Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Christopher Williams Ms. Woods Period 7/8 th Creative Writing.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Christopher Williams Ms. Woods Period 7/8 th Creative Writing."— Presentation transcript:

1 Christopher Williams Ms. Woods Period 7/8 th Creative Writing

2 Deadly Sins Deadly Sins, known also as Capital Vices, is a classification of objectionable vices that have been used since early Christian times to educate and instruct followers concerning fallen humanity's tendency to sin. The currently recognized version of the list is usually given as wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony. Holy churches divides sin into two categories: “Venial ", which are minor and can be forgiven through sacramental's of the Church, and “Severe “ or mortal sins.

3 WRATH The knowing of Wrath is inordinate and uncontrolled feelings of hatred and anger. These feelings can manifest as vehement denial of the truth, both to others and in the form of self-denial, impatience with the procedure of law, and the desire to seek revenge outside of the workings of the justice system (such as engaging in vigilantism) and generally wishing to do evil or harm to others.

4 WRATH A person with the taste to bring destruction and havoc upon everything. (“Of the Seven Deadly Sins, anger is possibly the most fun. To lick your wounds, to smack your lips over grievances long past, to roll over your tongue the prospect of bitter confrontations still to come, to savor to the last toothsome morsel both the pain you are given and the pain you are giving back “) ~ William Blake

5 WRATH The passion or need of chaos, malevolence, carelessness, and pain all inside the reign of will power.

6 LUST The knowing of Lust is involving obsessive or excessive thoughts or desires of a sexual nature. Unfulfilled lusts sometimes lead to sexual or sociological compulsions and/or transgressions including (but obviously not limited to) sexual addiction, adultery, bestiality, and rape. Dante’s criterion was “excessive love of others,” which therefore rendered love and devotion to God as secondary. In Purgatories, the penitent walks within flames to purge himself of lustful, sexual thoughts and feelings.

7 LUST The desire of passion that gives a person a feeling of ecstasy and flavor.

8 LUST A maximum need of pleasure to fulfill the fantasy of a beings mind.

9 GLUTTONY The knowing of Gluttony is to swallow the over-indulgence and over-consumption of anything to the point of waste. In the Christian religions, it is considered a sin because of the excessive desire for food, or its withholding from the needy. Depending on the culture, it can be seen as either a vice or a sign of status. Where food is relatively scarce, being able to eat well might be something to take pride in (although this can also result in a moral backlash when confronted with the reality of those less fortunate). Where food is routinely plentiful, it may be considered a sign of self control to resist the temptation to over-indulge.

10 GLUTTONY Eating a person’s brain away without the need to halt or waste haste.

11 GLUTTONY A massive want that gives caution of ignoring ignorance.

12 GREED The knowing of Greed is like lust and gluttony, a sin of excess, but with the need of wealth or avarice “Avarice” is more of a blanket term that can describe many other examples of greedy behavior. These include disloyalty, deliberate betrayal, or treason, especially for personal gain, for example through bribery. Scavenging and hoarding of materials or objects, theft and robbery, especially by means of violence, trickery, or manipulation of authority are all actions that may be inspired by greed. Such misdeeds can include Simony, where one profits from soliciting goods within the actual confines of a church.

13 GREED Not having enough of 1 specific thing, giving a chain of one or more outbreaks.

14 GREED The habit of just not getting enough of something, which leads to multiple outcomes.

15 SLOTH The knowing of Sloth is the feeling of melancholy, apathy, depression, and joylessness. Dante refined this definition further, describing Sloth as being the “failure to love God with all one’s heart, all one’s mind and all one’s soul.” He also described it as the middle sin, and as such was the only sin characterized by an absence or insufficiency of love. In his Purgatories, the slothful penitents were made to run continuously at top speed.

16 SLOTH The lack of ability or common sense, holding back a being’s full potential.

17 SLOTH The laziness or lack of activity holding back a person from physical dedication.

18 ENVY The knowing of Envy is insatiable desire of general needs or misfortune of others. First, greed is largely associated with material goods, whereas envy may apply more generally. Second, those who commit the sin of envy desire something that someone else has which they perceive themselves as lacking. Dante defined this as “love of one’s own good perverted to a desire to deprive other men of theirs. In Dante’s Purgatory, the punishment for the envious is to have their eyes sewn shut with wire, because they have gained sinful pleasure from seeing others brought low.

19 ENVY Appealed by another's looks, so willing to havoc them by any means. food, clothing, firing, rent, taxes,respectability and children. Nothing can lift those seven millstones from man's neck but money; and the spirit cannot soar until the millstones are lifted.”food, clothing, firing, rent, taxes,respectability and children. Nothing can lift those seven millstones from man's neck but money; and the spirit cannot soar until the millstones are lifted.

20 ENVY A felling of hate, wising grudge on another’s persona

21 PRIDE The knowing of Pride is a desire to be more important or attractive than others, or a love for oneself. In perhaps the most famous example, the story of Lucifer, Pride was what caused his Fall from Heaven, and his resultant transformation into Satan. Vanity and Narcissism are prime examples of this Sin. In the Divine Comedy, the penitent were forced to walk with stone slabs bearing down on their backs in order to induce feelings of humility.

22 PRIDE Knowing that everything but yourself is obsolete. (“We have the wolf by ears, and we can neither hold or contract him, nor safely let him go. Justice is on one scale, and self- prevention is on the other”) ~ Thomas Jefferson

23 PRIDE A feeling of contempt and shear, as if you are dead whilst everyone alive.

24 "7 Deadly Sins." Baby Doll. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. "Deadly Sins." The Seven Deadly Sins. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. "The Seven Deadly Sins." White Stone Journal. N.p., 25 oct 2009. Web. 13 Apr 2011.. "Sins." The Sunday Times. N.p., 10 Mar 2009. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. "Deadly Sins." Angelfire. N.p., 15 Apr 2011. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. "Define The Sins." All About God. N.p., 15 Apr 2011. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. "Seven Deadly Sins." White Stone Journal. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. "Seven Deadly Sins FAQ." Arthistory. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. Glover, Anne. "Seven Deadly Sins." Poynter. N.p., 25 Aug 2002. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. Warren, Tony. "Seven Deadly Sins." The Mountain Retreat. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. Barrack, Martin. "Capitol Sin." Second Exodus. N.p., 6 Jan 2010. Web. 15 Apr 2011.. Friedlancer, Ed. "7 Deadly Sins." Pathguy. N.p., 6 Jan 2010. Web. 15 Apr 2011..

Download ppt "Christopher Williams Ms. Woods Period 7/8 th Creative Writing."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google