Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Cheryl Youse Colquitt County High School What is the Caldecott Medal?

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Cheryl Youse Colquitt County High School What is the Caldecott Medal?"— Presentation transcript:


2 Cheryl Youse Colquitt County High School

3 What is the Caldecott Medal?

4 The Caldecott is given out each year by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

5 The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of English illustrator Randolph Caldecott who lived in the 1800’s. This is a book he wrote called “John Gilpin’s Ride.” The medal looks like the pictures from this book.

6 In 1937, Rene’ Paul Chambellan designed the Caldecott Medal. It is a bronze medal with the winner’s name and the date engraved on the back.

7 Fifteen Librarians who work with children’s books are chosen to be on the Caldecott committee. They read hundreds and hundreds of books so they can decided which one is the best!

8 picture book: a book consisting mainly or entirely of pictures, esp. one for children who have not yet learned to read. True picture books are books in which the pictures help tell the story : the pictures are needed to understand the story

9 The first Caldecott Medal was presented in 1938 to Dorothy Lathrop for her book, Animals of the Bible, A Picture Book. Medium: black and white lithographs (Medium means what kind of artwork/how the artwork was made)

10 2006 Caldecott Winner Author: Norman Juster Illustrator: Chris Raschka Medium: Watercolor

11 2005 Caldecott Winner Author: Kevin Henkes Illustrator: Kevin Henkes Medium: Gouache (method of painting), colored pencil

12 2004 Caldecott Winner Author: Mordecai Gerstein Illustrator: Mordecai Gerstein Medium: Ink and oil paintings

13 2003 Caldecott Winner Author: Eric Rohman Illustrator: Eric Rohman Medium: Colored prints

14 2002 Caldecott Winner Author: David Wiesner Illustrator: David Wiesner Medium: Watercolor

15 2001 Caldecott Winner Author: Judith St. George Illustrator: David Small Medium: Watercolor, pen and ink, pastel

16 2000 Caldecott Winner Author: Sims Taback Illustrator: Sims Taback Medium: gouache, watercolor, collage, pencil, and ink as well as die cutting

17 1999 Caldecott Winner Author: Jacqueline Briggs Martin Illustrator: Mary Azarian Medium: Woodcut, watercolor

18 1998 Caldecott Winner Author: Paul O. Zelinsky Illustrator: O. Paul Zelinsky Medium: watercolor, acrylic, oil paint

19 1997 Caldecott Winner Author: David Wisniewski Illustrator: David Wisniewski Medium: Papercut collage

20 1996 Caldecott Winner Author: Peggy Rathman Illustrator: Peggy Rathman Medium: Watercolor

21 1995 Caldecott Winner Author: Eve Bunting Illustrator: David Diaz Medium: Collage

22 Some books each year were called “runners-up”. In 1971, that term was changed to “honor books”. These medals look like the award except they are silver instead of bronze. Honor books have great pictures too!

23 “The Red Book”, by Barbara Lehman, was an honor book in 2005.

24 “Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus” by Mo Willems was an Honor book in 2004.

25 “The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins” was an Honor book in 2002.

26 What book will win this year? The Caldecott has been presented every year since 1938

27 Books which have won the Caldecott Medal or an honor medal use pictures to help tell the story, and the pictures are really good! Look for a Caldecott today.

28 Bibliography/Sources, book Allen County Indiana Public Library, 2007 Mock Caldecott ElectionAllen County Indiana Public Library, 2007 Mock Caldecott Election American Library Association Caldecott Awards.American Library Association Caldecott Awards Caldecott Winner and Honor Books 1938-2005.Caldecott Winner and Honor Books 1938-2005 Huck, Charlotte S. Children’s Literature in the Elementary School. Boston: McGraw Hill, 2001. In the Artist's Studio by Paul O. Zelinsky. In the Artist's Studio by Paul O. Zelinsky

Download ppt "Cheryl Youse Colquitt County High School What is the Caldecott Medal?"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google