Presentation on theme: "Gluten-Free Diet. What is gluten? Protein found in grains- wheat, rye, barley, & oats The main sources of gluten in the diet include flour, bread, bread."— Presentation transcript:
What is gluten? Protein found in grains- wheat, rye, barley, & oats The main sources of gluten in the diet include flour, bread, bread products such as pizza crust, pasta, and breakfast cereal, as well as savory snacks, such as pretzels and crackers and sweet snacks, such as cookies and cakes.
Celiac Disease Life-long condition; auto-immune disease Damage to the small intestine b/c it is unable to absorb nutrients Health complications Malnutrition Only treatment is to follow a gluten-free diet
What is Gluten-Free? Gluten-free diet is based on foods and any ingredients that are free of grains Hidden in many foods- especially processed foods
Reasons to be Vegetarian Religious Ethical Health Environmental Animal Welfare Economical
Types of Vegetarians Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian: does not eat meat, fish or fowl. Eats dairy and egg products. Most popular. Ovo Vegetarian: does not eat meat, fish, fowl or dairy products. Eats egg products. Lacto Vegetarian: does not eat meat, fish, fowl or eggs. Eats dairy products. Vegan: does not eat any animal products including meat, fish, fowl, eggs, dairy, honey, etc. Most vegans do not use any animal products such as silk, leather, wool, etc. as well.
Tofu Made from soybeans, water and a coagulant, or curdling agent High in protein and calcium Vegetarian replacement Little taste but absorb new flavors through spices and marinades Common in Asian dishes