Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.


Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Part 2: FOCUS ON THE lEARNER"— Presentation transcript:

Educ Facilitating Learning Melanie Jeane C. Galvez Ateneo de Davao University

2 Piaget’s Stages of Cognitive Development
The principal goal of education is to create men (people) who are capable of doing new things, not simply repeating what other generations have done – men (people) who are creative, iInventive and discoverers. Jean Piaget

3 Cognitive Concepts Schema Assimilation Accommodation

4 Cognitive Concepts Assimilation Accommodation Equilibrium

5 Stages of Development 4 3 2 1 Formal Operational Concrete Operational
Sensori-motor Pre-operational Concrete Operational Formal Operational 3 2 1 -hypothetical -analogical -deductive -decentering -reversibility -conservation -seriation -symbolic function -egocentrism -centration -reversibility -animism -transductive reasoning Object permanence

6 Principles (Piaget’s Theory)
Children provide different explanations of reality at different stages Cognitive development is facilitated by providing activities or situations that engage learners and require adaptation Learning materials and activities should involve the appropriate level of motor and mental operations for a child at a given age Use teaching methods that actively involve students and present challenges

7 Piagetian-based Learning Activity Plan
Instructions: Read the matrices found in the book Make a simple Piagetian-based learning activity plan Formulate learning objectives Pick 2-3 applications from the matrix to help achieve the objectives you make Subject: Lesson Topic: Grade/Year Level: Objectives Application Specific Activity plan Highlight significant events in Rizal’s life Provide timelines for history class Ask students to make a timeline of Rizal’s life

8 Erikson’s Psycho-Social Theory of Development
Healthy children will not fear life if their elders have integrity enough not to fear death. Erik Erikson

9 Sensory maladjustment
Stage 1 Infancy Too much trust Too little mistrust Sensory maladjustment Trust vs. Mistrust Withdrawal Hope & Drive

10 Will power & Determination
Stage 2 Toddler hood Too much shame Too little doubt Impulsiveness Autonomy vs. Shame & Doubt Compulsiveness Will power & Determination

11 Stage 3 Preschool Initiative vs. Guilt Purpose & Direction
Too much initiative Too little guilt Ruthlessness Initiative vs. Guilt Sociopathy Purpose & Direction

12 Stage 4 School Age Industry vs. Inferiority Competency
Too much industry Too little inferiority Narrow virtuosity Industry vs. Inferiority Inertia Competency

13 Identity vs Identity Confusion
Stage 5 Adolescence Too little Identity confusion Too much identity Ego Identity Identity vs Identity Confusion Repudiation Fidelity & Devotion

14 Stage 6 Young Adulthood Intimacy vs. Isolation Love & Affiliation
Too much intimacy Too little isolation Promiscuity Intimacy vs. Isolation Exclusion Love & Affiliation

15 Stage 7 Care Middle Adulthood Generativity vs. Stagnation
Too much generativity Too little stagnation Overextension Generativity vs. Stagnation Rejectivity Care

16 Stage 8 Wisdom Late Adulthood Integrity vs. Despair Presumption
Too much integrity Too little despair Presumption Integrity vs. Despair Disdain Wisdom

17 Synthesis of concepts Infancy Hope & Drive
Life Stage/ Psychosocial Crisis Significant Relationship Virtue Suggestions for the Teacher Infancy Hope & Drive What teachers should do in order to facilitate learning and development of virtues in each stage Toddlerhood Willpower & Self Control Preschool Purpose & Direction School Age Competence & Method Adolescent Period Fidelity & Devotion Young Adult Love & Affiliation

Download ppt "Part 2: FOCUS ON THE lEARNER"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google