Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s 5 stages of Grief

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s 5 stages of Grief"— Presentation transcript:

1 Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s 5 stages of Grief

2 The stages, popularly known by the acronym DABDA, include
Denial 2. Anger 3. Bargaining 4. Depression 5. Acceptance.

3 DENIAL “I feel fine.” “This can’t be happening, not to me.”
Refusing to believe the individual is sick. - Temporary defense (Defense Mechanism) Can be conscious or unconscious refusal to accept facts

4 ANGER “Why me? It’s not fair” “Who is to blame?”
Recognizes that denial can’t continue Patient displays anger that they are sick Patient is difficult to care for due to misplaced feelings of rage & envy

5 BARGAINING “I’ll do anything for a few more years if..”
Involves the hope that the patient can somehow postpone or delay death Making a deal Rarely provides a sustainable solution Especially if it’s a matter of life or death.

6 DEPRESSION “I’m going to die soon..”
Feel sadness, regret, fear, and uncertainty Begins to understand the certainty of death Begins to accept situation Spend much of the time crying and grieving Allows diconnect from love & affection Must be processed

7 ACCEPTANCE “It’s going to be okay.” “I may as well prepare for it.”
Last stage Patient realizes death is inevitable Accepts their fate. - Can enter this stage a long time before they die.

8 5 Stages of Grief Cycle


10 TRAUMATIC EXPERIENCE Bereavement Mourning
- Psychological state of deprivation - Feelings of grief and loss resulting from the death of loved one or friends. Mourning - What you do or refrain from doing after a loss - Manner of displaying grief (wooden crates, covering mirrors..)

Download ppt "Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s 5 stages of Grief"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google