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Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1.

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Presentation on theme: "Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1."— Presentation transcript:

1 Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February

2 Campaign Goals Campaign Goal: To create awareness of giant salvinia among the general public, especially anglers and boaters, by effectively communicating how giant salvinia will impact their enjoyment of the outdoors and motivate them to take action to help stop its spread. Key Target Lakes: Caddo Lake Lake Conroe Toledo Bend Reservoir Lake Sam Rayburn 2

3 Campaign Elements and Media Targets Timing Focus: April 2010 Integrated campaign Statewide Texasinvasives.org Online Banner Ads, Facebook –Target: Statewide boaters, anglers and water recreationists TPW Magazine, Texas Monthly, Outdoor Annual & Lonestar Outdoor News Print Ads –Target: Texas anglers/license holders News Coverage –Target: General Market 3

4 Home Page

5 Print Ad

6 Online Banner Ads

7 Campaign Elements and Media Targets Timing Focus: April 2010 Media by Market Television –Target: Men A25-54, 75% reach with a frequency of 4 or more in Houston and Tyler Designated Market Areas –Ran during news broadcasts, fishing shows and other programming skewed to anglers Lake Specific Media - Target: boaters/anglers around target lakes Pump toppers / Ice Bin decals Billboards Buoys Event Specific Media Radio –Target: Anglers (tied to fishing events in Lufkin, Jasper, Conroe, Mineola) –Texas State Network (Brian Hughes show promoting fishing events) 7

8 Brochures

9 TV Advertising

10 Billboards Pump Toppers Buoys

11 Campaign Timing Advertising launched April Four week flight on TV and online - Event radio ran one week in April and one week in May Media Events -Campaign Launch with Governor Perry – April 1, 2010, Austin, TX -News Briefing and Media Event – April 7, 2010, Sheldon Lake -News Briefing and Media Event with Pro Angler Kelly Jordan – April 8, 2010, Lake Fork 11

12 Survey Methodology Pre and Post awareness mail survey of registered boat owners Targeted boaters within 60 miles of 4 East Texas lakes - Target Lakes: Toledo Bend, Lake Conroe, Lake Sam Rayburn, Caddo Lake Response Rates - Pre Survey: 1,631 respondents (54% response rate) - Post Survey: 1,964 respondents (52% response rate) Stratified Random Sample - Pre Survey: Surveyed 800 boaters per lake - Post Survey: Surveyed 1,000 boaters per lake 12

13 Target Lake Users Last 12 Months For both PRE and POST surveys… Over one-third boated/fished on at least one of the four target lakes in the last year (Target Lake Users) Conversely, two-thirds have not boated/fished on lakes in the last year (Non-Target Lake Users) 13 * 82% of those surveyed had boated; 74% fished in the past 12 months

14 Awareness of Giant Salvinia PRE Survey “How aware are you of giant salvinia in Texas?” Over half of surveyed boaters were aware or very aware of giant salvinia before the campaign began 14

15 Awareness of Giant Salvinia PRE vs. POST Survey Significant difference found only on “aware” scale between pre and post

16 Awareness of Giant Salvinia PRE vs. POST Survey Awareness of giant salvinia increased by 5 percentage points - This is statistically significant 16

17 Awareness of Giant Salvinia Target Lake Users vs. Non-Target Lake PRE Survey Pre-campaign awareness is much higher for boaters using one or more target lakes compared to boaters not using any of the four target lakes 17

18 Awareness of Giant Salvinia Target Lake Users vs. Non-Target Lake PRE vs. POST Survey Post-campaign awareness for boaters not using any of the four target lakes showed a statistically significant increase 18

19 Awareness of Giant Salvinia By Target Lake PRE vs. POST Survey Awareness of giant salvinia varies greatly by lake boated/fished in last year Increase in awareness at Sam Rayburn - Lake with giant salvinia but didn’t have extremely high awareness in pre- survey % Very Aware/Aware PRE POST Caddo Lake81%87% Toledo Bend80%80% Lake Sam Rayburn64%71% Lake Conroe *49%48% All Lake Users65%69% * Conroe did not have significant giant salvinia at time campaign and research was conducted. 19

20 Attitudes about Giant Salvinia Over three-quarters of boaters agree/strongly agree that giant salvinia is an important conservation concern and has a negative impact on boating and fishing No differences between pre and post 20

21 Ability to Identify Giant Salvinia Only half of boaters agree that they can identify giant salvinia No differences between pre and post 21

22 Behavior Related to Cleaning Boat, Trailer and Gear Agreement on cleaning boat, trailer and/or gear to remove giant salvinia did not increase (pre vs. post survey) Vast majority of boaters were “more likely to clean their boat, trailer and/or gear as a result of seeing information or advertising” –Suggests campaign influenced boaters’ future intent to clean their boats and may serve as an important reinforcing message

23 Seen Advertising or Information POST Survey “ Have you seen any information or advertising on giant salvinia in the last two months? ” One-half of all boaters surveyed (51%) saw advertising or information about giant salvinia Target lake users were significantly more likely to have seen the advertising/information compared to boaters not using target lakes 23

24 Saw Advertising or Information by Target Lake Boaters residing within 60 miles of Lake Conroe were the least likely to have seen the advertising/information in last two months *Conroe was only lake that did not have significant giant salvinia during research period and also likely has more casual urban boaters from Houston vs. rural avid boaters/anglers for other east Texas lakes. 24

25 What Information or Advertising was Seen? 51% of surveyed boaters reported seeing advertising or information News stories received the highest mentions - Could be due to TV ad running during news programming - Media events received a great deal of news coverage due to launch of campaign % All Boaters Surveyed New stories (papers, TV, online) 28% Magazine/Newspaper Ad 19% TV Ad/Commercial 14% Billboard 11% Other 8% Information at Event 6% Brochure 6% Radio 5% Buoy 3% Ad at Gas Station 3% TexasInvasives.org website 2% Online Ad 2% 25

26 Conclusions Pre-campaign awareness of giant salvinia was extremely high for boaters who used target lakes but not for boaters that did not use target lakes (65% vs. 40%) Boaters’ overall awareness of giant salvinia increased by 5% as result of campaign –Primarily driven by increase in awareness by boaters who were not using the target lakes and were previously less aware 51% of boaters reported seeing advertising/information on Giant Salvinia –14% saw TV ads (above industry average) Boaters reported that the information/advertising made them more likely to clean their boat/trailer in the future 26

27 Other Campaign Benefits Campaign reached boaters and anglers and general public not included in the surveyed boater group: –Significant media coverage in Austin area –TV advertising in Houston and Tyler markets –Statewide online advertising –Brochures distributed at events: TTBC, Go Fish, boat shows, boater education classes –Communication efforts for events like Aquapalooza and Marina Association of Texas –www.texasinvasives.org (on-going efforts) Other evidence of campaign success –Reports of giant salvinia through website, and via phone calls 27

28 Campaign Cost-Benefit $275,800 Total Campaign Cost 94,860 boaters (51%) saw the ads/information on giant salvinia $2.91 per Boater Who Saw Ads/Information $275,800 / 94,860 = $2.91 $103,700 Paid Media Cost 28.5 million total impressions from paid media $3.63 CPM (cost per thousand) impressions (average for Texas is $15 CPM) $103,700/28,500,000 = $3.63 CPM* *Including impressions from non-paid media (website, media events, press coverage, brochure distribution, event presence) would result in even lower CPM 28

29 Marina Association of Texas Member Survey survey of marina owner members (41 out of 111 members responded to online survey) 89% interested in receiving more information about invasive species to inform their customers 2/3rds were interested in TPWD partnership program to become “certified” in helping stop spread of invasive species

30 Next Steps/Discussion Discuss campaign results Discuss goals and budget to continue building on giant salvinia public awareness –Direct mail? Need for public awareness for zebra mussels? –What role can the public play? Need for public awareness of other aquatic invasive species? 30


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