Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Life Cycles.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Life Cycles."— Presentation transcript:

1 Life Cycles

2 Metamorphosis Process in which some animals change form at each stage of their life. Metamorphosis means “change in form”. There are two types of metamorphosis: Complete Incomplete

3 Complete Metamorphosis
Complete metamorphosis is the way butterflies, bees, flies, beetles and many other insects develop. Complete metamorphosis has four stages: egg, larva, pupa and adult.  

4 Egg Every insect begins life as an egg. The egg is the embryo stage.

5 Larva The larva hatches from the egg. The larva is the eating and growing stage. Some insects don’t eat at all after this stage. Larvae don’t look like adults. Caterpillars, grubs and maggots are larvae that grow up to be butterflies, beetles and flies as adults. A larva’s exoskeleton can’t stretch or grow, so the larva sheds its skin, or molts, several times as it grows.

6 Pupa When a larva has finished growing, it forms a pupa (plural: pupae). The pupa is the insect’s transforming stage. Outside, the pupa looks as if it’s resting. But inside, the entire body is rearranging. New organs, muscles and body parts develop.

7 Adult When it has finished changing, the pupa molts one last time, emerging as an adult. The adult is the reproductive stage. The adult has all the identifiable insect features: three body sections, six legs, two antennae and usually wings.

8 Complete Metamorphosis

9 Complete Metamorphosis

10 Complete Metamorphosis

11 Incomplete Metamorphosis
Some insects, such as grasshoppers, dragonflies and cockroaches, develop by incomplete metamorphosis. Incomplete metamorphosis has three stages: egg, nymph and adult.  

12 Egg Early, basic development happens in the egg.

13 Nymph The nymph is the eating and growing stage. Nymphs often look like smaller versions of adults, without wings. The nymph’s exoskeleton can’t grow or stretch, so the nymph needs to shed its skin, or molt, in order to grow.

14 Adult The adult is the reproductive stage. The nymph emerges from its final molt as an adult. In species that have wings, the wings don’t fully appear until this stage. Adults mate, females lay eggs, and the cycle begins again.

15 Incomplete Metamorphosis

16 Incomplete Metamorphosis

17 Frog Life Cycle Frogs and other amphibians live in water when they are young and live on land when they are adults.

18 Frog Life Cycle

19 Questions

20 What is metamorphosis?

21 The process in which some animals change form at each stage of their life.

22 Describe the stages in complete metamorphosis.

23 egg, larva, pupa and adult.

24 Describe the stages in incomplete metamorphosis.

25 egg, nymph and adult.  

Download ppt "Life Cycles."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google