Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Disaster Management Area Coordinator (Contracted) Applicant’s Orientation November 12, 2014.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Disaster Management Area Coordinator (Contracted) Applicant’s Orientation November 12, 2014."— Presentation transcript:

1 Disaster Management Area Coordinator (Contracted) Applicant’s Orientation November 12, 2014

2 What is a Disaster Management Area? Los Angeles County Operational Area includes 88 Cities. Divided into 8 Disaster Management Areas to best communicate, support and guide Cities in emergency planning and coordination. 8 DMACs. Of the 8 DMA’s, Area E has the most member Cities = 25 The Disaster Management Area partners are all voting members of a Joint Powers Authority (JPA)

3 Artesia Bell Bell Gardens Bellflower Carson Cerritos Commerce Compton Cudahy Downey Hawaiian Gardens Huntington Park La Habra Heights La Mirada Lakewood Lynwood Maywood Montebello Norwalk Paramount Pico Rivera Santa Fe Springs South Gate Vernon Whittier Area E Disaster Management JPA Member Cities

4 Are all 8 Disaster Management Areas the same? Different by organizational structure; Different by expectation of support and services of the DMAC Different by overall delivery of programs, training, and City Emergency Services Coordinator (ESC) support No, each Disaster Management Area is different.

5 Area E Disaster Management JPA Organizational Structure 25 Member Cities and the County of Los Angeles’ Office of Emergency Management Area E General Board Chair, Vice Chair, elected member cities representatives, and Advisory Member Executive Committee Disaster Management Area Coordinator (Contract) Administrative Manager Office Staff OEMEOPB DPHDHHS and…. DMHDPW County of Los Angeles Partner Agencies and Committees Red Cross ENLA AFN and… OATESC Local, Regional, Federal and Special Committees Cal OES CA ES Agencies FEMA Special Committees As Directed

6 Area E Disaster Management MISSION STATEMENT Area E Disaster Management will promote the coordination of emergency management – prevention (mitigation), protection, preparedness, response and recovery – for all hazards through guidance, support, planning, training, and preparedness activities within the Area E Cities and partner agencies. General (Governing) Board The General Board is responsible to develop annual strategies and goals for the Area E Disaster Management JPA. The General Board develops the Mission of Area E and provides direction to the Executive Committee in achieving the mission. The General Board is responsible to review and approve the annual budget and to establish priorities for the Executive Committee.

7 The DMAC is responsible to carry out the Mission of Area E through program delivery, member support, outside agency partnerships, and communications / updates regarding emergency management issues, concerns, and compliance. Coordinates emergency management related concerns for Area E Disaster Management and member cities. Reports directly to the Executive Committee. However is expected to work directly with each member city on matters related to emergency preparedness, and provide support and guidance, when requested, for emergency response and recovery activities. Disaster Management Area Coordinator (DMAC) Area E Disaster Management is not a Regulatory Authority. Therefore the responsibilities of compliance for the DMAC are limited to compliance education, and implementation guidance for member cities.

8 Are the emergency services the same for each Area E City? No, this is what makes the coordination of emergency management so important to our Area E Cities.

9 Full Contract Cities = 15 LA County Law and Fire Full Service Cities = 3 Independent Law and Fire Cities with Municipal Law = 4 LA County Fire Cities with Municipal Fire = 3 LA County Law / *Municipal Law Contract Downey Montebello Vernon Bell Huntington Park South Gate Whittier Compton La Habra Heights Santa Fe Springs* Artesia La Mirada Bell Gardens Lakewood Bellflower Lynwood Carson Maywood Cerritos Norwalk Commerce Paramount Cudahy Pico Rivera Hawaiian Gardens Area E Member Cities Emergency Services

10 Are emergency management priorities the same for each Area E City? No. Area E Disaster Management’s base role is to ensure that each Area E City is ‘at least’ meeting the minimum compliance of State and Federal requirements. This occurs through ongoing education, training, and support in the maintenance of emergency plans for the Area E Cities

11 What is the Role of ESC’s in Area E? There are only four Area E Cities with full time dedicated Emergency Management staff: Commerce & Norwalk stand alone division of Emergency Management Compton & Downey Emergency Management within Fire Department The other 21 Area E Cities include emergency management activities as a collateral responsibility for part-time and full- time staff. The department that oversees emergency management in each city is different. In Area E the departments who have this responsibility include City Administration, Community Development, Fire, Police, Public Safety, Public Works, and Recreation.

12 How does the DMAC provide support to the Area E Cities? Support is best delivered by understanding the individual / unique personalities of each City. Establishing an understanding of the individual / unique application of emergency management of each City. Have knowledge of resources to support Area E Cities in their efforts to enhance and strengthen their emergency management capabilities.

13 How does the DMAC provide support to the ESC’s? Maintaining an awareness of the emergency management capabilities of each City and providing guidance in addressing any gaps or needs. Identify types of training that would best support the needs of the collective Area E City ESCs. Conduct or facilitate such training. Provide mentoring and guidance to ESCs as they develop and implement programs; develop, update and maintain emergency plans; and support ESCs as they explore a better understanding of emergency management.

14 What is the relationship of Area E and the County of Los Angeles? The County of Los Angeles is a partner member of the Joint Powers Authority – Area E. The County of Los Angeles is a sub-recipient of FEMA EMPG funds. In the LA County Operational Area, each DMA receives an allocation of the funds. Area E is a sub, sub-recipient of funds. The JPA establishes the minimum expectation of service to be performed by each DMA and the assigned DMAC. Assigned DMAC provides support at the CEOC when activated; provides support and coordination with fellow DMACs; supports Operational Area activities, training, and coordination of activities. **DMAC is in place to support Area E Cities and advocate on behalf of the Cities. The DMAC does not work for the County.

15 Next Steps to being hired as the Contract DMAC…  Review the Request For Proposals documents, thoroughly!  Prepare an application packet. Be sure to include each requested item. Incomplete packets will be disqualified.  Submit an application packet no later than December 1, 2014 at 5:00 p.m. pst.  Be prepared to participate in interviews on December 16, 2014. Selected applicants will be contacted and provided additional details.  Be prepared to present proposal to the Area E General Board on January 21, 2015.

16 Questions?

17 On Behalf of the 25 Member Cities of Area E Thank You!

Download ppt "Disaster Management Area Coordinator (Contracted) Applicant’s Orientation November 12, 2014."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google