Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Geography of Poland Ania B..

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Geography of Poland Ania B.."— Presentation transcript:

1 Geography of Poland Ania B.


3 Poland’s territory extends across several geographical regions
Poland’s territory extends across several geographical regions. In the northwest is the Baltic seacoast, which extends from the Bay of Pomerania to the Gulf of Gdańsk. Bay of Pomerania

4 This coast is marked by several spits, coastal lakes (former bays that have been cut off from the sea), and dunes. The largely straight coastline is indented by the Szczecin Lagoon, the Bay of Puck, and the Vistula Lagoon. Bay of Puck

5 The center and parts of the north lie within the North European Plain
The center and parts of the north lie within the North European Plain. Rising gently above these lowlands is a geographical region comprising the four hilly districts of moraines and moraine-dammed lakes formed during and after the Pleistocene ice age. These lake districts are the Pomeranian Lake District, the Greater Polish Lake District, the Kashubian Lake District, and the Masurian Lake District. The Masurian Lake District is the largest of the four and covers much of northeastern Poland. The lake districts form part of the Baltic Ridge, a series of moraine belts along the southern shore of the Baltic Sea. Masurian Lake District Kashubian Lake District

6 the Świętokrzyskie Mountains
South of the Northern European Lowlands lie the regions of Silesia and Masovia, which are marked by broad ice-age river valleys. Farther south lies the Polish mountain region, including the Sudetes , the Cracow-Częstochowa Upland, the Świętokrzyskie Mountains, and the Carpathian Mountains, including the Beskids. The highest part of the Carpathians is the Tatra Mountains, along Poland’s southern border. the Cracow-Częstochowa Upland the Świętokrzyskie Mountains

7 the Beskids the Sudetes Tatra Mountains

8 Rivers of Poland The longest rivers are the Vistula (Polish: Wisła), 1,047 kilometres long; the Oder (Polish: Odra) which forms part of Poland’s western border, 854 kilometres long; its tributary, the Wart, 808 kilometres long; and the Bug, a tributary of the Vistula, 772 kilometres long. the Vistula the Oder

Download ppt "Geography of Poland Ania B.."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google