Presentation on theme: "Dr. A. K. Dey1 Inventory Management, Supply Contracts and Risk Pooling Dr. A. K. Dey."— Presentation transcript:
Dr. A. K. Dey1 Inventory Management, Supply Contracts and Risk Pooling Dr. A. K. Dey
2 Outline of the Presentation Introduction to Inventory Management The Effect of Demand Uncertainty (s,S) Policy Periodic Review Policy Supply Contracts Risk Pooling Centralized vs. Decentralized Systems Practical Issues in Inventory Management
Dr. A. K. Dey3 Inventory Where do we hold inventory? Suppliers and manufacturers warehouses and distribution centers retailers Types of Inventory WIP raw materials finished goods Why do we hold inventory? Economies of scale Uncertainty in supply and demand Lead Time, Capacity limitations
Dr. A. K. Dey4 Goals: Reduce Cost, Improve Service By effectively managing inventory: Xerox eliminated $700 million inventory from its supply chain Wal-Mart became the largest retail company utilizing efficient inventory management GM has reduced parts inventory and transportation costs by 26% annually
Dr. A. K. Dey5 Goals: Reduce Cost, Improve Service By not managing inventory successfully In 1994, “IBM continues to struggle with shortages in their ThinkPad line” (WSJ, Oct 7, 1994) In 1993, “Liz Claiborne said its unexpected earning decline is the consequence of higher than anticipated excess inventory” (WSJ, July 15, 1993) In 1993, “Dell Computers predicts a loss; Stock plunges. Dell acknowledged that the company was sharply off in its forecast of demand, resulting in inventory write downs” (WSJ, August 1993)
Dr. A. K. Dey6 Understanding Inventory 1. The inventory policy is affected by: Demand Characteristics Lead Time Number of Products Objectives Service level Minimize costs Cost Structure
Dr. A. K. Dey7 Cost Structure Order costs Fixed Variable Holding Costs Insurance Maintenance and Handling Taxes Opportunity Costs Obsolescence
Dr. A. K. Dey8 EOQ: A Simple Model Book Store Mug Sales Demand is constant, at 20 units a week Fixed order cost of $12.00, no lead time Holding cost of 25% of inventory value annually Mugs cost $1.00, sell for $5.00 Question How many, when to order?
Dr. A. K. Dey9 EOQ: A View of Inventory Note: No Stockouts Order when no inventory Order Size determines policy Inventory Order Size Avg. Inven Time
Dr. A. K. Dey10 EOQ: Calculating Total Cost Purchase Cost Constant Holding Cost: (Avg. Inven) * (Holding Cost) Ordering (Setup Cost): Number of Orders * Order Cost Goal: Find the Order Quantity that Minimizes These Costs:
Dr. A. K. Dey11 EOQ: Total Cost
Dr. A. K. Dey12 EOQ: Optimal Order Quantity Optimal Quantity = [(2*Demand*Setup Cost)/holding cost] So for our problem The optimal quantity is 316
Dr. A. K. Dey13 EOQ: Important Observations Tradeoff between set-up costs and holding costs when determining order quantity. In fact, we order so that these costs are equal per unit time Total Cost is not particularly sensitive to the optimal order quantity
Dr. A. K. Dey14 The Effect of Demand Uncertainty Most companies treat the world as if it were predictable: Production and inventory planning are based on forecasts of demand made far in advance of the selling season Companies are aware of demand uncertainty when they create a forecast, but they design their planning process as if the forecast truly represents reality Recent technological advances have increased the level of demand uncertainty: Short product life cycles Increasing product variety
Dr. A. K. Dey15 Demand Forecast The three principles of all forecasting techniques: Forecasting is always wrong The longer the forecast horizon the worst is the forecast Aggregate forecasts are more accurate
Dr. A. K. Dey16 Swim Suit Sporting Goods Fashion items have short life cycles, high variety of competitors Swim Suit Sporting Goods New designs are completed One production opportunity Based on past sales, knowledge of the industry, and economic conditions, the marketing department has a probabilistic forecast The forecast averages about 13,000, but there is a chance that demand will be greater or less than this.
Dr. A. K. Dey17 Supply Chain Time Lines Jan 00Jan 01Jan 02 Feb 00 Sep 00Sep 01 DesignProductionRetailing Feb 01 Production
Dr. A. K. Dey18 Swim Suit Demand Scenarios
Dr. A. K. Dey19 Swim Suit Costs Production cost per unit (C): $80 Selling price per unit (S): $125 Salvage value per unit (V): $20 Fixed production cost (F): $100,000 Q is production quantity, D demand Profit = Revenue - Variable Cost - Fixed Cost + Salvage
Dr. A. K. Dey20 Swim Suit Scenarios DemandProbability Average13100
Dr. A. K. Dey21 Key questions What is the best production quantity? How much is the profit if there is no beginning inventory, manufacturer produces swimsuits while the demand is swimsuits? Calculate the profit if the company produces swimsuits and the demand is for swimsuits.
Dr. A. K. Dey22 Swim Suit Scenarios Scenario One: Suppose you make 12,000 jackets and demand ends up being 13,000 jackets. Profit = 125(12,000) - 80(12,000) - 100,000 = $440,000 Scenario Two: Suppose you make 12,000 jackets and demand ends up being 11,000 jackets. Profit = 125(11,000) - 80(12,000) - 100, (1000) = $ 335,000
Dr. A. K. Dey23 Key questions What is the weighted average profit if the company makes 9000 swimsuits? And if it makes swim suits?
Dr. A. K. Dey24 Weighted Average Profit for 9000 Swim Suits Make 9000 Swim Suits DemandProb Revenue 125 Variable cost 80 Fixed Cost Salvage Value 20 Profit Weighted Average Total Expected Profit293450
Dr. A. K. Dey25 Weighted Average Profit for Swim Suits Make Swim Suits DemandProb Revenue 125 Variable cost 80 Fixed Cost Salvage Value 20 Profit Weighted Average Total Expected Profit295550
Dr. A. K. Dey26 Swim Suit Best Solution Find order quantity that maximizes weighted average profit. Question: Will this quantity be less than, equal to, or greater than average demand?
Dr. A. K. Dey27 What to Make? Question: Will this quantity be less than, equal to, or greater than average demand? Average demand is 13,100 Look at marginal cost Vs. marginal profit if extra jacket sold, profit is = 45 if not sold, cost is = 60 So we will make less than average
Dr. A. K. Dey28 Swim Suit Expected Profit
Dr. A. K. Dey29 Swim Suit Expected Profit – same for 9000 & 16000
Dr. A. K. Dey30 Effect of Initial Inventory Suppose the beginning inventory is 5000 swimsuits If does not produce – max 5000 swimsuits can be sold If starts production, fixed cost will be charged Assuming same demand pattern Should the manufacturer start production? If yes, how many swimsuits should be produced?
Dr. A. K. Dey31 Expected profit Initial Inventory 5000 Swim Suits, Make 7000 more to have to sell DemandProb Revenue 125 Variable cost 80 Fixed Cost Salvage Value 20 Profit Weighted Average Total Expected Profit770700
Dr. A. K. Dey32 Initial Inventory Swim Suits, Make 2000 more to have to sell DemandProb Revenu 125 Variabl cost 80 Fixed Cost Salvag Value 20 Profit Weighte Average Total Expected Profit If only swimsuits are sold revenue and profit will be ! Why produce more?
Dr. A. K. Dey33 Key Insights from this Model The optimal order quantity is not necessarily equal to average forecast demand The optimal quantity depends on the relationship between marginal profit and marginal cost As order quantity increases, average profit first increases and then decreases As production quantity increases, risk increases. In other words, the probability of large gains and of large losses increases