Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Three Phases, Twelve Stages,

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Three Phases, Twelve Stages,"— Presentation transcript:

1 Three Phases, Twelve Stages,
The Hero's Journey: Three Phases, Twelve Stages, and the Archetypes

2 The hero's journey occurs in a cycle consisting of three phases:
The Three Phases The hero's journey occurs in a cycle consisting of three phases: I. Departure: where the hero leaves his comfortable and familiar world and ventures into the darkness of the unknown II. Initiation: where the hero is subjected to a series of tests in which he must prove his character III. Return: in which the hero brings the boon of his quest back for the benefit of his people.

3 The Hero’s Journey has twelve stages:

4 1. THE ORDINARY WORLD The ordinary world is the birth, home base, and background of the hero. 2. THE CALL TO ADVENTURE The Call to Adventure is the point in a person's life when they are first given notice that everything is going to change, whether they know it or not. 3. REFUSAL OF THE CALL The hero is not yet fully committed to the journey, some other influence is required to get past the turning point of fear.

5 4. MEETING THE MENTOR The hero is introduced to his/her mentor to prepare the hero to face the unknown. 5. CROSSING THE FIRST THRESHOLD This is the point where the person actually crosses into the field of adventure, leaving the known limits of his or her world and venturing into an unknown and dangerous realm where the rules and limits are not known.

The tests, tasks, or ordeals usually come in a series ( three) that the person must undergo to begin the transformation. Often the person fails one or more of these tests. 7. APPROACH THE INMOST CAVE The hero has hit setbacks during tests and may need to try a new idea. The hero comes to the edge of a dangerous place where the object of the quest is hidden.

The hero faces his greatest challenge. Here is where the hero must "slay the dragon". The dragon often is the thing the hero most dreads and needs to overcome. 9. REWARD The hero has survived death, overcomes his fear, and now earns the reward.

The hero is transformed. The transformation is the moment of death and rebirth. Often the transformation takes the form of a revelation, a discovery or insight about oneself or one's culture. This revelation involves a change in consciousness, a change in the way the hero views life. 11. THE ATONEMENT The atonement involves a process of accepting the new transformed self. The transformation has brought the hero into harmony with life and the world. The hero may become stronger, a better leader, or spiritually enlightened. Also, the goal of the quest has been achieved.

9 12. THE RETURN The return to everyday life is one of the most difficult stages of the journey. The trick in returning is to retain the wisdom gained on the quest and to share that wisdom with the rest of the world.

10 THE ARCHETYPES ARCHETYPES are recurring patterns of human behavior, symbolized by standard types of characters in movies and stories. HEROES Central figures in stories.  Everyone is the hero of his or her own myth. SHADOWS Villains and enemies, perhaps the enemy within.  The dark side of the Force, the repressed possibilities of the hero, his or her potential for evil.  Can be other kinds of repression, such as repressed grief, anger, frustration or creativity that is dangerous if it doesn’t have an outlet. MENTORS The hero’s guide or guiding principles.  Yoda, Merlin, a great coach or teacher. HERALD One who brings the Call to Adventure.  Could be a person or an event.

11 THRESHOLD GUARDIANS The forces that stand in the way at important turning points, including jealous enemies, professional gatekeepers, or your own fears and doubts. SHAPESHIFTERS In stories, creatures like vampires or werewolves who change shape.  In life, the shapeshifter represents change.  The way other people (or our perceptions of them) keep changing.  The opposite sex, the way people can be two-faced. TRICKSTERS Clowns and mischief-makers, Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck, our own mischievous subconscious, urging us to change. ALLIES Characters who help the hero through the change.  Sidekicks, buddies, girlfriends who advise the hero through the transitions of life.

12 The End

Download ppt "Three Phases, Twelve Stages,"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google