Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs"— Presentation transcript:

1 Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs
Abraham Maslow

2 Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs
In the 1960s, the humanistic psychologist Abraham Maslow came up with a theory that expressed the human race’s daily strive for self-actualization.

3 Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs
There were five basic needs, and he placed these needs into a pyramid-like arrangement with the most essential need placed on the bottom, and the hardest need to achieve on top.

4 Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs
In his study, he also believed that one cannot pursue up to the next level without fulfilling the previous level.

5 This is an example of the pyramid:

6 Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs
Therefore, one must first complete their physiological needs before they can rise to the safety needs.

7 Physiological The physiological needs are on the bottom.
These needs are the very basic needs one needs for survival such as air, water, food, shelter, sleep, etc.

8 Physiological If one does not have food to eat for one day, technically he/she will never achieve to the next level because finding food would be his/her focus for the day. One would be striving to have a bite to eat rather than trying to remain in a safe environment.

9 Safety & Security After all physiological needs are met, one can move up to the next level of needs which is the need for security. At this level, one strives to remain in a safe environment. He/she is not striving to reach the next level of love and belongingness, one is simply striving for safety.

10 Safety & Security An example of this would be a wife with an abusive husband. Her main concern would be staying out of danger for that day, rather than trying to gain his love.

11 Love & Belonging Once one has accomplished the physiological and security needs, he/she then strives for the next level which is love and belongingness. In this level, one tries to overcome feelings of loneliness and/or alienation.

12 Love & Belonging Maslow believed that all humans have a desire to belong to a group, be accepted by others, and to be loved. Humans need to be needed. If one does not believe that he/she is loved by others, then one cannot love oneself. Therefore, cannot progress up this hierarchy.

13 Esteem Esteem is the next step up the ladder after all the previous levels have been achieved. This involves one’s self-esteem, along with the esteem one gets from others.

14 Esteem Self-esteem is pride in oneself, or self-respect.
Esteem, on the other hand, is respect and appreciation that one shows to you such as compliments, rewards, and recognition. Fulfilling this level is hard for some, and those who don’t reach this level will never excel to the self- actualization peak of this pyramid.

15 Self-Actualization Finally, once all other needs are met, one begins the need to achieve one’s full potential, or self-actualization. This is when a person devotes his/her life to a specific cause that needs the attention of others, such as joining the Peace Corps, or devoting his/her life to God, such as going into ministry.

16 Self-Actualization Some people describe this level as a “calling,” or something in which they were “born to do.” After this level is met, the person will feel as if they have accomplished everything in his/her life.

17 Resources Google Images

Download ppt "Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google