Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Native Vote Post-Election Webinar November 8, 2012.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Native Vote Post-Election Webinar November 8, 2012."— Presentation transcript:

1 Native Vote Post-Election Webinar November 8, 2012

2 Webinar overview  Native Vote Campaign  What happened?  Why did it happen?  What does it mean?  State specific results and stories  Looking to 2014 and beyond

3 Native Vote 2012 Focus States*  Alaska  Arizona  Colorado  Florida  Iowa  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Montana  Nevada  New Mexico  North Carolina  North Dakota  Oklahoma  Oregon  South Dakota  Washington  Wisconsin *Determined by American Indian/Alaska Native population and impact of Native vote on congressional, state, and local races.

4 State Elections

5 State Ballot Initiatives Affecting Indian Country

6 WHY did it happen? Roughly 6 in 10 voters said that the economy was the top issue deciding their vote. Source:

7 Source:

8 2012 Exit Poll Top Issues Source:

9 Demographics made a big difference Source: Obama’s Acceptance Speech “…in the coming weeks and months, I am looking forward to reaching out and working with leaders of both parties to meet the challenges we can only solve together. Reducing our deficit. Reforming our tax code. Fixing our immigration system.”

10 Sex and Race in the Elections 2012 Source:

11 2008, 2010, and 2012 Election Insights The electorate was younger than 2010 Voters201220102008 65+ years16%23%15% 18-29 years 19%11%18% White72%78%74% Source:: and -poll

12 2008, 2010, and 2012 Election Insights The electorate was more liberal than 2008 and 2010 Source:: and Ideology of Voters201220102008 Conservative34%41%34% Moderate41%39%44% Liberal25%20%22%

13 President’s Agenda “Tonight you voted for action, not politics as usual.” - President Obama, 2012 Acceptance Speech

14 New Congressional Leadership

15 House Leadership Speaker of the House John Boehner (R-OH) Republican Leadership Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-VA) Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) Republican Conference Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) Republican Policy Committee Chairman Tom Price (R-GA) Democratic Leadership Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer (D-MD) Assistant Democratic Leader James Clyburn (D-SC) Democratic Caucus Chairman John Larson (D-CT) Xavier Becerra (D-CA)

16 Senate Leadership Constitutionally Mandated Officers Vice PresidentPresident Pro Tempore Biden, Joseph R., Jr. Inouye, Daniel K. (D-HI), Political Party Leaders Majority Party Minority Party Majority Leader Majority Whip Democratic Conference Committee Chair Democratic Conference Committee Vice Chair Democratic Conference Secretary Reid, Harry(D-NV ) Durbin, Richard J.(D-IL) Reid, Harry(D-NV) Schumer, Charles E.(D-NY) Murray, Patty (D-WA) Minority Leader Minority Whip Republican Conference Chair Republican Policy Committee Chair Republican Conference Vice Chair McConnell, Mitch (R-KY) Kyl, Jon (R-AZ) Thune, John(R-SD) Barrasso, John (R-WY) Blunt, Roy(R-MO)

17 House Committees Appropriations Committee Chair:Hal Rogers (R-KY) Ranking Member:Retiring: Norm Dicks (D-WA) Possible picks: Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio) or Nita Lowey (D- N.Y.) Natural Resources Committee Chair:Doc Hastings (RWA), Retiring. Will be replaced by Rob Bishop (R-UT) Ranking Member:Ed Markey (DMA)

18 House Committees Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior and Environment Chair:Mike Simpson (R-ID) Ranking Member:Jim Moran (D-VA) Education and Labor Committee Chair:John Kline (R-MN) Ranking Member:George Miller (D-CA)

19 House Committees Agriculture Chair:Frank Lucas (R-OK) Ranking Member:Colin Peterson (D-MN) Budget Chair:Paul Ryan Ranking Member:Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

20 House Committees Energy and Commerce Chair:Fred Upton (R-MI) Ranking Member:Henry Waxman (D-CA) Judiciary Chair:Lamar Smith (R-TX) ( Term limited and may be replaced by Bob Goodlatte (R- VA)). Ranking Member:John Conyers (D-MI)

21 House Committees Transportation and Infrastructure Chair:John Mica (R-FL) replaced with Bill Shuster (R-PA) Ranking Member:Nick Rahall (D-WV) Ways and Means Chair:Dave Camp (R-MI) Ranking Member:Sander Levin (D-MI) Financial Services Chair:Spencer Bachus (R-AL), ( Term limited and may be replaced by Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)). Ranking Member:Barney Frank (D-MA) is retiring, will be replaced by Maxine Waters (DCA)

22 Senate Committees Appropriations Chair:Daniel Inouye (DHI) Ranking Member:Thad Cochran (R-MS) will be replaced by Richard Shelby (R-AL) Indian Affairs Chair:Dan Akaka’s (D-HI) retirement, replaced by Maria Cantwell(D-WA) Ranking Member:Jon Barrasso(R-WY)

23 Senate Committees Budget Chair:Kent Conrad (D-ND) Ranking Member:Jeff Sessions (R-AL) Energy and Natural Resources Chair:Jeff Bingaman (D-NM) Ranking Member:Lisa Murkowski (RAK)

24 Senate Committees Banking Chair:Tim Johnson (D-SD) Ranking Member:Richard Shelby (R-AL) Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Chair:Tom Harkin (D-IA) Ranking Member:Mike Enzi (R-WY)

Download ppt "Native Vote Post-Election Webinar November 8, 2012."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google