Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Test your knowledge and understanding of the rules and how they are interpreted and applied. Each of the following slides will present a specific play.

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "Test your knowledge and understanding of the rules and how they are interpreted and applied. Each of the following slides will present a specific play."— Presentation transcript:

1 Test your knowledge and understanding of the rules and how they are interpreted and applied. Each of the following slides will present a specific play scenario and several possible resolutions to the situation. On each slide, simply click on the answer that you believe is correct/appropriate in each situation. Select a single question or the entire series. Question of the Week Week #1 - Double Foul scenario Week #2 – Substitution/Time out Week #3 – Free Throw Violations All Questions Week #4 – Player Control/Blocking

2 Question of the Week Week #1 During a live ball in team A's front court; A1 passes the ball to A2. While the ball is in the air, B1 deflects the ball into the back court. While A1 and B1 are chasing the loose ball in the back court to secure possession, A3 and B3 commit a double foul under team A's basket. Note: Team A has the possession arrow. Select (click on) your answer from the choices below:  Double foul is called on A3 and B3 (no foul shots) and since no team had possession, Team A receives the ball as a result of having the next alternate possession arrow at a spot closest to the spot of the double foul.  Double foul is called on A3 and B3 and A3 and B3 both shoot 2 foul shots. Team A receives the ball as a result of having the next alternate possession arrow.  Double foul is called on A3 and B3 (no foul shots) and since team A had possession at the point of interruption, team A will be awarded a throw-in at a spot closest to where the ball was at the time of the foul.  Double foul is called on A3 and B3 (no foul shots) and since no team had possession, Team B receives the ball closest to the spot of the double foul as a result of being the last team to touch the deflected pass from A1 to A2.

3 Sorry, that is not correct. Please try again. (click anywhere to continue)

4 Correct! In any situation involving a double foul, no free throws are ever awarded and play is resumed from the point of interruption. In this play, Team A had not lost team control. Even though B1 deflected the ball, Team A retains “team control” because the ball was being passed between A1 and A2 when the deflection occurred. The alternating possession arrow has no bearing on this situation. Rule 4, Section 19, Article 8 a. (Definition) Rule 10, Section 6, PENALTIES 1.d (Penalty) HomeNext Question

5 Week #2 A time-out is granted to Team A with play to resume by administration of a free throw. A6 reports to enter after the timers warning signal has sounded. Since A6 has reported too late to enter, which answer below is permissible for he/she to enter the game legally? Select (click on) your answer from the choices below:  A player is injured getting into position for the free-throw during the resumption of play, causing a delay.  Team (A) is willing to buy (A6)'s way into the game with a Technical.  If either team is granted a time-out.  Both (a) and (c) Question of the Week

6 Sorry, that is not correct. Please try again. (click anywhere to continue)

7 Correct! In this situation, the only way A6 can legally enter the game is if there is an injured player, resulting in a delay, or if either team requests a new time-out. A player cannot ‘buy’ their way into the game with a technical foul. Rule 3, Section 3 Also see: Case Book Play Situation B HomeNext Question

8 Question of the Week Week #3 Team A is in the bonus and A1 is preparing to shoot the first free throw of this one and one situation. Prior to releasing the free throw, B1, who is in the bottom space closest to the umpire, steps into the lane. The free throw by A1 fails to touch the rim and drops to the floor. The alternating possession arrow is in favor of Team A. What should the officials do in this circumstance? Select (click on) your answer from the choices below:  The referee (center/trail) shall immediately sound his/her whistle upon seeing the ball miss the rim and award the ball to Team B under Team A’s basket.  The umpire (lead) shall immediately sound his/her whistle upon seeing B1 step in early and take the ball from A1. The officials then re-set the shooter and resume play with the first of one and one free throws.  The umpire (lead) shall immediately give the delayed violation signal upon seeing B1 step in early. The referee (center/trail) shall sound his/her whistle when the shot fails to strike the rim because of the violation of the ball not touching the rim. The officials shall confer, determine that a double violation has taken place, and award the ball to Team A under their basket.  The umpire (lead) shall immediately give the delayed violation signal upon seeing B1 step in early. The referee (center/trail) shall sound his/her whistle when the shot fails to strike the rim because of the violation of the ball not touching the rim. The officials shall confer, determine that a double violation has taken place, and award the ball to Team B under Team A’s basket.

9 Sorry, that is not correct. Please try again. (click anywhere to continue)

10 Correct! In this situation involving a double violation during the first free throw of a one and one, the violation by the shooting team (failure to hit the rim) cancels the opportunity for any replacement free throw and any possibility for a second free throw. The ball shall be put into play using the alternating possession arrow. Rule 9, Section 1, Article 3 and Penalties HomeNext Question

11 Question of the Week Week #4 A1 drives into the lane and attempts a shot towards his/her basket. After the ball is released, A1 crashes into defender B1 who is in good defensive position. The trail and lead both blow the whistle and make opposite preliminary signals. The trail official signals a player control foul on A1 and the lead official signals a blocking foul on B1. The ball goes in the basket. The alternate possession arrow favors team A. Only Team B is in the 1-1 bonus. What is the proper call to address this situation? Whose ball is it? Does the basket count? How do the officials proceed? Select (click on) your answer from the choices below:  Since the call is in the trail's primary area, he overrules the lead official and goes to the table, reports a player control foul on A1, disallows the basket for team A and awards the ball for a throw-in closest to the spot of A1's foul.  Both officials get together, call a double foul on A1 and B1, disallow the basket because one of the fouls was a player control foul and they award the ball to team A because A has the possession arrow. The throw-in is awarded at the closest spot of the double foul.  Both officials get together, call a double foul on A1 and B1, count the basket and award a throw-in to team B because that is where the point of interruption occurred. The throw-in is awarded at the end line under team A's basket. (Team B can run the end line).  Both officials get together, call a double foul on A1 and B1, disallow the basket because one of the fouls was a player control foul and they award a one and one free throw to team B because team B is in the bonus. The point of interruption will be handled by lining up both teams up for B's free throws and proceeding live when B shots the first free throw.

12 Sorry, that is not correct. Please try again. (click anywhere to continue)

13 Correct! Even though the shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does NOT cause the ball to become dead on the try. The goal is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. REMEMBER: In any situation involving a double foul, no free throws are ever awarded and play is resumed from the point of interruption. Rule 10, Section 6, PENALTIES: 1.c and Case Book play Situation C (a) HomeNext Question

14 How did you do? If you got them all correct, great job!! If you missed any along the way, grab your rule book and start reading. Do you have an interesting play/situation that happened to you? Submit it to Dave Concino and maybe we’ll add it here. Keep checking back for new questions!! Good luck, and have a great season!! (click anywhere to continue)


Download ppt "Test your knowledge and understanding of the rules and how they are interpreted and applied. Each of the following slides will present a specific play."

Similar presentations


Ads by Google