Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

South Africa, Kenya, & Sudan

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "South Africa, Kenya, & Sudan"— Presentation transcript:

1 South Africa, Kenya, & Sudan
Governments of Africa South Africa, Kenya, & Sudan

2 SS7CG1 The student will compare and contrast various forms of government Describe the ways government systems distribute power: Unitary, Confederation, and Federal Explain how governments determine citizen participation: Autocratic, Democratic, & Oligarchic Describe the two predominant forms of democratic government: Presidential and Parliamentary

3 Ways governments distribute power
Unitary: characterized by or constituting a form of government in which power is held by one central authority. Dictatorship or Absolute Monarchies

4 Ways governments distribute power
Confederation: voluntary associations of independent states that, to secure some common purpose, agree to certain limitations on their freedom of action and establish some joint machinery of consultation or deliberation. United Arab Emirates (Middle East) or OPEC

5 Ways governments distribute power
Federal: characterized by or constituting a form of government in which power is divided between one central and several regional authorities. Our government is federal (national and several state governments work together)

6 Different ways citizens’ participate in their government is defined
Autocratic: government in which one person possesses unlimited power and the citizen has little if any role in the government.

7 Different ways citizens’ participation in their government is defined
Oligarchic: government by the few, sometimes a government in which a small group exercises control especially for corrupt and selfish purposes. The citizen has a very limited role.

8 Different ways citizens’ participation in their government is defined
Democratic: a government in which the supreme power is vested in the people and exercised by them directly or indirectly through a system of representation usually involving periodically held free elections.

9 SS7CG2 The student will explain the structures of the modern governments of Africa a. Compare the republican systems of government in the Republic of Kenya and the Republic of South Africa to the dictatorship of the Republic of Sudan, distinguishing the form of leadership and role of the citizen in terms of voting and personal freedoms

10 Governments in Africa Modern governments in Africa differ from one another. The governments of Morocco, Kenya, Libya, and South Africa all share common traits, but operate much differently from one another. Since many modern African governments directly replaced colonial rule and borders do not necessarily follow tribal and ethnic lines, there is much competition for resources.

11 South Africa South Africa is made up of nine provinces.
The constitution of South Africa was ratified in 1996. The constitution splits power between the executive and legislative branch and contains a bill of rights for all South Africans.

12 South Africa The legislative branch of South Africa has two houses, the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces. The National Assembly has 400 members elected by South African citizens for five-year terms. The National Council of Provinces has ten members from each province elected by provincial legislatures.

13 South Africa The president is elected for a five-year term by the majority party in the National Assembly. The president appoints a deputy president and cabinet from members of the National Assembly. 18 year old to vote in South Africa

14 Kenya In 1963, Kenya declared its independence from England.
Kenya is a republic with a popularly elected president. A republic is similar to a representative democracy, because the people in a republic vote for their representatives. Until 1991, Kenya had Only one political party, by law.

15 Kenya In 1992, Kenya held its first presidential election that included more than one candidate running for office. The executive branch, which includes the office of president, is the strongest branch of Kenyan government. The president serves a five-year term with a two-term limit and acts as head of state and head of government. The president appoints a cabinet of ministers and a vice president.

16 Kenya Kenya’s legislature, or parliament, is a one-chamber body called the National Assembly, or Bunge. The president must approve any law passed by the National Assembly. Citizens of Kenya elect the majority of members of the National Assembly. Other members are appointed. All Kenyan citizens 18 or older are able to vote for the president and members of the National Assembly.

17 Sudan: Legal system: Based on English common law and Islamic law
17 years of age for voting Constitution that outlines the governments powers.

18 Sudan’s Government Sudan: Executive Branch
Sudan’s president is the head of state, head of government, and commander in chief of the armed forces Sudan: Legislative branch: Bicameral National Legislature consists of a Council of States and a National Assembly

19 Summary Compare and contrast the governments of South Africa, Kenya, and Sudan.

20 Test Yourself SS7CG1a: In Nigeria’s government, power is divided between Central and Regional authorities. This is an example of which government type? Unitary Confederation Federal Parliamentary

21 SS7CG1b: All citizens participate equally in which type of government?
Oligarchy Democracy Autocracy Theocracy

22 SS7CG2: Kenya is a Republic and Sudan is a dictatorship. How does the method of voting differ in these countries? In Sudan, all citizens elect a president In Sudan, citizens do not elect a leader In Kenya, citizens do not elect a leader In Kenya, a few citizens elect the president

Download ppt "South Africa, Kenya, & Sudan"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google