Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

European Aviation Safety Agency

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "European Aviation Safety Agency"— Presentation transcript:


2 European Aviation Safety Agency
The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is an agency of the European Union (EU) with regulatory and executive tasks in the field of civilian aviation safety. Based in Cologne, Germany, the EASA was created on 15 July 2003, and it reached full functionality in 2008, taking over functions of the Join Aviation Authorities (JAA). European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries have been granted participation in the agency

The responsibilities of EASA include to conduct analysis and research of safety, authorizing foreign operators, giving advice for the drafting of EU legislation, implementing and monitoring safety rules (including inspections in the member states), giving type-certification of aircraft and components as well as the approval of organizations involved in the design, manufacture and maintenance of aeronautical products

4 Member states In addition to the member states of the union,
the countries part of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Iceland, have been granted participation under Article 66 of the Basic Regulation and are members of the Management Board without voting rights. There are also numerous working relationships with other authorities

5 REGULATIONS In Europe, Aircraft Maintenance Certifying Personnel have to comply to Part-66 Certifying Staff of the EASA. Part-66 was based on the older JAR system and the required training level followed the ATA 104 system. There are 3 levels of authorization: Category A (Line Maintenance Mechanic): Basic A category License + ( Task Training (Level depends on Task Complexity) + Company Certification Authorization for specific Tasks ("A category A aircraft maintenance license permits the holder to issue certificates of release to service following minor scheduled line maintenance and simple defect rectification within the limits of tasks specifically endorsed on the authorization. The certification privileges shall be restricted to work that the license holder has personally performed in a Part-145 organization"), Category B1 (Mechanical) and/or B2(Avionics) (Line Maintenance Technician): Basic B1/B2 category License + Type Training (i.e. Line and Base Maintenance I.A.W. Part-66 Appendix III Level III) + Company Certification Authorization ("a category B1 aircraft maintenance license shall permit the holder to issue certificates of release to service following maintenance, including aircraft structure, power plant and mechanical and electrical systems.

6 Replacement of avionic line replaceable units, requiring simple tests
to prove their serviceability, shall also be included in the privileges. Category B1 shall automatically include the appropriate 'A' subcategory", a Category B2 aircraft maintenance license shall permit the holder to issue certificates of release to service following maintenance on avionic and electrical systems"). Category C (Base Maintenance Certifying Engineer): Basic C category license + Type Training (Line & Base Maintenance i.a.w. Part-66 Appendix III, Level III for the first Type Rating and Part-66 Level I training for subsequent Aircraft Types of similar technology, otherwise Level III training) + Company Certification Authorization ("a category C aircraft maintenance license shall permit the holder to issue certificates of release to service following base maintenance on aircraft. The privileges apply to the aircraft in its entirety in a Part-145 organization"). A significant difference between the US and the European systems is that in the United States, aircraft maintenance technicians (Part 65 Airframe and Power plant Mechanics) are permitted to work under their own certificates and approve their own work for return to service. European Part 66 certificate holders are required to perform their functions under the aegis of a Part 145 organization for Transport Category and Large (MTOM>5700 kg) Airplanes. The part 145 organization in the EASA system has the authority to approve for return to service. Many non-European countries have been moving toward the European approach, most notably Canada (See Part 571 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations

7 Maintenance organization approval
To obtain approval to be an aeronautical repair station, an organization must write, submit and keep updated a Maintenance Organization Exposition (MOE). To support their MOE they must have a documented set of procedures. Thirdly the organization must have a compliance matrix to show how they meet the requirements of Part-145

8 Design organisation approval
Design Organisation means an organisation responsible for the design of aircraft, aircraft engines, propellers, auxiliary power units, or related parts and appliances, and holding, or applying for, type-certificates, supplemental type-certificates, changes or repairs design approvals or ETSO Authorizations. A design organisation holds DOA (Design Organisation Approval) or, by way of derogation, Alternatives Procedures to DOA. A DOA-List enlisting all companies holding DO Approval with their capabilities can be downloaded from the EASA web-site. Part 21 requirements for Design Organisation Approvals and Production Organisation Approvals, as described in Regulation (EC) 1702/2003 on 'Implementing Rules' the safety of aircraft should be tested every flight course and the engineers should be educated in every three months with strong courses

9 Safety analysis and research activities
The work of the European Aviation Safety Agency centers on ensuring the highest levels of civil aviation safety, through certification of aviation products, approval of organizations to provide aviation services, development and implementation of a standardized European regulatory framework. These tasks are supported by: coordination of internal and external safety improvement initiatives. For instance the European Strategic Safety Initiative (ESSI) is an aviation safety partnership between EASA, other regulators and the industry aiming to further enhance safety for citizens in Europe and worldwide through safety analysis, implementation of cost effective action plans, and coordination with other safety initiatives worldwide. providing reports concerning the safety of European and worldwide aviation, focal point for coordination of aviation accident investigation safety recommendations

10 Certification On 28 September 2003, the EASA took over responsibility for the airworthiness and environmental certification of all aeronautical products, parts, and appliances designed, manufactured, maintained or used by persons under the regulatory oversight of EU Member States. The Certification work also includes all post-certification activities, such as the approval of changes to, and repairs of, aeronautical products and their components, as well as the issuing of airworthiness directives to correct any potentially unsafe situation. All type-certificates are therefore now issued by the EASA and are valid throughout the European Union. It also carries out the same role for foreign organizations involved in the manufacture or maintenance of such products. The EASA relies on national aviation authorities who have historically filled this role and concludes contractual arrangements to this effect

Download ppt "European Aviation Safety Agency"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google