Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Literature Circle. Rank Your Selections  Rank the titles being discussed from 1-6  1 will be the title you want to read the most.  6 will be the title.

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "Literature Circle. Rank Your Selections  Rank the titles being discussed from 1-6  1 will be the title you want to read the most.  6 will be the title."— Presentation transcript:

1 Literature Circle

2 Rank Your Selections  Rank the titles being discussed from 1-6  1 will be the title you want to read the most.  6 will be the title that you would prefer not to read.  I will try as hard as possible to get you the novel you wish to read. I have between copies of each so there is a limited number of novels.

3 The Hunger Games COULD YOU SURVIVE ON YOUR OWN, IN THE WILD, WITH EVERYONE FIGHTING AGAINST YOU? Twenty-four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives. In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Each year, the districts are forced by the Capitol to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the Hunger Games, a brutal and terrifying fight to the death – televised for all of Panem to see.

4 The Hunger Games continued Survival is second nature for sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who struggles to feed her mother and younger sister by secretly hunting and gathering beyond the fences of District 12. When Katniss steps in to take the place of her sister in the Hunger Games, she knows it may be her death sentence. If she is to survive, she must weigh survival against humanity and life against love. Length: 374 pages

5 Along for the Ride Riding a bike is only one of the many things Auden’s missed out on. Even before her parents’ divorce, she was cast in the role of little adult, never making waves, focusing on academics to please her demanding mother.

6 Along for the Ride Now she’s spending the summer before college in the tiny beach town of Colby with her father and his new wife and baby. A job in a trendy boutique introduces her to the world of girls, their friendships, conversations, romances. And then there’s Eli, an intriguing loner. A former star on the bike circuit and a fellow insomniac, Eli introduces Auden to the nocturnal world of Colby. Together they embark on a quest: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she’s been denied; for Eli, to put a tragic episode behind him. Combine two lonely people with a charming beach town and an endless supply of long summer nights, and just about anything can happen. Length: 394 Pages

7 The Boy in the Striped Pajamas The story of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is very difficult to describe. Usually we give some clues about the book on the jacket, but in this case we think that would spoil the reading of the book. We think it is important that you start to read without knowing what it is about. If you do start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nine-year-old boy called Bruno (though this isn't a book for nine-year-olds) And sooner or later you will arrive with Bruno at a fence. Fences like this exist all over the world. We hope you never have to cross such a fence. Length: 215 pages

8 Jump. That is what P.K. has done. A totally wild, crazy jump from a restrictive life with her family into a life of total adventure—rock-climbing out west with a guy she barely knows. At first, everything’s amazing. Not only are they climbing in awesomely beautiful national parks like Yosemite but they seem awesomely made for one another. P.K. is in heaven. And then the cops show up... with an arrest warrant. And P.K. has to decide who to believe: this amazing guy whom she trusts with her life—or the cops, who want her to believe that he may take her life. Length: 272 pages Jump

9 Chains As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight...for freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, she and her sister, Ruth, in a cruel twist of fate become the property of a malicious New York City couple, the Locktons, who have no sympathy for the American Revolution and even less for Ruth and Isabel. When Isabel meets Curzon, a slave with ties to the Patriots, he encourages her to spy on her owners, who know details of British plans for invasion. She is reluctant at first, but when the unthinkable happens to Ruth, Isabel realizes her loyalty is available to the bidder who can provide her with freedom.

10 Chains From acclaimed author Laurie Halse Anderson comes this compelling, impeccably researched novel that shows the lengths we can go to cast off chains, both physical and spiritual. 300 pages

11 The Maze Runner Thomas is brought into a place known as the Glade with no previous memories of his life or the outside world. All he remembers is his name. He and the 50 other teenage boys inside the Glade call themselves Gladers, and they have developed a community in which every Glader is assigned to his own job. The Glade is surrounded by a giant Maze where vicious, slug-like creatures with several mechanical like arms known as Grievers roam at night. Massive walls known as the Doors surrounding the Glade protect the Gladers from these creatures by sliding closed every night.

12 The Maze Runner Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human. When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone. Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade. Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive. Everything is going to change. Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying. Remember. Survive. Run. 374 pages


Download ppt "Literature Circle. Rank Your Selections  Rank the titles being discussed from 1-6  1 will be the title you want to read the most.  6 will be the title."

Similar presentations


Ads by Google