Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

You Make the Call Game Situations with Rule Justification.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "You Make the Call Game Situations with Rule Justification."— Presentation transcript:

1 You Make the Call Game Situations with Rule Justification

2 Situation 1 Runner on first base, less then two outs, two strikes on batter, who swings at the pitch which hits him/her. Is the batter out?

3 Situation 1 Yes – Rule 2.00-STRIKE (e) & 6.05(e). The old myth comes back to haunt you if you got this one wrong. The hands are NOT part of the bat. We do not know of a manufacturer that makes bats with hands on them. Swinging strike three, ball is dead and runner on first stays on first.

4 Situation 2 Runner going from second to third base falls over the shortstop that was standing in the base line fielding a batted ball. The third baseman tags the runner with the ball. Is the runner out?

5 Situation 2 Yes – Rule 7.08(b) & 7.09(1). The base runner must give ground to a defensive player who is making a play on a batted ball. The runner is out whether it is deemed intentional or not intentional.

6 Situation 3 Fielder throws his/her glove at a fair batted ball but does not hit the ball. How many bases should be awarded?

7 Situation 3 None – Rule 7.05(c). The rule only penalizes a defensive player if the ball is TOUCHED by the thrown glove.

8 Situation 4 Pitcher makes a wild pitch which goes out of the playing field. Should all runners on base advance: ONE, TWO or THREE Bases?

9 Situation 4 One – Rule 7.05 (h). One from the rubber and two from the field is the old adage and still (for the most part) applies.

10 With no runners on base, pitcher raises his/her pivot foot in the act of delivering a pitch. Is this a balk? Situation 5

11 No – Rule 8.05. However, it would be one of two illegal pitches that are outlined in 8.05 (e) & (g). You may also want to review rule 2.00 – ILLEGAL PITCH. Situation 5

12 Batted ball strikes foul line between home and first base then rolls fair before reaching first base. Is this a FAIR ball or FOUL ball? Situation 6

13 Fair – Rule 2.00. Review your definition of a fair ball. A batted ball that settles on fair ground between home and first base is a fair ball. Situation 6

14 Fielder is standing in fair territory when a fly ball touches his/her glove which is just outside of the foul line. Is this a FAIR ball or FOUL ball? Situation 7

15 Foul – Rule 2.00. A fair/foul fly shall be adjudged according to the relative position of the ball and the foul line, not as to whether the fielder is on fair or foul territory at the time such fielder touches the ball. Situation 7

16 Outfielder catches a fly ball then immediately collides with another outfielder, dropping the ball. Is the batter SAFE or OUT? Situation 8

17 Safe – Rule 2.00 – CATCH. It is not a catch if the fielder collides with a player, or with a wall, or if that fielder falls down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drops the ball. Situation 8

18 With two strikes on batter, batter fouls a pitch which strikes catcher’s chest protector. Catcher grabs the rebound, before the ball falls to the round. Is the batter out? Situation 9

19 No – Rule 2.00 – FOUL TIP. Sharp and direct from the bat to the catchers hand or mitt and anything else is a foul ball. Situation 9

20 Lineups have been announced. Before the game starts, the manager changes his/her shortstop. Is this allowed? Situation 10

21 Yes – Rule 3.03. Starting players have reentry rights by rule. So a starter (other than a pitcher) may come out for a sub anytime, even before the game starts and then reenter to fulfill his/her mandatory play. Situation 10

22 Batter hits a home run after which it is discovered he/she had used an illegal bat. Home run is disallowed. RIGHT or WRONG? Situation 11

23 Wrong – Rule 4.19(a). Illegal equipment is removed from the game and all action that resulted from the use of the illegal equipment remains. Home run stands and bat removed. Situation 11

24 Player in starting lineup is replaced by substitute in bottom of second inning. Another substitute replaces the first substitute at the start of the third inning. In what inning can the original player re-enter the game? Situation 12

25 None – Rule 3.03. Starting players may not return to the line up until their substitute plays six (6) consecutive outs and bats at least once; in this case the first sub has not and can not get his/her six (6) outs and will not have batted at least once meaning the starter cannot return in this game. Situation 12

26 In how many situations can a run score when the third out is made on a force play? Situation 13

27 None – Rule 4.09(a) EXCEPTIONS: (2). The rule is pretty cut and dry in that it specifically says no runs will score when the third out of the inning is a force play out. Situation 13

28 Batter with a count of two balls and one strike is removed for another batter. Does the count on the new batter start over? Situation 14

29 No – Rule 6.01 NOTE outlines if the third out of the inning is made while that batter is at bat the count will start over, but not when one batter takes the place of another during an at bat. Situation 14

30 Bases full, two out, batter hits ball over fence for home run. Batter misses first base. Proper appeal is made. How many runs score? Situation 15

31 None – Rule 7.10(b) & 4.09(a) EXCEPTIONS(1). As mentioned above no runs will score when the third out of the inning is made on the batter runner before touching first base and the defense initiates a proper appeal.

32 Batter hits illegal pitch and is thrown out at first base. Does the out stand? Situation 16

33 No – Rule 8.05 PENALTY. The umpire should approach the manager of the offensive team and advise him/her that there is an option on this play. The manager would take the results of the play or the penalty for the illegal pitch. Situation 16

34 Fair batted ball hits the base runner standing on third base. The umpire calls runner out. Is the umpire correct? Situation 17

35 Yes – Rule 7.08 (f). Another one of those myths. The base does not protect a runner from being called out when hit with a fair batted ball before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching a base when touched by an Infield Fly, that runner is not out, although the batter is out. Situation 17

36 Runners on first and third, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to centerfield which is caught. Runner on first left when the batter hit the ball and before he could return, is doubled at first. Runner on third crosses plate before out is made at first. Does the run score? Situation 18

37 Yes – Rule 2.00 – FORCE PLAY, 4.09 EXCEPTIONS & 7.10(a). While most appeals must be verbal so the umpire knows the defense is aware of a base running infraction this play does not have to be verbal because the actions of the defense lets the umpire know that they know the runner on first did not tag up. The base runner on first base was REQUIRED to tag up but when the batter was out on the catch of the fly ball the force was removed and this becomes a TIMING play. If the runner on third tags or touches home plate before the ball gets to the first baseman for the out at first the run would count. Situation 18

38 Runners on second and third, two out. Batter hits clean double and is thrown out attempting to stretch the hit into a triple. Runner on second left too soon. How many runs score? Situation 19

39 None – Rule 7.13. In this case the batter- runner was thrown out thus opening up bases in which to return runners because of leaving early. Return both runners to second and third and remove the runs from the book. The violation by one base runner shall affect all other base runners. Situation 19

40 Runner on first, batter hits ground ball to first baseman who steps on first base then throws to shortstop standing on second base, the ball arriving ahead of the runner. Umpire rules runner out. Is the umpire correct? Situation 20

41 Wrong – Rule 2.00 – FORCE PLAY. By stepping on first base the defense team has removed the force and to get the out at second the base runner would need to be tagged. Situation 20

42 It is the top of the fifth inning. The first batter walks. The next batter doubles to right. The umpire realizes that there has been no left fielder since the inning started. Do you.... allow the runners to remain on base or do you start the inning over? Situation 21

43 Rule 1.01/4.17 - No action may take place with less than nine defensive players on the field. The inning starts over. Situation 21

44 The batter hits a line drive up the middle. The ball strikes the rubber and deflects directly into the dugout between first base and home. What's the award? Situation 22

45 Rule 2.00 Definitions. It's a foul ball! There's no award! Situation 22

46 MYTH #1 "The hands are part of the bat."If a batter is hit on the hands while swinging at a pitch, or while his/her hands are in the strike zone, it is a strike. OTHERWISE, it is a hit batter and he/she gets first base. In all cases the ball is dead and no runners may advance. See Rule 2.00 BALL, PERSON, STRIKE (e),(f), TOUCH, also Rule 6.08(b). THE HANDS ARE PART OF THE PERSON.

47 "He/she held the ball for 2 seconds before he/she dropped it. That's a catch." The length of time the ball is held has nothing to do with the determination of a catch. The release of the ball must be VOLUNTARY and INTENTIONAL. See Rule 2.00 CATCH. The fielder must prove that he/she had COMPLETE control of the ball before releasing it. MYTH #2

48 "Removing the batting helmet intentionally while running the bases will result in a team warning and the next player to commit the infraction will be ejected. NO out is called." MYTH #3

49 MYTH: This type of thing does not happen very often and does not warrant an ejection. A reminder to the offensive team is usually enough to stop this when it happens. Usually it will happen and the offensive player does not realize that they have done it. Remind your equipment manager to get the teams helmets that fit. MYTH #3 cont.

50 "As the pitcher delivers the pitch, waving or waggling the bat while in a bunt stance is not allowed. This interferes with the catcher and is dangerous in Little League. The umpire shall warn the player and the bench. Interference could be called on the batter if the umpire judges that this hindered a play by the catcher." MYTH #4

51 MYTH: A real stretch of Rule 9.01(c). There is no way you can call interference on the batter. FORGET this application of rule 9.01(c), you have other legitimate things to worry about. MYTH #4 cont.

Download ppt "You Make the Call Game Situations with Rule Justification."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google