Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Year 9 Curriculum and exams.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Year 9 Curriculum and exams."— Presentation transcript:

1 Year 9 Curriculum and exams

2 Year 9 to Year 11 IGCSE Programme
The International General Certificate of Secondary Education [IGCSE] is the world's most popular international qualification for 14–16 year olds. It develops successful students, giving them excellent preparation for their next steps in education, including progression to A and AS Level study, and equips them with skills for immediate employment. Cambridge IGCSE is recognized by universities and employers worldwide.

3 Compulsory Subjects English [5 lessons per week]
Mathematics [5 lessons per week] Combined Science [6 lessons per week] ICT [3 lessons per week] Physical Education: core/non-examinable [2 lessons a week] PSHE

4 Optional Subjects One Foreign Language Two other subjects French
Spanish German Two other subjects History Geography Business Studies or Economics Sociology Art Music Drama Physical Education

5 Assessment /exams Internal assessment at the end of every half term
Everybody will sit the Cambridge Checkpoint exams in: English Mathematics Combined Science Students may sit also exams in English 2nd Language Students passing IGCSE exams at the end of Year 9 must choose another IGCSE subject

6 Years 10 and 11 IGCSE The IGCSE programme will continue
The strong candidates will sit the IGCSE exams at the end of year 10; the subject in cause will be replaced with a new IGCSE subject Everybody must finish with the IGCSE exams by the end of year 11 [16 years old]

7 IGCSE Examinations Sessions
Any student in years 10 to 11 [14 – 16 years old] can sit an IGCSE exam generally after at least two years of studying a certain subject Every student should sit at least 7 or 8 IGCSE exams by the end of year 11 There are two exam sessions per year: Summer Session [May/June] Results-August/Certificates - October Autumn Session [October/November] Results - January/Certificates - March Most of the subjects are divided in two levels of ability: Extended level: with grades from A* to C Core level: with grades from C to E IBSB Criteria: Grades A* to C are considered passes and any other grade below C is considered a fail

8 Continuation Policy Students wishing to continue study beyond KS4 and into Year 12 must also satisfy the general school requirement of having obtained at least 5 IGCSE’s grades [A* - C] including English, Mathematics, Sciences and ICT. The transition of any student to an AS/A qualification [in any subject] is conditioned by the obtaining of a C grade in the IGCSE extended exam in that particular subject. If a student fails to achieve the minimum required grade in that particular IGCSE subject he/she will not be allowed to continue with the AS qualification in the same subject.

9 IBSB - Secondary Education Briefing
Year 7/8 [ years old] Cambridge Progression Tests Year 9 [14 years old] [KS3] Cambridge Checkpoint Year 10/11 [15 – 16 years old] [KS4] Cambridge I/GCSE Year 12/13 [ years old] [KS5/6th Form] Cambridge I/GCE AS and A Level

10 CIE 2010 Exam Analysis

11 A useful handbook

12 Thank you for listening !
Ciprian TIPLEA, Head of School

Download ppt "Year 9 Curriculum and exams."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google