Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Unit 5: From Decay to Rebirth The Middle Ages: A.D

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Unit 5: From Decay to Rebirth The Middle Ages: A.D"— Presentation transcript:

1 Unit 5: From Decay to Rebirth The Middle Ages: A.D. 450-1300
The Lay of the Werewolf

2 Medieval Romance Saga A romance is a narrative that tells of strange, sometimes supernatural, events in exotic settings. In the Middle Ages, the term referred to the tales that depicted the heroic deeds and courtly love of noble knights and ladies. Today, the genre has expanded to include any work that features idealized characters in an exotic setting, particularly one that focuses on a struggle between good and evil.

3 Medieval Romance Saga(cont’d)
Chivalry is the real core of the medieval romance. Courtly love is an important element of chivalry; for this reason, romance sagas are sometimes known as chivalric romances or courtly romances. The main characters of the romance saga were usually kings, knights or a brave warrior who follows the chivalric code of behavior: values of courage, virtue, piety, loyalty to a ruler, and the idealized love of a noble lady.

4 Medieval Romance Saga The Medieval Romance Saga is characterized by the key features: Romance Hero A Heroic Quest Supernatural Elements Symbols and Archetypes Examples of Medieval Romance Sagas: The Legend of King Arthur, and Sir Gawain and the Green Knight.

5 Focus Questions How are the characteristics of a legend similar to the characteristics of an epic? What makes the two genres different?

6 Author background Marie de France
Works were crucial to the development of short stories. Was well-educated, and a member of nobility. Works combined elements of the classical, Christian, and Celtic traditions (a hero, who travels to a magical land, and learns the secrets of Christianity). Works were often a radical departure from the time period. Her works often promoted that a man and woman should marry because of genuine love versus an arrangement based on politics and economics.

7 Literary elements (revisited)
Archetypes: details, plot patterns, character types, or themes that appear in the literature of many different cultures. Examples of archetypes might be: 1. A quest: the pursuit of someone or something of great importance. 2. Disguised identity: Characters use disguises, transformations, and tricks to hide their true identities.

8 Literary Elements (revisited)
Symbols: a person, a place, an animal, or an object that has its own meaning but also suggests a larger meaning. Example: a rose may represent love. In medieval literature, the entire story centers on a symbol.

9 The Lay of the Werewolf Essential Questions
Why have people chosen the wolf as the form that evil humans often take when they turn into beasts? Based on the two types of Archetypes mentioned, what type is this short story?

Download ppt "Unit 5: From Decay to Rebirth The Middle Ages: A.D"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google