Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Our Solar System.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Our Solar System."— Presentation transcript:

1 Our Solar System

2 Our Solar System Our solar system is ancient.
Early astronomers believed that Earth was the center of the universe and all other heavenly bodies orbited around Earth.

3 Our Solar System We now know that our sun is the center of our solar system. The eight planets, a handful of dwarf planets, 170 named moons, dust, gas, and thousands of asteroids and comets orbit around the sun.

4 The Planets Our solar system is made up of eight planets.
They are: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

5 Terrestrial Planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars are considered terrestrial planets. Terrestrial planet: a planet that is small, rocky, and close to the sun.

6 Planets That are Gas Giants
Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are called gas giants. Gas giants are made up of different combinations of gasses. These gasses are mainly helium, hydrogen, and water.

7 What About Pluto? Pluto has been reclassified by scientists from a planet to a dwarf planet. This means that we now have 8 planets in our solar system!

8 Mercury Mercury is now the smallest planet in our solar system since Pluto is no longer classified as a planet. Mercury is closest to the sun and is a small, heavily cratered planet. Mercury looks like our moon.

9 Venus Venus is second from the sun.
It is similar to Earth in size and mass, and has a permanent blanket of clouds. The blanket of clouds trap so much heat that the temperatures on the surface of Venus are hot enough to melt lead.

10 Earth Earth is third from the sun.
Earth’s atmosphere, the liquid water found on Earth, and its distance from the sun, among many other factors, make Earth a haven for life.

11 Mars Mars is fourth from the sun.
The atmosphere on Mars is thin and there is a vast network of canyons and riverbeds on the red planet. Scientists hypothesize that Mars once supported a wet, warm Earth-like climate.

12 Jupiter Jupiter is fifth from the sun.
Jupiter is the largest planet in the solar system. Jupiter is considered a gas giant. Jupiter has no solid surface.

13 Saturn Saturn is sixth from the sun.
Early scientists thought Saturn was the only planet with rings, but we now know that all four gas giants (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune) have rings!

14 Uranus Uranus is seventh from the sun. Uranus is a gas giant.

15 Neptune Neptune is eighth from the sun.
Neptune appears blue through telescopes and is a gas giant.

16 Planets in Order from the Sun
1st – Mercury (closest) 2nd – Venus 3rd – Earth 4th – Mars 5th – Jupiter 6th – Saturn 7th – Uranus 8th – Neptune (farthest)

17 Science and Math Together! Planets from Largest to Smallest in Size
The eight planets sorted by size from largest to smallest are: Jupiter (largest) Saturn Uranus Neptune Earth Venus Mars Mercury (smallest)

18 More About Pluto Remember, Pluto is now considered a dwarf planet.
Pluto is smaller than seven of the moons in our solar system and cannot be seen without a telescope.

19 What differentiates a Dwarf Planet from a Planet?
For the most part, they are identical, but there is one key difference. A dwarf planet has not "cleared the neighborhood" around its orbit. This means it has not become gravitationally dominant and it shares its orbital space with other bodies of a similar size.

Download ppt "Our Solar System."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google