Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Team Pao Luis Pina Joelle Julve Gerald Godoy Dalton Guzman Jen-Pu Tseng Michelle Lee.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Team Pao Luis Pina Joelle Julve Gerald Godoy Dalton Guzman Jen-Pu Tseng Michelle Lee."— Presentation transcript:

1 Team Pao Luis Pina Joelle Julve Gerald Godoy Dalton Guzman Jen-Pu Tseng Michelle Lee

2 History One of the oldest religions. Roughly founded around 2000 – 750 BCE Said to have been evolved from Vedic religion (Early Harappan: 3300 – 2600 BCE). Shiva Lingam found during Indus Valley Civilization (Mature Harappan: 2600 – 1900 BCE). DALTON GUZMAN

3 Hinduism Dominated Countries Hinduism is the third largest religion next to Christianity and Islam. The top two countries where Hinduism is the dominant religion with a leading 80% are India and Nepal DALTON GUZMAN

4 Dharma in Hinduism Hinduism is commonly referred to as Sanātana Dharma. Spiritual laws which govern human existence. (Moral Laws) Human Tolerance. Dharma is the "law of being" without which things cannot exist. DALTON GUZMAN

5 Dharma vs. Adharma Patience Forgiveness Piety or Self Control Honesty Sanctity Control of Senses Reason Knowledge or Learning Truthfulness Absence of Anger DALTON GUZMAN

6 Hinduism through the Periods The Pre-Vedic Period The Vedic Period GERALD GODOY

7 Hinduism through the Periods The Upanishad Period The Puranic Period GERALD GODOY

8 Hinduism through the Periods The Medieval Period The Modern Period GERALD GODOY

9 The Gods of Hinduism Brahman : The supreme Godhead, beyond all distinctions or forms; ultimate Reality. Brahma is the creator, Vishnu the preserver and Shiva the destroyer. Out of 4000 Hinduism Temple there is only 2 for Brahman JEN-PU TSENG

10 The Gods of Hinduism Vishnu, Visnu: A Hindu god. With Brahma and Shiva forms the Trimurti Vishnu is the preserver and protector of creation. JEN-PU TSENG

11 The Gods of Hinduism Shiva: Shiva is the destroyer of the world, following Brahma the creator and Vishnu the preserver. Shiva is responsible for change both in the Brahma Vishnu form of death and destruction and in the positive sense of the shedding of old habits. Shiva also represents the most essential goodness. JEN-PU TSENG

12 The Concept of Moksha moksha: “release”; liberation from samsara, the cycle of death and rebirth or reincarnation and all of the suffering and limitation of worldly existence after realization of God –the way of knowledge; (jnana) –the way of action; (karma) and –the way of devotion; (bhakti) JEN-PU TSENG

13 The Concept of Maya Maya: Literally means "Not this." Usually, it refers to illusion, where the eternal soul identifies itself with temporary matter such as the body, material goods etc. Maya can mean power which creates and maintains the universe's apparent diversity, or to put it in other words, that which causes the One to appear as many. JEN-PU TSENG

14 The Caste System Caste system: –Brahmins - Priests and scholars –Warriors –Merchants –Workers Harijans – "untouchables.“ MICHELLE LEE

15 The Concept of Atman The external soul in every creature, which is divine. Self – the immortal aspect of the mortal existence. The external soul is born each time depending upon karma. MICHELLE LEE

16 The Concept of Karma The law of cause and effect Deed or act Action and reaction “Kar” means organs of action “ma” means producing or creating Good deeds and bad deeds MICHELLE LEE

17 The Texts: The Four Vedas The Veda is subdivided into four great books: Rig Veda – subdivided into 21 sections –1500 B.C.E. – 1000 B.C.E. –A collection of inspired hymns and is a main source of information on the Rig Vedic civilization. LUIS PINA

18 Sama Veda – subdivided into 1,000 sections –The Sama Veda is purely a liturgical collection of melodies (‘saman’). Yajur Veda – subdivided into two parts and 101 sections –A liturgical collection; made to meet the demands of ceremonial religion. –Served as a guidebook for the priests who executed sacrificial acts The Texts: The Four Vedas LUIS PINA

19 Atharva Veda – subdivided into 50 sections –The last of the Vedas –completely different from the other three Vedas and is next in importance to Rig Veda with regard to history and sociology The Texts: The Four Vedas LUIS PINA

20 The Vedas JOELLE JULVE Each Veda consists of four parts: Mantra-Samhita –Hymns in praise of the Vedic God Brahmana –The Brahmana portions guide people to perform sacrificial rites.

21 Aranyakas –The forest books, the mystical sylvan texts which give philosophical interpretations of the rituals. Upanishads (700 B.C.E.) –The most important portion of the Vedas. –Contain the essence or the knowledge portion of the Vedas. The Vedas JOELLE JULVE

22 The Mantras and the Brahmadas –Karma-Kanda (Ritualistic) The Aranyakas –Upasana-Kanda (Worship) The Upanishads –Jnana-Kanda (Knowledge) The Vedas JOELLE JULVE

23 Other Sacred Texts: Ramayana (Romance of Rama – 200 B.C.E.) The Laws of Manu (the first man, like Adam - 200 After Christ) Puranas (myths and legends - 400-500 After Christ) Classificaiton of Hindu sacred texts: Shruti Smriti LUIS PINA & JOELLE JULVE

24 Works Cited "The Four Vedas - About the Rig, Sama, Yajur, Atharva Vedas." About Hinduism - What You Need to Know About Hinduism. Web. 04 Oct. 2009. "Four Vedas: The Four Vedas in the Hindu Scriptures." Global Oneness - The meeting place for Cultural Creatives - Articles, News, Community, Forums, Travel & Events and much more. Web. 04 Oct. 2009. "Sacred Texts of Hinduism." World Religions and 101 Cults and Sects. Web. 04 Oct. 2009. http://www.religion- "Sacred-Texts: Hinduism." Internet Sacred Text Archive Home. Web. 04 Oct. 2009.

Download ppt "Team Pao Luis Pina Joelle Julve Gerald Godoy Dalton Guzman Jen-Pu Tseng Michelle Lee."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google