Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.


Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "SMART’S 6-TRAIT MODEL ELEMENTS OF RELIGION."— Presentation transcript:


2 religions often begin with the religious experiences of individuals
For example, Siddhartha Gautama had a religious experience called enlightenment while meditating and became known as the Buddha, the founder of Buddhism 1. Religious Experience

3 The story of Moses is a great example: from his birth, adoption, burning bush to the parting of the Red Sea and the receiving of the Commandments on Mount Sinai. He is the founder of Judasim. The experience of the founder of the religion and the history of how the religion developed 1. Religious Experience

4 The Christian understanding of the Divine is one of the most complex: the Trinity: the belief in one God but three persons: God the Father; Jesus Christ the Son who was God made human; and the Holy Spirit (the divine within each of us). This trait also addresses the nature of the Divine (God for theistic religions) 1. Religious Experience

5 2. Religious Doctrine Or the Shahadah in Islam
The basic beliefs that separate one religion from another The teachings of the religion (how the “big questions” are answered) These beliefs are often itemized in a Creed or statement of belief like the Apostle’s Creed in Christianity. 2. Religious Doctrine Or the Shahadah in Islam

6 The religion’s belief about the afterlife are part of this trait
2. Religious Doctrine

7 3. Sacred Symbols and Rituals
Religious symbols like the crucifix for Catholics Or the “om” symbol for Hinduism 3. Sacred Symbols and Rituals

8 3. Sacred Symbols and Rituals
Rites of passage like Sacraments for Catholics, but also daily rituals like meditation 3. Sacred Symbols and Rituals

9 3. Sacred Symbols and Rituals
Festivals/ Holy Days like Hanukkah in Judaism 3. Sacred Symbols and Rituals

10 3. Sacred Symbols and Rituals
And special places of pilgrimmage such as the Ka’bah in Mecca for Muslims. 3. Sacred Symbols and Rituals

11 Holy books which include sacred stories explaining the religion, such as the Bible
4. Sacred Scripture

12 Could include ancient stories passed down by word of mouth, such as in Native Spirituality
4. Sacred Scripture

13 May also include interpretations of the Sacred Text such as the Talmud in Judaism.
4. Sacred Scripture

14 Religious leaders like Rabbis, Priests, Bishops, Monks
5. Community of Faith

15 Branches, sects, groups within a religion, such as the many denominations of Christianity.
Community of Faith

16 And the regular meeting place of the community, such as the Sikh Gurdwara.
5. Community of Faith

17 each religious tradition has a moral code that guides followers in behaviour that is expected (i.e. 10 Commandments) 6. Ethics and Morality

18 This could include rules for appropriate dress, such as the hijab in Islam
Or dietary restrictions such as the Kosher laws in Judaism 6. Ethics & Morality

19 1. Religious Experience – history, founder, understanding of the Divine/God.
2. Religious Doctrine – beliefs, creeds, afterlife teachings. 3. Symbols & Rituals – symbols, rituals, rites of passage, holy days/festivals, places of pilgrimmage. 4. Sacred Scripture – Sacred texts, stories, commentaries 5. Community of Faith – leaders, branches/sects, place of worship 6. Ethics & Morality – behaviour rules, dress code, dietary restrictions. Summary


Similar presentations

Ads by Google