Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Chapter 6 Section 2 Origins of Hinduism

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Chapter 6 Section 2 Origins of Hinduism"— Presentation transcript:

1 Chapter 6 Section 2 Origins of Hinduism
Hindus at the Ganges River

2 Indian Society Divides
As Aryan society became more complex, their society began to divide into groups. For the most part, the groups were divided by people’s occupations. Strict rules developed about how people of different groups could interact. As time passed, these rules became stricter and central to Indian society.

3 The Varnas are four main social divisions in Aryan society
Brahmins were the priests Kshatriyas were the rulers and warriors Vaisyas were the farmers, craftsmen, traders Sudras were the workers and servants

4 What is the Caste System?
The Untouchables are the lowest in the caste system The Indian society is divided into groups based on a person’s birth, wealth, or occupation. *Adhering to the rules of the caste system was of high importance in the Aryan society.* *The highest ranking of India’s caste system was made up of priests, called Brahmins.*

5 What are the Vedas? There are four Vedas created in the Aryan religion. Each contain sacred hymns and poems. The oldest is the Rig-Veda, it includes hymns of praise to many gods. Other Vedas describe religious rituals. Fourth Veda called Upanishads are reflections from religious students and teachers.

6 Hinduism is the largest religion in India
What are the major beliefs of Hinduism? *A universal spirit called Brahman, created the universe and everything in it*. Everything in the world is part of Brahman. Every person has an atman (soul) that will eventually join Brahman. *People’s souls are reincarnated into new physical forms many times* before they can join Brahman. *A person’s Karma will affect how they will be reincarnated.*

7 What is Reincarnation? The soul or atman holds the person’s personality. The Hindus believed the soul is born and reborn many times. The process of rebirth is called reincarnation.

8 Another Idea About Reincarnation

9 More Interpretations of Reincarnation

10 What is Karma? Good actions build good karma. People with good karma are born into a higher caste in their next lives. In time, good karma will bring salvation or freedom from life’s worries and the cycle of rebirth. Evil actions will build bad karma. A person with bad karma will be reborn into a lower caste or as a lesser creature.

11 What is Jainism? (look in your book)
Broke away from the Hindu religion. The Jains live by four principals: Injure no life Tell the truth Do not steal Own no property They wear masks over their mouths so they won’t inhale bugs and kill them.

12 What is Non-violence? -The avoidance of violent actions.
Ironically, he was assinated in 1948. Mohandas Gandhi As a Young lawyer He helped India to gain its independence from Great Britain in 1947 by not using violence. Believed that everything was alive: did not want to injure or kill any creature

13 Summary Two religions developed in India after the Aryans invaded the country, Hinduism and Jainism. The Aryans had strict rules about how people should live and practice their religion. India today along the Ganges River

Download ppt "Chapter 6 Section 2 Origins of Hinduism"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google