Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

AOS Presentation October 24, 2007 RULE 6 Live Ball & Dead Ball.

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "AOS Presentation October 24, 2007 RULE 6 Live Ball & Dead Ball."— Presentation transcript:

1

2

3 AOS Presentation October 24, 2007 RULE 6 Live Ball & Dead Ball

4 What are three ways in which the ball becomes live? Jump ball (when tossed) Throw-in (at disposal) Free Throw (at disposal) The game must start w/a jump ball. T/F

5 What causes the ball to become dead? Goal scored F/T will not be successful (when followed by F/T or throw-In) Held ball or ball lodges Whistle is blown (except when tap; try; F/T in flight) Time expires (same exceptions) Foul (same exceptions & trying motion if on defense) Violation (except by defense during FT)

6 Jump Ball Admin: Jumpers Neither jumper shall: Touch ball before highest point Leave circle before ball touched Catch the jump ball Touch ball more than twice

7 Jump Ball Administration: Non-jumpers When referee is ready and until ball is tossed non-jumpers shall not: Move onto the center circle Change position around circle Until tossed ball is touched, non-jumpers shall not: Have foot break plane of center circle Take position in occupied space  Is it legal for teammates to occupy adjacent spaces around the center circle?

8 Jump Ball Administration: End of Restrictions All restrictions end when touched ball contacts: One of eight non-jumpers FloorBasketBackboard

9 Alternating Possession Throw-In When does an a/p throw in result? Held ball Ball goes out of bounds simultaneously Simultaneous free throw violation Live ball lodges between backboard & ring or comes to rest on ring (except: if ft or throw in follows) Simultaneous BI or goaltending Double personal; technical or simultaneous fouls and no team in control to establish POI

10 Alternating Possession con’t: If A/P has not been established, jump ball is between 2 players involved A/P is reversed when throw-in ends or throwing team violates Violation by throw-in team also causes loss of A/P Fouls do not cause loss of A/P

11 Designated Spot Throw-in Administration  What actions result in spot throw-ins?  Start of 2 nd, 3 rd and 4 th quarters  Fouls (when no Bonus in effect)  Violations (except DBI or D Goaltend)  FT violation by throwing team (last)  All A/P situations  FT for technical, intentional, flagrant

12 Non-Designated Spot Throw-in (Anywhere Along End line)  What actions result in this type of throw-in?  FG or successful FT (last)  Awarded goal for BI or Goaltending  Defense violates before like throw-in ends

13 Rule 6: Situations

14 Situation #1 A1 and B2 are called for a held ball. Team A has the possession arrow and is awarded the designated-spot throw-in. While thrower A3 is still holding the ball out of bounds A1 and B2 are called for a held ball. Team A has the possession arrow and is awarded the designated-spot throw-in. While thrower A3 is still holding the ball out of bounds a) A4 is called for a common foul b) B4 is called for a common foul c) A3 is called for a violation for stepping over the boundary line Neither team is in the bonus. How is play resumed, and is the possession arrow changed? Neither team is in the bonus. How is play resumed, and is the possession arrow changed?

15 Situation #1 Ruling In (a) and (b), the throw-in did not end prior to the foul occurring. Thus, team A will retain the possession arrow. In (a) B will receive ball for designated spot throw-in nearest the foul, and in (b) A will receive ball for designated spot throw-in nearest the foul. In (c) a violation by the team making the throw-in causes the throw-in to end and the arrow will be reversed. The result of A3’s violation is team B receiving the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the violation. In (a) and (b), the throw-in did not end prior to the foul occurring. Thus, team A will retain the possession arrow. In (a) B will receive ball for designated spot throw-in nearest the foul, and in (b) A will receive ball for designated spot throw-in nearest the foul. In (c) a violation by the team making the throw-in causes the throw-in to end and the arrow will be reversed. The result of A3’s violation is team B receiving the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the violation. RB 6-4-4, 6-4-5, 6-4-5A RB 6-4-4, 6-4-5, 6-4-5A

16 Situation #2 The official bounces the ball to A1, for the first of two free-throws. The ball hits A1’s leg and bounces away, and then B3 requests a timeout. How should this be handled? The official bounces the ball to A1, for the first of two free-throws. The ball hits A1’s leg and bounces away, and then B3 requests a timeout. How should this be handled? a) Ignore the request and return the ball to A1. b) The timeout request is granted, but not until after A1’s first free throw. c) Grant B3’s timeout request at that point.

17 Situation #2 Ruling C –– Grant B’s timeout request at that point. The ball is dead and not at the disposal of the free- thrower. The ball is dead and not at the disposal of the free- thrower. RB 5-8-3b, 6-1-2c

18 Situation #3 A1 and B2 have a held ball. The possession arrow is pointing to team B. After the held ball is whistled, B2 swears at A1 and is called for a technical foul. How is play resumed and which team will have the possession arrow? A1 and B2 have a held ball. The possession arrow is pointing to team B. After the held ball is whistled, B2 swears at A1 and is called for a technical foul. How is play resumed and which team will have the possession arrow?

19 Situation #3 Ruling The held ball is ignored as the technical foul takes precedent. Any member of team A may attempt the technical free throws. After the free-throws, team A receives a designated spot throw-in at the division- line opposite the scorer’s table. Team B retains the possession arrow The held ball is ignored as the technical foul takes precedent. Any member of team A may attempt the technical free throws. After the free-throws, team A receives a designated spot throw-in at the division- line opposite the scorer’s table. Team B retains the possession arrow RB 6-4-5, 7-5-8, c

20 Situation #4 After a successful goal by Team B, A1 has the ball for a non-designated throw-in along the end line. Team A is not in the bonus. A1 releases the throw-in pass and B5 commits a kicking violation near the end line. Where will the ensuing throw-in be taken and is it a designated spot or a non-designated-spot throw-in? After a successful goal by Team B, A1 has the ball for a non-designated throw-in along the end line. Team A is not in the bonus. A1 releases the throw-in pass and B5 commits a kicking violation near the end line. Where will the ensuing throw-in be taken and is it a designated spot or a non-designated-spot throw-in?

21 Situation #4 Ruling Team A’s ensuing throw-in will be a non-designated- spot throw-in taken from anywhere along the backcourt end line. Team A didn’t lose the privilege of running the end line because of B5’s violation. Team A’s ensuing throw-in will be a non-designated- spot throw-in taken from anywhere along the backcourt end line. Team A didn’t lose the privilege of running the end line because of B5’s violation. RB 7-5-7b

22 Situation #5 A1 releases the first of 2 free throws. Before the ball reaches the rim, B2 steps into the lane. A1’s free-throw hits the back of the rim and bounces high above the backboard and contacts a support wire and falls directly through the basket. What is the procedure? A1 releases the first of 2 free throws. Before the ball reaches the rim, B2 steps into the lane. A1’s free-throw hits the back of the rim and bounces high above the backboard and contacts a support wire and falls directly through the basket. What is the procedure?

23 Situation #5 Ruling A1 receives substitute throw for the lane violation by B2. Although A1’s free throw hit the wire, no free- throw violation by A1 has occurred. No basket is scored, the ball becomes dead on the touching of the wire and the free throw violation by B2 is enforced. A1 receives substitute throw for the lane violation by B2. Although A1’s free throw hit the wire, no free- throw violation by A1 has occurred. No basket is scored, the ball becomes dead on the touching of the wire and the free throw violation by B2 is enforced. RB 9-1-4

24 Situation #6 After A1 starts the free-throwing motion for the second of two throws, A2 commits a foul by pushing B1 along the lane. In (a) the foul occurs before the ball is in flight and in (b) the foul occurs after the ball is in flight. What is the procedure for both a successful and unsuccessful free-throw? After A1 starts the free-throwing motion for the second of two throws, A2 commits a foul by pushing B1 along the lane. In (a) the foul occurs before the ball is in flight and in (b) the foul occurs after the ball is in flight. What is the procedure for both a successful and unsuccessful free-throw?

25 Situation #6 Ruling a) The ball becomes dead when the team-control foul occurs and A1 is permitted an unhindered free throw. a) The ball becomes dead when the team-control foul occurs and A1 is permitted an unhindered free throw. b) The point counts if the throw is successful and no substitute throw is awarded if not successful. b) The point counts if the throw is successful and no substitute throw is awarded if not successful. The foul by A2 results in the ball being awarded to team B at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where A2 fouled B1, unless the free-throw attempt by A1 is successful in which case B will throw-in from out of bounds anywhere along the end line where the free throw was scored. The foul by A2 results in the ball being awarded to team B at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where A2 fouled B1, unless the free-throw attempt by A1 is successful in which case B will throw-in from out of bounds anywhere along the end line where the free throw was scored. CB 6.7 Situation B

26 Situation #7 Team B is ahead, 78-77, with time running out in the fourth quarter. A1 drives to the basket, picks up the dribble, begins the shooting motion and is fouled during that shooting motion. Before the two point try is released, the game-ending horn sounds. A1 continues with the shooting motion and the ball goes through the basket. The whistle for the foul was clearly blown before the horn. The officials rule the try was released after the horn sounded. Shall the basket count? Shall free throws be awarded, and if so, how many? Team B is ahead, 78-77, with time running out in the fourth quarter. A1 drives to the basket, picks up the dribble, begins the shooting motion and is fouled during that shooting motion. Before the two point try is released, the game-ending horn sounds. A1 continues with the shooting motion and the ball goes through the basket. The whistle for the foul was clearly blown before the horn. The officials rule the try was released after the horn sounded. Shall the basket count? Shall free throws be awarded, and if so, how many?

27 Situation #7 Ruling The ball becomes dead when time expires at the end of the game since the ball was not in flight prior to the end of the quarter. The try ends when the ball becomes dead, so no basket is scored. Since the foul occurred prior to time expiring, it shall still be penalized. The foul occurred while A1 was in the act of shooting, but the apparent goal was not awarded because the ball was dead. So two free-throws are awarded to A1. The outcome of A1’s free-throws determine which team wins or whether the game goes to overtime. The ball becomes dead when time expires at the end of the game since the ball was not in flight prior to the end of the quarter. The try ends when the ball becomes dead, so no basket is scored. Since the foul occurred prior to time expiring, it shall still be penalized. The foul occurred while A1 was in the act of shooting, but the apparent goal was not awarded because the ball was dead. So two free-throws are awarded to A1. The outcome of A1’s free-throws determine which team wins or whether the game goes to overtime. RB Exception c

28 Situation #8 During an alternating-possession throw-in by Team A, the throw-in pass is touched by two opponents simultaneously and goes out of bounds. Which team shall get the resulting throw-in? During an alternating-possession throw-in by Team A, the throw-in pass is touched by two opponents simultaneously and goes out of bounds. Which team shall get the resulting throw-in?

29 Situation #8 Ruling The alternating possession throw-in ended when the ball was legally touched by an inbounds player. Therefore, the alternating-possession arrow is immediately reversed to point to team B. Since the ball was caused to go out by two opponents simultaneously, an alternating-possession throw-in results and team B shall make the throw-in. The alternating possession throw-in ended when the ball was legally touched by an inbounds player. Therefore, the alternating-possession arrow is immediately reversed to point to team B. Since the ball was caused to go out by two opponents simultaneously, an alternating-possession throw-in results and team B shall make the throw-in. RB , 6-4-3b, 6-4-4, 7-3-1

30 Situation #9 During the jump ball to start the game, the ball is tipped and players A2 and B2 dive for the ball and knock it out of bounds (simultaneously). After the whistle, player A2 gets up and pushes player B2. A foul is called on A2. How is the foul handled and how is the possession set? During the jump ball to start the game, the ball is tipped and players A2 and B2 dive for the ball and knock it out of bounds (simultaneously). After the whistle, player A2 gets up and pushes player B2. A foul is called on A2. How is the foul handled and how is the possession set?

31 Situation #9 Ruling If a foul is called on A2, it must be either intentional or flagrant. If it is ruled flagrant, A2 must be disqualified. Team B would shoot 2 free-throws followed by a throw-in by Team B at the spot nearest the foul. The possession arrow is set in the direction of A’s basket when a player of B has the ball at his disposal for the throw-in following the free-throws. If a foul is called on A2, it must be either intentional or flagrant. If it is ruled flagrant, A2 must be disqualified. Team B would shoot 2 free-throws followed by a throw-in by Team B at the spot nearest the foul. The possession arrow is set in the direction of A’s basket when a player of B has the ball at his disposal for the throw-in following the free-throws. RB , 6-4-1

32 Situation #10 The possession arrow to start the second half is pointed to Team A’s basket, The officials by mistake give the ball to Team B and allow Team B to go towards A’s basket. Both teams are set to go to the wrong basket. Team B inbounds the ball and shoots and makes a 3 point goal into team A’s basket. Immediately following the basket, the score table informs the officials of the mistake of team B getting the ball and making a goal at A’s basket. What should happen? The possession arrow to start the second half is pointed to Team A’s basket, The officials by mistake give the ball to Team B and allow Team B to go towards A’s basket. Both teams are set to go to the wrong basket. Team B inbounds the ball and shoots and makes a 3 point goal into team A’s basket. Immediately following the basket, the score table informs the officials of the mistake of team B getting the ball and making a goal at A’s basket. What should happen?

33 Situation #10 Ruling The officials can not correct the mistake once the ball touches a player inbounds. The possession arrow must now be set towards A’s basket. Because both teams thought they were going towards their correct baskets, the 3-pont goal scored in A’s basket shall count for Team B. To get the teams going to their correct baskets, Team A should take the ball out-of-bounds under team B’s basket so that Team A is going the full length of the floor as if after a normal goal by team B. The officials can not correct the mistake once the ball touches a player inbounds. The possession arrow must now be set towards A’s basket. Because both teams thought they were going towards their correct baskets, the 3-pont goal scored in A’s basket shall count for Team B. To get the teams going to their correct baskets, Team A should take the ball out-of-bounds under team B’s basket so that Team A is going the full length of the floor as if after a normal goal by team B. CB Situation D, Situation F

34 Situation #11 Thrower-in A2, after securing the ball following a basket by Team B immediately passes to teammate A1 located out of bounds along the end line. B3, inbounds running along the end line reaches through the plane and deflects the pass/ball straight down where it lands out of bounds. What is the ruling? Thrower-in A2, after securing the ball following a basket by Team B immediately passes to teammate A1 located out of bounds along the end line. B3, inbounds running along the end line reaches through the plane and deflects the pass/ball straight down where it lands out of bounds. What is the ruling?

35 Situation #11 Ruling Technical foul on B for reaching through plane and touching or dislodging ball while in the possession of the thrower or while being passed between teammates.

36 Situation #12 The ball is deflected by B1 (a) after an unsuccessful try for goal by Team A or, (b) after a throw-in by Team A towards A’s basket with three 10ths of a second or less on the game clock. In both cases, the signal to end the period is activated while the ball is in flight. The ball enters A’s basket from above and passes through the net. Does the goal count? The ball is deflected by B1 (a) after an unsuccessful try for goal by Team A or, (b) after a throw-in by Team A towards A’s basket with three 10ths of a second or less on the game clock. In both cases, the signal to end the period is activated while the ball is in flight. The ball enters A’s basket from above and passes through the net. Does the goal count?

37 Situation #12 Ruling No - The signal to end the period causes the ball to become dead while in flight and since the deflection - NOT a tap - is not a legal try (wrong basket), the goal shall not count. No - The signal to end the period causes the ball to become dead while in flight and since the deflection - NOT a tap - is not a legal try (wrong basket), the goal shall not count. RB , 6-7-6

38 Situation #13 During the opening jump, the ball is tapped and bounces into the lane nearest A’s basket when a double personal foul is called on A3 and B4. No team-control has been established. How is this administered? During the opening jump, the ball is tapped and bounces into the lane nearest A’s basket when a double personal foul is called on A3 and B4. No team-control has been established. How is this administered?

39 Situation #13 Ruling RB 6-4-3g Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out of bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out of bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: g. Double personal, double technical or simultaneous fouls occur and the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved g. Double personal, double technical or simultaneous fouls occur and the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved NOTE: If the alternating-possession procedure has not been established, the jump ball shall take place in the center restraining circle. In this case, the original jumpers will jump again. In the case of simultaneous touching (o.b.) or held ball situation, the jump ball would be between the players involved. NOTE: If the alternating-possession procedure has not been established, the jump ball shall take place in the center restraining circle. In this case, the original jumpers will jump again. In the case of simultaneous touching (o.b.) or held ball situation, the jump ball would be between the players involved.

40 Good Luck! Have a great season!


Download ppt "AOS Presentation October 24, 2007 RULE 6 Live Ball & Dead Ball."

Similar presentations


Ads by Google