Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Erikson’s Eight Stages of Development

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Erikson’s Eight Stages of Development"— Presentation transcript:

1 Erikson’s Eight Stages of Development

2 INFANCY Age – birth to 12 to 18 months
Basic Conflict – Trust vs. Mistrust Important Event – Feeding The form a first loving, trusting relationship with the caregiver, or develop a sense of mistrust.

3 TODDLER Age – 18 months to 3 years
Basic Conflict – autonomy vs. shame/doubt Important Event – toilet training The child’s energies are directed toward the development of physical skills, including walking, grasping and rectal sphincter control. The child may learn control but may develop shame and doubt if not handled well.

4 PRE-SCHOOL Age – 3 to 6 years Basic Conflict –Initiative vs. Guilt
Important Event – Independence The child continues to be more assertive and to take more initiative, but may be too forceful, leading to guilt feelings

5 SCHOOL AGE Age – 6 to 12 years
Basic Conflict – Industry vs. Inferiority Important Event – School The child must deal with the demands to learn new skills or risk a sense of inferiority, failure, and incompetence.

6 ADOLESCENCE Age – 12 to 18 years
Basic Conflict – Identity vs. Role Confusion Important Event – Peer relationships The teenager must achieve a sense of identity in occupation, sex roles, politics and religion.

7 YOUNG ADULTHOOD Age – 19 to 40 years
Basic Conflict – Intimacy vs. Isolation Important Event – Love relationships The young adult must develop intimate relationships or suffer feelings of isolation.

8 MIDDLE ADULTHOOD Age – 40 to 65 years
Basic Conflict – Generativity vs. Stagnation Important Event – parenting Each parent must find some way to satisfy and support the next generation

9 OLDER ADULTHOOD Age 65 until death
Basic Conflict – Ego Integrity vs. Despair Important Event – Reflection on acceptance and acceptance of one’s life. The culmination of a sense of oneself as one is and of feeling fulfilled.

Download ppt "Erikson’s Eight Stages of Development"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google