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Advertising media planning Main idea: how much of your target are you reaching, and how many times? Reach & Frequency.

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Presentation on theme: "Advertising media planning Main idea: how much of your target are you reaching, and how many times? Reach & Frequency."— Presentation transcript:

1 advertising media planning Main idea: how much of your target are you reaching, and how many times? Reach & Frequency

2 gross impressions The raw numbers of media audiences, in duplicated form (the same person can be counted more than once)

3 The total number of different persons exposed to an ad at least once, as a percentage of the total population of the target audience Total Target 100% 80% Reach target audience reach

4 reach & frequency When to emphasize reach New product introduction New marketing/advertising objectives Increase brand awareness Sales promotion support Exploit competitor weaknesses

5 reach

6 The average number of times the audience reached is exposed to a specific advertisement 4.0x Frequency = frequency

7 reach & frequency When to emphasize frequency Lack of unique message Limited brand differentiation Significant competitive noise levels Combat competitive attack Overcome media and/or budget limitations

8 frequency Frequency distribution Quintiles Individual exposures Relationship of reach to frequency Reach x frequency=GRPs Inversely related

9 effective frequency Effective frequency numbers Standard 3+ for TV or print Could be higher (5+) for radio Frequency caps for internet Effective reach numbers (usually 3+) Identify reach goal at established effective frequency level

10 The percent of the target exposed to a message a specific number of times, thereby communicating the message effectively Usually 3+ + + + + + Message Frequency % Target 75% 65% 55% 45% 35% Reach 55% of the target 3 or more times effective reach

11 effective (3+) reach

12 media mix When to mix media types Extend reach Flatten frequency distribution Reinforce message/creative synergy Reach different audiences

13 media mix Estimating media mix reach & frequency Random duplication Reach= (a + b) – (a*b)

14 MEDIA BUYING

15 some considerations in buying media Supply & demand Media buyer input Media buying experience

16 cost-per-thousand CPM = cost to reach 1,000 people in the target Important to evaluate the price versus the amount of audience

17 cost-per-thousand Print Media CPM = Cost of 1 page X 1,000 # of prospects (readers or circulation)

18 cost-per-thousand Broadcast Media (based on homes or audience reached by a given program or time) CPM = Cost of 1 unit of time X 1,000 # of homes or persons (audience)

19 Example (Cost / Audience) X 1,000=CPM ($411,250 / 60,120,600) x 1,000 = $6.84 cost-per-thousand

20 measuring audiences in advertising vehicles Cost-per-rating point (CPP) Important to evaluate the price versus the amount of audience represented by the ratings

21 cost-per-point Broadcast Media (based on homes or audience reached by a given program or time) CPP = Cost of one unit Program rating: household/demo

22 Example Everybody Loves Raymond Series Finale Unit Cost/TRPs=CPP $500,000/12.5 = $40,000 CPP cost-per-point

23 media costs TV – buy “spots” (standard :30) Television Dayparts Network TV Local Stations Syndication Cable TV

24 media costs Radio – buy “spots” (standard :60) Network radio Spot radio

25 media costs Magazines – buy pages (standard FP4C) General-interest (dual-audience) magazines Women’s service magazines Home (shelter) magazines “Twenty-something” adult magazines

26 media costs Newspapers – buy “column inches” (i.e., 3 cols x 10.5” = quarter page) Run of paper Supplements Custom inserts

27 media costs Internet – buy “impressions” Banners Rich media Other Internet advertising

28 media costs Internet – can also buy other ways: Cost-per-click (CPC) standard for search Cost-per-acquisition (CPA) for direct response campaigns

29 media costs Out-of-home media – buy “panels” for 4 weeks Poster panels Bulletins Transit advertising


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