Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

COSMETICS The cosmetics industry is largely self regulated, and, as a result, many products can be harmful to the consumer’s health. As of February 2007,

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "COSMETICS The cosmetics industry is largely self regulated, and, as a result, many products can be harmful to the consumer’s health. As of February 2007,"— Presentation transcript:

1 COSMETICS The cosmetics industry is largely self regulated, and, as a result, many products can be harmful to the consumer’s health. As of February 2007, the FDA has announced that warning labels must be posted. The European Union has banned 450 chemicals altogether. The U.S.A. has banned nine. States, such as California, have begun to ban certain chemicals. The following chart identifies potentially harmful chemicals which have not yet been banned.

2

3 " Best Option" Cosmetics Companies The following companies have signed the Compact for Safe Cosmetics and either use organic ingredients or are members of Green America’s Green Business Network™. For a complete list of compact signers, visit www.safecosmetics.orgwww.safecosmetics.org H=Hair Care, S=Skin Care, M=Make-up, B=Baby Products Companies With Organic Products S, Akamuti — +0845-458-9242, www.akamuti.co.ukwww.akamuti.co.uk H S, Aubrey Organics — 800/237-4270, www.aubreyorganics.com/coop www.aubreyorganics.com/coop H S, Avalon Natural Products — www.avalonnaturalproducts.com www.avalonnaturalproducts.com H S M, Canary Cosmetics — www.canarycosmetics.comwww.canarycosmetics.com S, Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps — 760/743-2211, www.drbronner.com www.drbronner.com S, Dropwise Essentials — 866/418-1682, www.dropwise.comwww.dropwise.com

4 S B, Earth Mama Angel Baby — 503/638-0487, www.earthmamaangelbaby.com www.earthmamaangelbaby.com H S M, EccoBella Botanicals — 877/696-2200, www.eccobella.com www.eccobella.com S, Eco-Beauty Organics — 208/267-9819, www.eco- beauty.comwww.eco- beauty.com H, EcoColors — 877/852-4515, www.ecocolors.netwww.ecocolors.net S M, Evan's Garden/Organic Beauty Inc. — 727/449-0900, www.evansgarden.comwww.evansgarden.com S, Farmaesthetics — 800/711-9194, www.farmaesthetics.com www.farmaesthetics.com S, Ferlow Botannicals — 604/322-4080, www.ferlowbotanicals.com www.ferlowbotanicals.com

5 BEST OPTIONS CONTINUED M, Suncoat Products — 519/820-5468, www.suncoatproducts.com www.suncoatproducts.com H S B, TerrEssentials — 301/371-7333, www.terressentials.com www.terressentials.com S, Spirit of Beauty — 425/453-0244, www.nutritionskincare.com www.nutritionskincare.com Natural Products Companies That Are Also CABN MembersCABN S, A Wild Texas Soap Bar — 512/272-4058, www.awildtexassoapbar.com www.awildtexassoapbar.com S, Indigo-Daisy-Shack — 702/807-6402, www.indigo-daisy- shack.comwww.indigo-daisy- shack.com S, Osea Skin Care — 888/367-6732

6 BEST OPTIONS CONTINUED S M, Honeybee Gardens, Inc. — 610/396-9225, www.honeybeegardens.comwww.honeybeegardens.com H S, Inky Loves Nature — www.inkylovesnature.comwww.inkylovesnature.com S, Juice Beauty — 888/90-JUICE, www.juicebeauty.comwww.juicebeauty.com S, Marie-Veronique Skin THerapy — www.m-vskintherapy.comwww.m-vskintherapy.com H S, Max Green Alchemy Ltd. — 415/863-4155, www.maxgreenalchemy.comwww.maxgreenalchemy.com S, Moonshine Soap Co. — www.moonshinesoap.comwww.moonshinesoap.com S, Naturopathica Holistic Health — 800/592-7995 www.naturopathica.comwww.naturopathica.com S B, Plant Life, Inc. — 888/708-PURE, www.plantlife.netwww.plantlife.net H S M B, Saffron Rouge, Inc. — 866/FACE-CARE, www.saffronrouge.comwww.saffronrouge.com S, Sensua Organics — 800/983-1993, www.sensuaorganics.comwww.sensuaorganics.com S M, Sevi Cosmetics — 410/766-5151, www.sevikay.comwww.sevikay.com H S, SMB Essentials/Lotus Moon Skin Care — 888/762-2667, www.lotusmoon.bizwww.lotusmoon.biz S, Spirit of Beauty — 425/453-0244, www.nutritionskincare.comwww.nutritionskincare.com H S, Spiritus Terrae — 877/PURITY2, www.naturepurity.comwww.naturepurity.com S, Sue's Slaves — www.suesalves.comwww.suesalves.com S, Suki's Naturals — 888/858-SUKI, www.sukisnaturals.comwww.sukisnaturals.com

7 BEST ADVICE Be aware that U.S. cosmetics companies are largely self- regulated. Check the ingredients. The fewer there are, the safer the product is. Mrs. McClintock


Download ppt "COSMETICS The cosmetics industry is largely self regulated, and, as a result, many products can be harmful to the consumer’s health. As of February 2007,"

Similar presentations


Ads by Google