Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Body Planes, Directions, and Cavities

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Body Planes, Directions, and Cavities"— Presentation transcript:

1 Body Planes, Directions, and Cavities

2 Objectives Label a diagram of the three planes of the body with the names of the planes and the directional terms created by these planes Label a diagram of the main body cavities

3 Objectives Cont…. Identify the main organs located in each body cavity
Locate the four quadrants and the nine abdominal regions Define, pronounce, and spell all of the key terms

4 Body Planes: Definition = imaginary lines drawn through the body to separate the body into sections

5 Transverse Plane: Horizontal plane dividing the body into a top and bottom half 1. Superior = body parts above other parts 2. Inferior = body parts below other parts

6 3. Cranial = body parts near the head
4. Caudal = body parts located near the sacral region of the spinal column (or near the tail bone)

7 Median Plane: Divides the body into right and left sides
1. Medial = body parts located near the middle or midline of the body 2. Lateral = body parts located away from the midline or middle of the body

8 Frontal Plane: Divides the body into front and back section.
1. Anterior = body parts on the front of the body 2. Posterior = body parts on the back of the body

9 Proximal = body parts close to the point of reference
Distal = body parts away from the point of reference

10 Body Cavities: Spaces within the body which contain vital organs

11 Posterior Cavity: One long continuous cavity that is located on the back of the body, divided into two sections 1. Cranial Cavity = contains the brain 2. Spinal Cavity = contains the spinal cord

12 Anterior Cavities: Larger and separated into two distinct cavities by a dome-shaped muscle called the diaphragm, which is important for breathing 1. Thoracic Cavity = located in the chest, contains the heart, lungs, and the large blood vessels

13 2. Abdominal Cavity = divided into upper and lower parts
Upper part contains the stomach, small intestines, most of the large intestines, liver, gallbladder, pancreas and spleen 3. Pelvic Cavity = lower abdominal cavity containing urinary bladder, the reproductive organs, and last part of the large intestines

14 Abdominal Regions: Quadrants
1. Right Upper Quadrant (RUQ) 2. Left Upper Quadrant (LUQ) 3. Right Lower Quadrant (RLQ) 4. Left Lower Quadrant (LLQ)

15 Abdominal Regions: Epigastric Umbilical Pelvic Hypochondriac Lateral

Download ppt "Body Planes, Directions, and Cavities"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google