Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

1716-1737 Edward Holyoke Minister. 1716 First Meetinghouse.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "1716-1737 Edward Holyoke Minister. 1716 First Meetinghouse."— Presentation transcript:

1 Edward Holyoke Minister

2 1716 First Meetinghouse

3 Simon Bradstreet - Minister

4 Isaac Story - Minister

5 1802 Isaac Mansfield - Board President Edward Holyoke left Marblehead to be the President of Harvard College.

6 1803 William Reed - Board President The famous poet William Carlos Williams was a Unitarian.

7 Hezekiah May - Minister

8 Joshua Prentiss - Board President A Unitarian cartoonist – Thomas Nast – “invented” Santa Claus as a kindly figure representing Christmas.

9 Nathaniel Hooper - Board President Unitarian Charles Follen introduced the Christmas tree at a party at his Cambridge home in 1832

10 John Bartlett - Minister

11 William Reed - Board President Minister John Bartlett was responsible for the founding of Massachusetts General Hospital and McLean Hospital.

12 Nathaniel Hooper - Board President Hans Deutsch, an Austrian artist, first brought together the chalice and the flame as a Unitarian symbol dur­ing his work with the Unitarian Service Committee during World War II.

13 Capt. John Riley - Board President Once upon a time religious liberals who didn't believe in the trinity of God became known as Unitarians.

14 Nathaniel Hooper - Board President Those who believed in universal salvation instead of hell became known as Universalists

15 John Trent - Board President In 1961 the Unitarians and Universalists merged into one association of liberal congregations – the Unitarian Universalists.

16 Samuel Turner - Board President Unitarian Universalism has no set beliefs, and that is its defining characteristic.

17 1832 New Meetinghouse built

18 Joseph W Green - Board President We believe that personal experience, conscience and reason should be the final authorities in religion, and that in the end religious authority lies not in a book or person or institution, but in ourselves. We are a "non-creedal" religion: we do not ask anyone to subscribe to a creed.

19 1834 David Blaney - Board President A 2001 survey of UUs in the midwest showed that they describe themselves as:

20 John Chandler - Board President Unitarian Edmond Halley was an English astronomer who calculated the orbit of the comet now called Halley's comet.

21 1837 John Truitt - Board President Alexander Graham Bell came across a Unitarian pamphlet and found its theology congenially undogmatic. 'I have always considered myself as an Agnostic,' he wrote to his wife ‘but I have now discovered that I am a Unitarian Agnostic.'

22 1838 David Blaney - Board President Joseph Priestley was one of the first Unitarians in Britain. Best known for his discovery of oxygen, when his home and church in England were burned down, he came to America.

23 1839 Benjamin A Robinson - Board President Horace Greeley – newspaper publisher and author of the statement “Go west, young man, go west” was a Universalist.

24 1840 Samuel Turner - Board President Pete Seeger, famed folk singer, was a Unitarian.

25 Benjamin A Robinson - Board President The funeral for Captain James Mugford, famed Revolutionary War hero – was held in this meetinghouse. It was a huge affair.

26 1843 John Truitt - Board President UU social justice activist, writer and poet, Lydia Maria Child, wrote the song “Over the River and Through the Woods...

27 1844 Stephan P Hathaway - Board President Unitarian minister James Pierpont wrote the song “Jingle Bells”

28 John Truitt - Board President

29 George Wilson - Board President

30 Benjamin Huntoon - Minister

31 1850 David Blaney - Board President

32 1851 Benjamin Lindsay - Board President

33 David Blaney - Board President

34 Benjamin Lindsay - Board President

35 Samuel R Calthrope - Minister

36 Dr. H. H. F. Whittemore - Board President

37 David Blaney - Board President

38 James H Wiggin - Minister

39 1867 F. W. L. Huntoon - Board President

40 David Blaney - Board President

41 William B Buxton - Minister

42 Dr. H H F Whitemore - Board President

43 Stephen P Hathaway Jr - Board President

44 Benjamin H Bailey - Minister

45 James K Applebee - Minister

46 John B Barnhill - Minister

47 Samuel P Hathaway - Board President

48 Henry C McDougall - Minister

49 Albert Walkley - Minister

50 Arthur P Bartlett - Board President

51 1910 Joseph S Wormstead - Board President

52 Arthur P Bartlett - Board President

53 1910 Meetinghouse burns down

54 1911 New Meetinghouse completed

Download ppt "1716-1737 Edward Holyoke Minister. 1716 First Meetinghouse."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google