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India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study Arnab Sinha Sudipta Ray Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
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Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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Expected Usage in 2007: 111 million (from CAGR of 94%) Market Trends Cheaper Infrastructure Cost
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Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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Existing Market Competition Stake in Existing Market : Technology relied upon : Total Investment : Analyzing the predicted Market Revenue Trends, expected Break Even Period for Vodafone BHARTI (10%) GSM (Larger service range in India) 1.5 billion USD Our Target Break Even before February 2008 Vodafone Break Even
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Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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Business Base Current Position of Reliance in market - 20.3 % of the subscriber population - Largest CDMA provider in India - 54% of the population is below the age of 24 1 1 - Estimated youth’s annual spending US$10.5 billion 1 1 Collaboration with Reliance! Targeting the Youth Section! Launching the service on Valentine’s Day! Customer Base
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Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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Increased talk time Superior Power Control Lowest radiation level Hi-Speed Internet Access –India has less than 0.4% penetration CDMA1x handsets (140 kbps) Most successful 3G Tech –CDMA2000 controls 85% of the World’s 3G market –Adds 15 million new users per quarter Worldwide Better Voice & Consistent Quality Advanced platform supporting innovative applications GSM 3G evolution relies on CDMA Technology Requirements Hence CDMA – choice for the 3 rd generation!
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Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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Cost Structure Total Reliance Revenue = Normal Revenue + 3G Revenue Young Reliance Customers Reliance Subscriber Accessing Internet Estd. Avg Packet Consumption per month (APC) Charge (C) Packet wise Billing
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Cost Structure 50p for each 128 Bytes packet Billing Structure Following Japan’s estimate 5 5 APC=8192(1MB) Reliance Customer Base 20.3% of 38.5 Mn 6 = 7.82 Mn 6 Target 54% 1 1 Young Customer = 4.22 million Total Reliance Revenue = Normal Revenue + 3G Revenue Young Reliance Customers Reliance Subscriber Accessing Internet Estd. Avg Packet Consumption per month (APC) Charge (C) Packet wise billing Target Break even December 2007 COMPUTATION STEPS
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Estimated Breakup of Expenses Estimated cost for infrastructure, planning services, site civil works (based on other countries’ statistics) 14 14 106.4 billion INR Licensing fees, sales and marketing cost (26% 15 of the acquired revenue) 15 7.49 billion INR Total Expense (Approx) 115 billion INR Feb, 2006 Dec, 2007 Estd. Revenue Earned 143 billion Large Profit Margin
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Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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Service Promotion Attractive Rate Utilities as per demand Handset Cost Communication Entertainment Information Services Agro-business Optional Commercial Services Communication Entertainment Information Services Agro-business Optional Commercial Services Average Handset Price 19, 448 INR Average Handset Price 19, 448 INR ARPU 1475 INR only ARPU 1475 INR only Advertisement
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Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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Largest CDMA Provider Defeat Vodafone Lucrative Offers after Dec’07 Appeasement of Government Adaptive to Market Forces Evaluation of Policies Reliance Target Break Even – Dec’07 Survival of Competition Early Start Beneficial Utilities Wider Estd. Profit margin
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Thank You! Service Promotion Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements
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References 1. Statistical Outline of India 2002-03 2. http://www.indiadaily.com/editorial/5826.asp,Dec 7, 2005 Media Release 3. http://www.stylusinc.com/internet_potential_india.htm 4. http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/151 5. http://ojr.org/japan/wireless/1084495929.php 6. http://www.indiadaily.com/editorial/5826.asp,Dec 7, 2005 Media Release 7. http://shopping.yahoo.com.au/ 8. http://www.umtsworld.com/umts/faq.htm#f3 9. http://blogs.zdnet.com/ITFacts/?p=9065 10. http://www.w2forum.com/item/us_wireless_market_reach_neartotal _saturation_2009 11. http://www.mouthshut.com/review/GSM_Mobile_Technology_Vs_ CDMA_Mobile_Technology-34613-1.html 13. http://www.businessworldindia.com/sep2004/news08.asp 14. http://www.umtsworld.com/umts/faq.htm#f36 15. www.auspi.org/presentation/AUSPI-press-conference.ppt
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Backup Slides
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The Average International Market Price of 3G mobile Handsets = World market share i x Avg. handset cost x conversion factor i = 19,448 INR Source: Gartner, 2003 Back
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Computation Steps under Packet-Wise Billing Current Internet User Count=38.5million 2 Reliance Subscriber Count=20.3%of 38.5=7.82million Targeted Youth Population=54%of 7.82=4.22million Customer Base for Reliance=11.65million(data provided) Ratio for Target Customer for 3G= 4.22/11.65 = 0.36 Considering this ratio remaining constant, Revenue earned within the breakeven period limits:: Revenue earned by telephony Revenue earned by internet usage
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Computation Steps cont.. Revenue earned by telephony: ∫ ARPU(t)xsub.population(t) = Area under the Revenue Curve = 1485.76 billion INR Revenue earned by internet usage: =Charge per packet ( C ) x Avg.Packetconsumption (APC) x Ratio of Target Customers x ∫Sub.population(t) = 0.5x8192x0.36x{Area under the Subscriber Poplulation Curve} = 5558.501 billion INR Total Revenue = 7044.26billionINR
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Computation Steps cont. Total Revenue = 7044.26 billion Total Reliance Revenue = 20.3% of 7044.26 = 1429.99 billion If acquired a 10% stake, Returns to the company = 10% of 1429.99 ≈ 143 billion >> 115 billion (investment cost) Back
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Vodafone’s Returns: Computation steps for the Breakeven Based on the Plot Returns(t) = Area Under the Plot = 10667.93 +89.71 t 2 +833.56 t (billions ) Returns till Breakeven period = 1.5 billion USD = 63000 million INR * Solving for t: t =19.95 months ≈ 20 months By February 2008. *Exchange rate =Rs 42/- Back
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Aiming the technology Aiming the technology Source: CDG, AUSPI, TelecomWatch,COAI, TRAI Wireless growth after introduction of CDMA 4 : 4 Subscriber growth in GSM: CAGR of 74% * Subscriber growth in CDMA: CAGR of 205% * Increase in Teledensity: 6% * Decrease in tariff: 75% *
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Indian Market Feasibility
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TARGETED CUSTOMER : THE YOUTH? 54% of the population is below the age of 24 Estimated youth’s annual spending US$10.5bn with growth rate of 12% 1 1 55% of young India opts for career in web related activities 3 3 Demand for internet access (38.5 Mn currently) may shoot up to 100 Mn in 2 years.
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