Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Introduction Chuan (Sichuan) Hui (Anhui) Lu (Shandong) Min (Fujian) Su (Jiangsu, Huaiyang cuisine) Yue (Hong Kong and Guangdong) Xiang (Hunan) Xinjiang.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Introduction Chuan (Sichuan) Hui (Anhui) Lu (Shandong) Min (Fujian) Su (Jiangsu, Huaiyang cuisine) Yue (Hong Kong and Guangdong) Xiang (Hunan) Xinjiang."— Presentation transcript:


2 Introduction Chuan (Sichuan) Hui (Anhui) Lu (Shandong) Min (Fujian) Su (Jiangsu, Huaiyang cuisine) Yue (Hong Kong and Guangdong) Xiang (Hunan) Xinjiang Zhe (Zhejiang) Questions Thanks

3 A number of different styles contribute to Chinese cuisine, but perhaps the best known and most influential are Sichuan cuisine, Shandong cuisine, Jiangsu cuisine and Guangdong (Cantonese) cuisine. These styles are distinctive from one another due to factors such as available resources, climate, geography, history, cooking techniques and lifestyle. One style may favor the use of lots of garlic and shallots over lots of chili and spices, while another may favor preparing seafood over other meats and fowl. Jiangsu cuisine favors cooking techniques such as braising and stewing, while Sichuan cuisine employs baking, just to name a few. Hairy crab is a highly sought after local delicacy in Shanghai, as it can be found in lakes within the region. Beijing Roast Duck (otherwise known as 'Peking Duck') is another popular dish that's well known outside of China. Based on the raw materials and ingredients used, the method of preparation, and cultural differences, a variety of foods with different flavors and textures are prepared in different regions of the country. Many traditional regional cuisines rely on basic methods of preservation such as drying, salting, pickling and fermentation

4 Sichuan cuisine, also called Sichuan cuisine, is a style of Chinese cuisine originating in the Sichuan Province of southwestern China famed for bold flavors, particularly the pungency and spiciness resulting from liberal use of garlic and chili peppers, as well as the unique flavor of the Sichuan peppercorn ( 花椒 ). Peanuts, sesame paste and ginger are also prominent ingredients in Szechuan cooking.

5 Anhui cuisine (Chinese: 徽菜 or 安徽菜 ) is one of the Eight Culinary Traditions of China. It is derived from the native cooking styles of the Huangshan Mountains region in China and is similar to Jiangsu cuisine.

6 Shandong Cuisine, commonly and simply known as Lu cuisine, can be said to be the best of the Eight Regional Cuisines of China. With a long history, Shandong Cuisine once formed an important part of the imperial cuisine and was widely promoted in the north China. However it isn't so popular in south China and even in the all-embracing Shanghai. Shandong Cuisine is featured by a variety of cooking techniques and seafood. The typical dishes on local menu are braised abalone, braised trepang, sweet and sour carp, Jiuzhuan Dachang and Dezhou Chicken. Various Shandong snacks are also worth trying.

7 Fujian cuisine is a traditional Chinese cuisine. Many diverse sea foods are used, including hundreds of types of fish, shellfish and turtles, provided by the Fujian coastal region. Woodland delicacies such as edible mushrooms and bamboo shoots are also utilized Slicing techniques are valued in the cuisine, and utilized to enhance the flavor, aroma and texture of seafood and other foods. Fujian cuisine is often served in a broth or soup, and cooking techniques include braising, stewing, steaming and boiling.

8 Jiangsu cuisine, also known as Su Cuisine for short, is one of the major components of Chinese cuisine, and consists of the styles of Yangzhou, Nanjing, Suzhou and Zhenjiang dishes. It is very famous in the whole world for its distinctive style and taste. It is especially popular in the lower reach of the Yangtze River. Typical courses of Jiangsu cuisine are Jinling salted dried duck, clear crab shell meatballs, Yangzhou steamed Jerky strips, triple combo duck, dried duck, and Farewell My Concubine.

9 Dim sum, is a Cantonese term for small hearty dishes. These bite-sized portions are prepared using traditional cooking methods such as frying, steaming, stewing and baking. It is designed so that one person may taste a variety of different dishes. Some of these may include rice rolls, lotus leaf rice, turnip cakes, buns, shui jiao-style dumplings, stir-fried green vegetables, congee porridge, soups, etc. The Cantonese style of dining, yum cha, combines the variety of dim sum dishes with the drinking of tea. Yum cha literally means 'drink tea'.

10 Hunan cuisine is well known for its hot spicy flavor, fresh aroma and deep color. Common cooking techniques include stewing, frying, pot-roasting, braising, and smoking. Due to the high agricultural output of the region, ingredients for Hunan dishes are many and varied.

11 The cuisine of Xinjiang reflects the region's many ethnic groups, and refers particularly to Uyghur cuisine. Signature ingredients include roast mutton, kebabs, roast fish and rice. Because of the Islamic population, the food is predominantly halal.

12 Zhejiang cuisine (Chinese: 浙菜 or 浙江菜 ), one of the Eight Culinary Traditions of China, derives from the native cooking styles of the Zhejiang region. The dishes are not greasy, having but instead have a fresh, soft flavor with a mellow fragrance. The cuisine consists of at least three styles. These a each originate from a different city in the province:  Hangzhou style, characterized by rich variations and the use of bamboo shoots  Shaoxing style, specializing in poultry and freshwater fish  Ningbo style, specializing in seafood

13 谢谢收看

Download ppt "Introduction Chuan (Sichuan) Hui (Anhui) Lu (Shandong) Min (Fujian) Su (Jiangsu, Huaiyang cuisine) Yue (Hong Kong and Guangdong) Xiang (Hunan) Xinjiang."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google