Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Archbishops of some archdioceses, mostly those that are based in the world's greatest cities, are routinely named cardinals. What are those cities?

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Archbishops of some archdioceses, mostly those that are based in the world's greatest cities, are routinely named cardinals. What are those cities?"— Presentation transcript:


2 Archbishops of some archdioceses, mostly those that are based in the world's greatest cities, are routinely named cardinals. What are those cities?

3 US cities are Baltimore, New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Washington, Boston, Philadelphia and Houston. Interesting note on Baltimore: Baltimore is included because it was the seat of the first Roman Catholic bishop in the United States so it always has primacy of honor even if it were to become a small village

4 Vatican “big wigs” who have demonstrated their loyalty and been promoted to a high position may be named a cardinal. There is a cursus honorum (Latin for course of offices) that is special to the Vatican. It gives what is called earthly honors (hats and rings) and "titular" bishops and archbishops (honors given without actual ministerial responsibility for a diocese) are often named cardinals.

5 A person, even one who is not a bishop, may be named cardinal as an honor for a lifetime of service. The Jesuit priest Avery Dulles was named a cardinal in 2001 in recognition of his exemplary contributions to the universal Church in the areas of ecclesiology (study of the church) and theology. In such a situation the Vatican requires that the honoree, if not already a bishop, be ordained a bishop. Cardinal Dulles, as an eminent ecclesiologist, refused this "honor" of becoming a bishop of nowhere.

6 It’s a significant moment for Baltimore Catholics, who 18 years ago watched the elevation of Cardinal William Keeler in 1994. Baltimore has only witnessed the making of a cardinal two other times– in 1965 and in 1886.




10 Creating cardinals: Ceremony features something old, new, borrowed, red The general format of the consistory has been maintained (old), but the ceremony has been modified and will include the use of prayers borrowed from ancient Roman liturgies. Cardinal-designate Timothy M. Dolan will even address the College of Cardinals on the subject of new evangelization. And, of course, red will be the color of the day as the new cardinals are reminded that they are called to give their lives to God and the church, even to the point of shedding their blood.

11 Tradition and innovation, solemnity and festivity, high honor and a call to sacrifice are key parts of the creation of new cardinals. The hushed moment when a churchman kneels before the pope and receives his red hat as a cardinal contrasts sharply with the mood in the Apostolic Palace that same evening when the public -- literally anyone who wants to come -- is invited in to congratulate the new cardinals. Pope Benedict will create 22 new cardinals in the morning during an "ordinary public consistory" in St. Peter's Basilica. The evening of the consistory, the Bronze Doors will open and the public will be allowed to swarm up the Scala Regia -- the royal stairway -- and into the Apostolic Palace to meet and greet the new cardinals. A consistory is a gathering of cardinals with the pope. According to canon law, an ordinary consistory is called for consultation or for the celebration "of especially solemn acts," such as the creation of new cardinals or a vote approving the canonization of candidates for sainthood.

12 These three things will happen: 1) the imposition of the biretta 2) the consignment of the ring 3) The assignation of each cardinal’s new title.







19 Most members are lay members. The job, which dates to the Crusades, ministers to Christians and those of other faiths in historical Palestine. August 2011: appointed Grand Master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem, a position traditionally filled by a cardinal.

20 In January, he received a call from "the pope's No. 2 man," Cardinal Tarcisio Bertone, Vatican secretary of state, gave him the news The title gives him membership in the College of Cardinals. These Cardinals advise the pope and elect his successor. Of the current 192 cardinals, 109 are under the age of 80 and thus eligible to vote in a papal election 17 are from the US

21 Cardinal—designate O’Brien is the pope’s representative to Catholics in the Holy Land Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem, is in the Old City of Jerusalem. It is the holiest Christian site in the world. It stands on a site that is believed to encompass both Golgotha, or Calvary, where Jesus was crucified, and the tomb (sepulchre) where he was buried. The Church of the Holy Sepulchre has been an important pilgrimage destination since the 4th century Stone of Unction, which commemorates the preparation of Jesus' body for burial

22 A stairway on the right just inside the entrance leads to Calvary (or Golgotha), the place where Jesus was crucified

23 Adjacent to the Catholic chapel is the Greek Orthodox Calvary, which contains the actual Rock of Calvary (Station 12) around which the church was built. The rock can be seen under glass on either side of the main altar, and beneath the altar there is a hole that allows you to touch the rock itself. The slot cut for the cross is shown in the east apse along with those of the two thieves


25 The edicule is the site of the tomb of Christ

26 The first of two small rooms inside the edicule, known as the Chapel of the Angels. This altar contains a stone believed to be part of the large stone that was rolled away from Christ's tomb on Easter morning

27 The holiest site in Christianity: the tomb of Christ inside the edicule of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. This slab is believed to be where Jesus' body was laid in the tomb. The vase of candles marks the place where his head was. The banner behind it varies with the liturgical seasons: this one is after Easter and says "Christ is Risen."

28 Until a successor is named, Cardinal— designate O’Brien will still be our spiritual leader here in Baltimore.

Download ppt "Archbishops of some archdioceses, mostly those that are based in the world's greatest cities, are routinely named cardinals. What are those cities?"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google