: "JUDGE CALLS! THESE ARE PRACTICE JUDGE CALLS INVOLVING DRAGONS MECHANICS. THEY ARE EXAMPLES OF THE KIND OF OFTEN SLIGHTLY CONFUSED QUESTIONS YOU MIGHT EXPECT."— Presentation transcript:
JUDGE CALLS! THESE ARE PRACTICE JUDGE CALLS INVOLVING DRAGONS MECHANICS. THEY ARE EXAMPLES OF THE KIND OF OFTEN SLIGHTLY CONFUSED QUESTIONS YOU MIGHT EXPECT TO HEAR FROM PLAYERS. AS WITH ACTUAL JUDGE CALLS, SOME INVESTIGATION WILL BE REQUIRED. AS WITH ACTUAL JUDGE CALLS, YOUR ANSWER WILL DEPEND UPON THE SPECIFIC DETAILS THE PLAYER PROVIDES.
BOLSTER KEYWORD: Bolster N (Choose a creature with the least toughness among creatures you control and put N +1/+1 counters on it.) Judge! I have a Swiftspear and a Polukranos. I cast my spell with Bolster 1 and chose my Swiftspear as the target. My opponent killed my Swiftspear. Can I choose Polukranos or does the Bolster fizzle?
REBOUND KEYWORD: Rebound (If you cast this spell from your hand, exile it as it resolves. At the beginning of your next upkeep, you may cast this card from exile without paying its mana cost.) Judge! I cast my spell with rebound. I placed it in my graveyard. I then used it to via Delve to help pay for Dig Through Time. Do I get to cast it on my upkeep? Judge! I cast Distortion Strike and it has rebound. My opponent countered it. Do I get to cast it on my upkeep?
EXPLOIT KEYWORD: Exploit (When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.) Judge! I cast Minister of Pain and chose a Goblin for my Exploit target. My opponent killed my Goblin. Can I still Exploit? Judge! Minister of Pain resolved. I put the Exploit ability on the stack, choosing Goblin. In response my opponent killed my creature. Can I still exploit and do I get the Exploit trigger? Judge! I have three Goblins. Can I exploit them all and get my Exploit three times?
DASH KEYWORD: Dash (You may cast this spell for its dash cost. If you do, it gains haste, and it’s returned from the battlefield to its owner’s hand at the beginning of the next end step.) Judge! I have Outpost Siege out that lets me exile the top card of my library. Can I cast my Goblin for his Dash cost? Judge! My spell lets me cast my Goblin without paying its mana cost. Can I cast it for his Dash cost? Judge! My opponent cast his Goblin via Dash. It’s my turn now, and he forgot to turn it to hand. What do we do?
FORMIDABLE ABILITY WORD: Formidable — example: Whenever Sabertooth Outrider attacks, if creatures you control have total power 8 or greater, Sabertooth Outrider gains first strike until end of turn. Judge! My opponent has a 5/5, a 4/5, and a -2/2. Do they get the Formidable effect? Judge! I have my 4/2 Sabertooth Outrider and a 5/5 Polukranos. I declare attackers. In response my opponent Throttles my Polukranos, giving it -4/-4 until end of turn. Does my Sabertooth Outrider have first strike?
MEGAMORPH KEYWORD VARIANT: Megamorph (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for 3. Turn it face up any time for its megamorph cost and put a +1/+1 counter on it.) Judge! My opponent wants to Lightning Strike my Megamorph before the counter is placed upon it. Can they do that? Judge! They declared attackers, I flipped my Megamorph, and now I would like to move to declare blockers. They want to kill my Megamorph. But since (Mega)morph doesn’t use the stack and can’t be responded to, I get to declare blockers now right?