Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Formations, Numbering, and their Consequences Mike Pasenelli Rules Interpreter Capital Area Chapter PIAA Football Officials 24 July 2009.

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "Formations, Numbering, and their Consequences Mike Pasenelli Rules Interpreter Capital Area Chapter PIAA Football Officials 24 July 2009."— Presentation transcript:

1 Formations, Numbering, and their Consequences Mike Pasenelli Rules Interpreter Capital Area Chapter PIAA Football Officials 24 July 2009

2 2  To review the rules concerning 3 point stances and their consequences  To review the rules concerning formations, numbering and eligibility to catch a forward pass  To briefly discuss 2 safety issues  To demonstrate our knowledge of the rules by answering the quiz questions correctly

3 3  What is it?  Where is it mentioned in the rules?

4 4  It is not in the rule book  Common understanding is that it refers to a player who has one hand on the ground  Differentiating from a 2 point stance (standing upright) or a 4 point stance (2 hands on the ground)  It is used mainly by players on their lines of scrimmage, but according to the rules, there are no restrictions on how B players line up, as long as they are not in the neutral zone

5 5  A’s players may stand, crouch or kneel  So, a 3 point stance is not required of any A player

6 6  : Line of scrimmage: a vertical plane through the point of the ball nearest the team’s goal line  : Snapper is the player who snaps  : Lineman is any A player who, at the snap is:  Facing his opponent’s goal line with the line of his shoulders approximately parallel thereto and  His head or foot breaking an imaginary plane drawn parallel to the line of scrimmage through the waist of the snapper

7 7  Not defined, but alluded to: an end  A player on the line of scrimmage who has no other player on the line of scrimmage between him and the sideline

8 8  An A lineman can be in a 2, 3 or 4 point stance  So, where is a 3 point stance mentioned in the rule book?  7-1-7c If any A player  On his line between the snapper and the end  After having placed a hand or hands on or near the ground [goes into a 3 or 4 point stance]  Moves his hand or hands or makes any quick movement  It is a false start  This has nothing to do with his eligibility

9

10 10  : Back is any A player who has no part of his body breaking the plane of an imaginary line drawn parallel to the line of scrimmage through the waist of the nearest teammate who is legally on the line.  : Player under the snapper is also considered a back  7-5-6: Eligible pass receivers are:  Players on the ends of their scrimmage lines and  Players who are backs;  Who are wearing eligible numbers

11 11  7-5-6: Eligible numbers are 1-49 and  7-2-5: At the snap, at least 7 players must be on the line of scrimmage. [Note: minimum, not a maximum.]  5 of those 7 players must be wearing 50-79

12 12  No player is in position to receive a hand-to-hand snap from between the snapper’s legs, and at the snap either  (2-14-2a) A player is in position with a knee on the ground 7 yards or more behind the line of scrimmage, in position to be the holder & receive the long snap with another player 3 yards or less behind that plaler in position to attempt a place kick [aka, place kick formation], or  (2-14-2b) A player is 10 yards or more behind the line of scrimmage & in position to receive the long snap [aka, punting formation]

13 [AKA Place Kick Formation]

14 [AKA Punting Formation]

15 15  The NFHS put in restrictions to essentially outlaw the A-11 offense  We now have a distinction for the numbering exception for the place kick formation and the punting formation, and we have to know what down it is

16 16  The numbering exception can only be used for the place kick formation, and it can only be used for the snapper. 4 other linemen must be wearing ineligible numbers.  Implications: if their long snapper is wearing an eligible number, they have an issue if they want to punt on 1 st, 2 nd, or 3 rd down.  Possible solutions:  Give him an ineligible number to wear  Put an additional ineligible on the line with him, making 8 on the line, but 5 ineligibles

17 17  The numbering exception can be used for both the place kick formation and the punting formation, and it can be used by any K player

18

19

20

21

22 22  Legal formation (these must be met at the snap):  At least 7 players on the line  At least 5 players on the line of scrimmage must be wearing (except during scrimmage kick formations)  A can not have more than 11 players, per 9-6-4c  Every A player must have been between the 9 yard marks at some time between the RFP and the snap, per 7-2-1

23 23  Only applies to a legal forward pass  Eligible receivers  A players, who at the snap, are ends and backs who are wearing 1-49 or  After B touches a legal forward pass, all A players become eligible  Ineligible A receivers  At the snap, any A player who:  Is not wearing an eligible number, regardless of position  Is in a position other than a back or end, regardless of number  Any player who assumed an initial position as a numbering exception

24 24  All A players must be a lineman or a back, wearing legal numbers, with 7 on the line (7-2-3, illegal formation/numbering-5 yards)  Ineligible A players can not catch, bat or muff a legal forward pass ( illegal touching-5 yards and loss of down)  Ineligible A players can not advance beyond the neutral zone on forward pass that crosses the neutral zone until it is in flight ( ineligible downfield-5 yards)

25 25  In each situation, the formation is pictured as it occurs at the snap unless otherwise noted  The square denotes the snapper  In each case, answer the following  Is the formation legal?  Who is eligible?  Who is locked in if they are in a 3 point stance?

26 Formation #1

27 Illegal formation: does not have 5 players on the line numbered There are no eligible receivers: all backs and ends have ineligible numbers All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance Formation #1

28 Formation #2

29 Legal formation, even though A has only 10 players A has 7 players on the line, 5 players on the line numbered There are 5 eligible receivers: 84 and 88, 13, 34 and 33 All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance Formation #2

30 Formation #3

31 Legal formation, even though 88 has probably lined up on the wrong side of the formation A has 7 players on the line, 5 players on the line numbered There are 5 eligible receivers: 84, 13, 34, 33 and 35 All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance, which means #72 is not locked in but #88 is Formation #3

32 Formation #4

33 Unbalanced line, legal formation A has 7 players on the line, 5 players on the line numbered There are 6 eligible receivers: 84, 88, 13, 34, 33 and 35 All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance, which means #72 in but #88 is not Formation #4

34 Formation #5

35 Swinging gate Legal formation A has 7 players on the line, 5 players on the line numbered There are 6 eligible receivers: 90, 84, 13, 34, 33 and 35 All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance, but if they are in a 2 point stance, all lineman are eligible to shift, with the exception of #90 [assuming he has placed his hands on the ball] Formation #5

36 Initial Formation 35 Formation #6

37 A #59 then shifts onto the left side and then A snaps the ball from this formation 35 Formation #6

38 #59 could shift, even though he was in a 3 point stance, as long as his shift does not simulate action at the snap There are 6 eligible A receivers: 84 and 33, and the 4 backs 35 Formation #6

39 Assume #13 is at least 10 yards behind the LOS A. Suppose it is 1 st, 2 nd, or 3 rd down? B. 4 th down? Formation #7 38

40 Assume #13 is at least 10 yards behind the LOS A. This is the punting formation. On 1 st, 2 nd or 3 rd down, this is illegal numbering. B. On 4 th down, this is a legal formation. 91, 90, 89 and 86 have entered under the numbering exception—they are ineligible throughout the down until B touches the ball. They are also locked in if they go into a 3 point stance Formation #7 38

41 Assume #33 is at least 70 yards behind the LOS A. Suppose it is 1 st, 2 nd, or 3 rd down? B. 4 th down? Formation #8

42 Assume #13 is at least 70 yards behind the LOS A. This is the place kick formation. This is an illegal formation on 1 st, 2 nd, or 3 rd down because there are not 4 ineligible linemen. It is legal on 4 th down. B. 91, 90, 49, 89 and 86 have entered under the numbering exception—they are ineligible throughout the down until B touches the ball. They are also locked in if they go into a 3 point stance Formation #8 38

43 43  To review the rules concerning 3 point stances and their consequences  To review the rules concerning formations, numbering and eligibility to catch a forward pass  To briefly discuss 2 safety issues  To demonstrate our knowledge of the rules by answering the quiz questions correctly


Download ppt "Formations, Numbering, and their Consequences Mike Pasenelli Rules Interpreter Capital Area Chapter PIAA Football Officials 24 July 2009."

Similar presentations


Ads by Google