Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

European Union What is the European Union? Economic union of 25 European countries n.htm.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "European Union What is the European Union? Economic union of 25 European countries n.htm."— Presentation transcript:


2 European Union

3 What is the European Union? Economic union of 25 European countries n.htm

4 Map courtesy of Europa Online:

5 History 1951 European Coal and Steel Community 1957 Treaty of Rome – established the European Economic Community (EEC) –Called for creation of common market among six member states

6 1986 Single European Act – set the creation of single market 1993 European Union (Maastricht Treaty) –Created the three pillars of the EU Economic, social and environmental Foreign policy and military matters Justice and home affairs (crime) July 2003 – Constitution drafted which would replace existing agreements

7 Organization European Parliament Commission –initiates legislation Court of Justice –ensures compliance with law Court of Auditors –audits accounts Economic and Social Committee Committee of the Regions European Central Bank European Investment Bank

8 Symbols of the EU National Anthem Music from the last movement of Ludwig van Beethoven's Ninth Symphony Musical Arrangement: Herbert von Karajan Recorded at Teatro da Trindade - Lisboa - 1994 Orchestre d'Harmonie des Jeunes de l'Union Européenne, conducted by André Reichling.

9 Europe Day May 9 Commemorating the declaration by Robert Schuman in 1950 which is regarded as marking the creation of the European Union.

10 Eu Jargon Brussels has decided… Copenhagen criteria Eurosceptic

11 Money Euro coins and banknotes will be used throughout the world

12 Euro coins One side will show one of three common designs involving a map of Europe nad the twelve starts Other side will have a country specific design with the 12 stars around it

13 Euro Notes On 1 January 2002, seven banknotes were introduced in 12 Member States of the European Union.

14 History of the Euro 1999 exchange rates were set among eleven participating countries Fixed exchange rates were set Euro became the official currency on paper, and other currencies were considered subdivisions of the Euro Greece joined on 1 January 2001

15 12 Member States of the European Union are participating in the common currency. Belgium Finland Germany Greece Spain France Ireland Italy Luxembourg The Netherlands Austria Portugal

16 Denmark, Sweden and the United Kingdom are members of the European Union but are not currently participating in the single currency. Denmark is a member of the Exchange Rate Mechanism II (ERM II) which means that the Danish krone is linked to the euro, although the exchange rate is not fixed.

17 For more information…. Europa Online

18 Cairns Group

19 Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Forum (APEC)

20 North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

21 U.S. Trade Agreements tion_Index.html

Download ppt "European Union What is the European Union? Economic union of 25 European countries n.htm."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google