Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Political Division of Scotland

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Political Division of Scotland"— Presentation transcript:

1 Political Division of Scotland
Ondřej Bačuvčík

2 General Information Area: 78,772 km² Population: 5 mil.
Capital: Edinburgh Official languages: English, Gaelic, Scots Government: Constitutional monarchy

3 Politics United since 1707 under the United Kingdom of Great Britain
Head of state: British monarch (Queen Elizabeth II) (since 1952) Limited self-government Represented in the British House of Commons by 59 MPs Queen Elisabeth II Coat of Arms

4 Government Scottish Parliament – elected in 1999, Edinburgh
Scottish Executive Local government Own system of laws, banking (own banknotes) and education Pound Sterling

5 Scottish Parliament Reestablished in 1999 At Holyrood, Edinburgh
Responsible for Scottish domestic affairs, including taxes 129 Members (4 years)

6 Political Parties Labour Party - centre-left, unionist - 50 MSPs
Scottish National Party (SNP) - centre-left, pro-independence - 27 MSPs Conservative and Unionist Party - centre-right, unionist - 17 MSPs Liberal Democrats - centre-left, federalist - 17 MSPs Scottish Green Party - environmentalist, pro-independence - 7 MSPs Scottish Socialist Party (SSP) - far-left, pro-independence - 4 MSPs

7 Scottish Executive Edinburgh
Led by a First Minister (Jack McConnel-since 2001) Responsible for most of the issues of day-to-day concern to the people of Scotland, including health, education, justice, rural affairs, and transport Manages an annual budget J. McConnel

8 Subdivisions of Scotland
32 council areas were set up in 1996 Governed by unitary authorities designated as „Councils“, the head is Provost or Convenor The four main cities of Scotland: Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dundee Councillors are elected every four years

9 Subdivisions of Scotland
Inverclyde Renfrewshire West Dunbartonshire East Dunbartonshire Glasgow East Renfrewshire North Lanarkshire Falkirk West Lothian Edinburgh Midlothian East Lothian Clackmannanshire Fife Dundee Angus Aberdeenshire Aberdeen Moray Highland Na h-Eileanan Siar (Western Isles) Argyll and Bute Perth and Kinross Stirling North Ayrshire East Ayrshire South Ayrshire Dumfries and Galloway South Lanarkshire Scottish Borders Orkney Islands Shetland Islands

10 Aberdeen City Council 43 elected members – represent Aberdeen
Responsibility for the well being and sustainable development of Aberdeen City Education, Social Work, Housing, Strategic Planning, Libraries, Transportation and Roads, Parks, etc. Head of the Council – Lord Provost

11 Lord Provost Aberdeen’s civic head
Elected by Aberdeen City Council every 4 years Active promotion of Aberdeen at home and abroad City’s ambassador Greets the Royal Family and visiting Heads of State John Reynolds

12 Other subdivisions Sheriffdoms – judicial areas, 6, Sheriff Principal
Civil parishes (okrsky) – 871 parishes, no administrative function, for statistical purposes Communities - lowest level of sub-division, community councils, 1200 communities, local opinion to larger local government bodies

13 Resources

14 Thank you for your attention!
Have a nice day!

Download ppt "Political Division of Scotland"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google