Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

The Seven Sacraments of the Roman Catholic Church

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "The Seven Sacraments of the Roman Catholic Church"— Presentation transcript:

1 The Seven Sacraments of the Roman Catholic Church
Through the doors of faith we encounter the one true presence of the Lord Jesus Christ

2 Overview

3 Baptism Baptism is a rite of initiation.
Baptism welcomes a person into the Christian community. Baptism is necessary to receive any other sacrament. Baptism can be given in three ways: by immersing the whole body in water, by pouring water over the head, or by sprinkling water on the head. Baptism is usually performed by priest or deacons, but in an emergency situation anyone can baptize. “I baptize you in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

4 Reconciliation Confession is good for the soul.
Confession has two parts: confessing your sins and forgiveness by the priest in Christ’s name. Reconciliation celebrates forgiveness and God’s willingness to heal us, and it develops introspection and moral responsibility. The sacrament of reconciliation recognizes that sin creates a block between us and God. The sacrament restores our intimate friendship with God. “Bless me father, for I have sinned.”

5 Holy Eucharist From the Eucharist, the Church draws her life. This is the heart of the Church's mystery. The elements of the sacrament come from the earth - wheat that is specially made into bread and grapes made into wine. During the Mass, the priest speaks the words of consecration over the bread and wine, transforming it into the body and blood of Christ. This ritual is called transubstantiation, indicating that the elements of the sacrament, bread and wine, are substantively changed. Christ instituted the Holy Eucharist in this way: He took bread, blessed and broke it, and giving it to His apostles, said: "Take and eat; this is My body;" then He took a cup of wine, blessed it, and giving it to them, said: "All of you drink of this; for this is My blood of the new covenant which is being shed for many unto the forgiveness of sins;" finally, He gave His apostles the commission: "Do this in remembrance of Me."

6 Confirmation Confirmation increases and deepens the process of initiation into the faith begun at baptism, this time with conscious awareness. Confirmation awakens certain spiritual attributes called the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit – Wisdom, Understanding, Right Judgment, Courage, Knowledge, Reverence, and Fear of the Lord. All people are called to share in the priesthood of Christ. Confirmation opens this “priestly” function. “Be sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit.”

7 Holy Matrimony Three parties are involved: the husband, the wife, and Jesus Christ. Marriage is a vocation. It is a covenant relationship between God and his people. God enters into the covenant relationship with the couple; providing spiritual support and Grace. Covenant relationships cannot be broken, and Catholic marriage is for life, with very few exceptions. This sacrament is administered by the couple that marries each other. Having children and sexual enjoyment are the primary intention of marriage. Consent is the central feature, and is fulfilled as the parties mutually agree to give themselves to each other.

8 Holy Orders This is a sacrament by which a man commits his life to serve the faith community. Holy orders is a vocation. Holy Orders is traditionally thought of as a higher calling, and those who accept the call are expected to live up to higher standards than the rest of the people. There are three separate ordinations - Deacons, Priests, and Bishops. Ordination is reserved for men only. Women fulfill this calling by joining religious orders as nuns. Celibacy is mandatory for priest, bishops, and nuns. (There are a few exceptions.) A married man can become a deacon after the age of 35, but if their spouse dies, they may not remarry.

9 Anointing of the Sick This sacrament is about healing.
The sacrament honors both the physical and spiritual healing presence of Christ. The sacrament was commonly referred to as “the Last Rites.” (Sacrament of reconciliation, Holy Eucharist, and anointing of the sick) This sacrament cures in the form of strengthening, peace, and courage to overcome the difficulties that go with serious illness or the frailty of old age. The gift of finding spiritual meaning for health and physical struggles.

10 Recap

Download ppt "The Seven Sacraments of the Roman Catholic Church"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google