Presentation on theme: "Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration Unit 2: Advanced Word 2007: Business Communications."— Presentation transcript:
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration Unit 2: Advanced Word 2007: Business Communications
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration When the Track Changes feature is turned on, each person working with the document can make revisions in different colors. Insertions, or added text, might be underlined in red ink color, while deletions, or text that has been removed from the document, are marked up with strikethrough text or a double underline. You can also specify whether deletions and comments, or questions about the text, appear in a balloon in the margin.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration If more than one person has made changes to a document, you can show or hide each reviewer’s changes. You may want to do this if you do not want reviewers to see each other’s changes or comments. If reviewers’ changes conflict with each other this feature is helpful because you can compare each person’s changes independently before you decide which changes to accept and which to reject.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration If tracked changes, or markup, have been added to a document, you can preview the final document to see what it would look like if you accepted all the changes. You can choose to accept or reject each revision, or you can modify the changes before accepting them. Accepted changes appear in black ink. Rejected changes are deleted. Use the Reviewing Pane to ensure that all tracked deletions, insertions, and formatting changes have been removed from a document before you share it with others.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration Word allows you to track changes made to the formatting of text and graphics. You can also track whether text has been moved to or from another section of a document. You can specify that you want to Track Moves and Track Formatting using the Track Changes Options.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration If you want to prevent people from making certain changes to a document, you can set restrictions. Formatting restrictions prevent people from changing the formatting of a document. Editing restrictions specify the types of content changes that can be made to the document. In order to enforce formatting or editing restrictions, you must use the Protect Document feature.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration You may set the editing restrictions of a document to allow no changes or to allow users to add only comments. However, you can revise these restrictions by changing select parts of the document to allow edits. You can also exempt, or excuse, specific users from the restrictions so that they can edit those sections while others cannot. If the document is protected, you must unprotect it before changing its editing restrictions.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration You can apply a password, or string of characters used to protect a document. The password prevents people from changing formatting and editing restrictions.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration If you want to merge revisions from multiple authors, you can compare and combine multiple versions, or variants, of a document into one combined document.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration Before you share a copy of a document with others, use Mark as Final command to make the document read-only and prevent any further changes to it.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration You can also create a document in Word 2007 and decide to convert or save it to an older version of Word. Word 2007 works with previous versions of Word. To use all of the new features and functionality with an older document, you must first convert the document to a Word 2007 format. You can use the Compatibility Checker to ensure that the document will still be compatible with earlier versions of Word without losing any data.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration Before you share a document with others, you can inspect the document for hidden data or personal information in the document or in its properties using the Document Inspector. The document might reveal details about your organization or its members that should not be shared publicly or if there were several people that worked on the document it might also contain comments and markup that you do not want others to see.
Lesson 3: Advanced Collaboration You can attach an invisible digital signature to a document that you send to ensure that the document came from you. You must first obtain, or create, a digital certificate, which is an attachment that verifies the identity of the sender. Adding signature lines allow users to paperlessly “sign” important documents, such as contracts and other business agreements.
Your consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website.