Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Who’s Eligible? Formations, Numbering, and their Consequences Mike Pasenelli Rules Interpreter Capital Area Chapter PIAA Football Officials 21 September.

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "Who’s Eligible? Formations, Numbering, and their Consequences Mike Pasenelli Rules Interpreter Capital Area Chapter PIAA Football Officials 21 September."— Presentation transcript:

1 Who’s Eligible? Formations, Numbering, and their Consequences Mike Pasenelli Rules Interpreter Capital Area Chapter PIAA Football Officials 21 September 2008

2 2 Our Mission To review the rules concerning 3 point stances and their consequences To review the rules concerning formations, numbering and eligibility to catch a forward pass To demonstrate our knowledge of the rules by answering the quiz questions correctly

3 3 Part 1—The 3 Point Stance What is it? Where is it mentioned in the rules?

4 4 Definition of a 3 Point Stance It is not in the rule book Common understanding is that it refers to a player who has one hand on the ground Differentiating from a 2 point stance (standing upright) or a 4 point stance (2 hands on the ground) It is used mainly by players on their lines of scrimmage, but according to the rules –There are no restrictions on how B players line up, as long as they are not in the neutral zone

5 A’s players may stand, crouch or kneel So, a 3 point stance is not required of any A player

6 6 Definitions : Line of scrimmage: a vertical plane through the point of the ball nearest the team’s goal line : Snapper is the player who snaps : Lineman is any A player who, at the snap is: –Facing his opponent’s goal line with the line of his shoulders approximately parallel thereto and –His head or foot breaking an imaginary plane drawn parallel to the line of scrimmage through the waist of the snapper

7 7 Conclusions An A lineman can be in a 2, 3 or 4 point stance So, where is a 3 point stance mentioned in the rule book? If any A player –On his line between the snapper and the end –After having placed a hand or hands on or near the ground [goes into a 3 or 4 point stance] –Moves his hand or hands or makes any quick movement It is a false start This has nothing to do with his eligibility

8 Part 2—Formations, Numbering and Their Consequences

9 9 Background : Back is any A player who has no part of his body breaking the plane of an imaginary line drawn parallel to the line of scrimmage through the waist of the nearest teammate who is legally on the line : Player under the snapper is also considered a back 7-5-6: Eligible pass receivers are: –Players on the ends of their scrimmage lines and –Players who are backs; –Who are wearing eligible numbers

10 10 Background 7-5-6: Eligible numbers are 1-49 and : Scrimmage kick formation is a formation with at least 1 player 7 yards or more behind the line of scrimmage & in position to receive the long snap. No player can be in position to receive a hand-to-hand snap from between the snapper’s legs : At the snap 7 players must be on the line of scrimmage. 5 of those 7 players must be wearing

11 —Numbering Exception When A sets or shifts into a scrimmage kick formation any A player numbered 1-49 or may take the position of any A player numbered A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B.

12 12 Formations for A Legal formation (these must be met at the snap): –At least 7 players on the line –At least 5 players on the line of scrimmage must be wearing (except during scrimmage kick formations) A can not have more than 11 players, per c

13 13 Pass Eligibility for A Only applies to a legal forward pass Eligible receivers –A players, who at the snap, are ends and backs who are wearing 1-49 or –After B touches a legal forward pass, all A players become eligible Ineligible A receivers –At the snap, any A player who: Is not wearing an eligible number, regardless of position Is in a position other than a back or end, regardless of number Any player who assumed an initial position as a numbering exception

14 14 Implications All A players must be a lineman or a back, wearing legal numbers, with 7 on the line (7-2- 3, illegal procedure-5 yards) Ineligible A players can not catch, bat or muff a legal forward pass ( illegal touching-5 yards and loss of down) Ineligible A players can not advance beyond the neutral zone on forward pass that crosses the neutral zone until it is in flight ( ineligible downfield-5 yards)

15 15 Formations In each situation, the formation is pictured as it occurs at the snap unless otherwise noted The square denotes the snapper In each case, answer the following –Is the formation legal? –Who is eligible? –Who is locked in if they are in a 3 point stance?

16 Formation #1

17 Illegal formation: does not have 5 players on the line numbered There are no eligible receivers: all backs and ends have ineligible numbers All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance Formation #1

18 Formation #2

19 Legal formation, even though A has only 10 players A has 7 players on the line, 5 players on the line numbered There are 5 eligible receivers: 84 and 88, 13, 34 and 33 All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance Formation #2

20 Formation #3

21 Legal formation, even though 88 has probably lined up on the wrong side of the formation A has 7 players on the line, 5 players on the line numbered There are 5 eligible receivers: 84, 13, 34, 33 and 35 All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance, which means #72 is not locked in but #88 is Formation #3

22 Formation #4

23 Unbalanced line, legal formation A has 7 players on the line, 5 players on the line numbered There are 6 eligible receivers: 84, 88, 13, 34, 33 and 35 All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance, which means #72 in but #88 is not Formation #4

24 Formation #5

25 Swinging gate Legal formation A has 7 players on the line, 5 players on the line numbered There are 6 eligible receivers: 90, 84, 13, 34, 33 and 35 All interior linemen are locked in if they are in a 3 point stance, but if they are in a 2 point stance, all lineman are eligible to shift, with the exception of #90 [assuming he has placed his hands on the ball Formation #5

26 Initial Formation 35 Formation #6

27 A then shifts #78 onto the left side and then snaps the ball from this formation 35 Formation #6

28 #78 could shift, even though he was in a 3 point stance, as long as his shift does not simulation action at the snap There are 6 eligible A receivers: 84 and 33, and the 4 backs 35 Formation #6

29 Assume #13 is at least 7 yards behind the LOS Formation #7

30 Assume #13 is at least 7 yards behind the LOS Assuming they initially lined up this way, 91, 90, 89 and 86 have entered under the numbering exception—they are ineligible throughout the down until B touches the ball. They are also locked in if they go into a 3 point stance Formation #7

31 31 Our Mission To review the rules concerning 3 point stances and their consequences To review the rules concerning formations, numbering and eligibility to catch a forward pass To demonstrate our knowledge of the rules by answering the quiz questions correctly


Download ppt "Who’s Eligible? Formations, Numbering, and their Consequences Mike Pasenelli Rules Interpreter Capital Area Chapter PIAA Football Officials 21 September."

Similar presentations


Ads by Google