Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Catholic —the Third Mark of the Church God extends his love to all people in all nations. His Church is, therefore, universal in its mission. Catholic=universal.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Catholic —the Third Mark of the Church God extends his love to all people in all nations. His Church is, therefore, universal in its mission. Catholic=universal."— Presentation transcript:

1 Catholic —the Third Mark of the Church God extends his love to all people in all nations. His Church is, therefore, universal in its mission. Catholic=universal

2 Jesus Ministered to All!!!! The sick and untouchables(lepers) The poor and the wealthy The powerful and the vulnerable The Jew and the Gentile The good and the sinful

3 Jesus Commissions His Disciples to Reach Out to Everyone! “…you will receive power when the holy Spirit comes upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, throughout Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” “..and it shall be that everyone shall be saved who calls on the name of the Lord.” “..repentance, for the forgiveness of sins, would be preached in his name to all the nations…”

4 Inculturation the way that the Church adapts its message to a specific culture or group of people without compromising the message A way of achieving unity without forcing uniformity message is more accepted, if adapted to the culture of the people hearing it

5 Celebrating the Liturgy In the Philippines many people celebrate the Misa de Gallo, the Mass of the rooster, which commemorates the rooster who crowed at midnight when Jesus was born. In Africa Catholics create music with instruments native to their own countries.

6 Different religious traditions Posadas are Mexican celebrations that portray Mary and Joseph’s search for a place to stay. They are held on each of the nine nights leading up to Christmas, from December 16 to 24th.

7 Other Christmas Traditions "Simbang Gabi" is a Filipino Christmas tradition, which is a series of nine (9) dawn masses. The mass starts as early as 4:00 a.m. It begins on December 16 and ends on the midnight of the 24th of December, which is the midnight mass. pino-Christmas-Tradition-Simbang-Gabi

8 What is the mission of the Church? To preach the good news of salvation to all people To teach the total message of Jesus Christ To tell everyone that the church offers all that is necessary for salvation To proclaim the Good News of Christ’s teaching in every age until the end of the world.

9 Interreligious Dialogue *efforts to increase understanding between different religions Oct. 27, 2011: From left, First Primate of the New Armenian Diocese of France Norvan Zakarian, Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Douglas Williams, Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew I, and Pope Benedict XVI leave at the end of a peace meeting in the St. Mary of the Angels Basilica, in Santa Maria degli Angeli, central Italy.

10 Missionaries: Bringing the Faith to Others Missionaries of Charity, an order started by Mother Teresa in India to minister to the very poor A lay missioner from the Maryknoll mission organization Father Damien who cared for the lepers In Hawaii

11 Unity and Diversity Although the Church adapts to the different cultures and nations of the world, it carefully guards the message of the Gospels

12 Divisions in the early Church Apostles preached the Good News in the East and West. The Christians in those areas were later organized into two dioceses that had their own ways of worshipping, and developed different church laws and traditions. Roman or Western Rite—Christians in Rome and nearby areas; Mass in Latin. Eastern Rite—Christians in Jerusalem, Antioch and other places: Mass in native language.

13 Rift Develops in Church In 1054 political and cultural issues led to a split between the Western and Eastern churches. Eastern churches are now called Orthodox. Some Eastern churches later rejoined the Roman Catholic Church and they are known as Eastern Catholic churches. Six major Eastern Catholic Churches are the Chaldean, Armenian, Coptic, Byzantine, Syrian, and Maronite.

14 Byzantine Catholic Church longer services that are entirely chanted without musical instruments will see the faithful lighting candles, venerating the icons, and even infants receiving Holy Communion use leavened bread (not western style hosts) different liturgical calendar, and observe many different rituals.

15 Eastern & Western Churches Byzantine Catholic Church A wall of icons separates the sanctuary from the rest of the Church Roman Catholic Church The sanctuary can be readily seen; priest faces the parishioners

16 All Catholic Churches * essentials are the same for all Catholic Churches Communion with the pope, the bishop of Rome The Fullness of the Gospel The Mass The sacraments

17 Continuing the evangelizing work of Jesus. Evangelization—means to proclaim the Good News of Jesus Christ. Pope John Paul II called for a new evangelization—an effort to bring back Catholics who have heard the Good News, but are indifferent to it. Recently, Father Robert Barron created a television series entitled Catholicism to help Catholics and non- Catholics learn about the Catholic Church and the faith.

Download ppt "Catholic —the Third Mark of the Church God extends his love to all people in all nations. His Church is, therefore, universal in its mission. Catholic=universal."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google