Presentation on theme: "Special Dietary Requirements What are they?. There are a wide range of special dietary requirements that need to be catered for in the hospitality industry."— Presentation transcript:
Special Dietary Requirements What are they?
There are a wide range of special dietary requirements that need to be catered for in the hospitality industry. Vegetarian Vegan No Red Meat Diabetic Coeliac - No Gluten Lactose Intolerant Nut Allergies Allergies
Vegetarian Diets Most common dietary requirement differ between individuals. All vegetarians abstain from meat but some may eat seafood, dairy and eggs. some lean more towards veganism, refusing all animal by-products including honey and butter. Meat substitutes such as quorn and tofu are widely available use with plenty of spices and vegetables, Middle eastern, Mexican and Mediterranean foods are easy to give a vegetarian twist. Hearty soups, burritos, falafels and hummus are universally loved vegetarian dishes
Vegan Vegans, in addition to being vegetarian, do not use other animal products and by- products such as eggs, dairy products, honey, leather, fur, silk, wool, cosmetics, and soaps derived from animal products. People choose to be vegan for health, environmental, and/or ethical reasons.
Common Vegan Foods Oatmeal, stir-fried vegetables, cereal, toast, orange juice, peanut butter on whole wheat bread, frozen fruit desserts, lentil soup, salad bar items like chickpeas and three bean salad, dates, apples, macaroni, fruit smoothies, popcorn, spaghetti, vegetarian baked beans, guacamole, chili...
Vegans also eat Tofu lasagna, homemade pancakes without eggs, hummus, eggless cookies, soy ice cream, tempeh, corn chowder, soy yogurt, rice pudding, fava beans, banana muffins, spinach pies, oat nut burgers, falafel, corn fritters, French toast made with soy milk, soy hot dogs, vegetable burgers, pumpkin casserole, scrambled tofu, seitan.
When eating out vegans could choose… Pizza without cheese, Chinese moo shu vegetables, Indian curries and dahl, eggplant dishes without the cheese, bean tacos without the lard and cheese (available from Taco Bell and other Mexican restaurants), Middle Eastern hummus and tabouli, Ethiopian injera (flat bread) and lentil stew, Thai vegetable curries...
Diabetic-special dietary restrictions Diabetes can be better managed through healthy eating, combined with regular physical activity and weight control. No special diets are required. recommended to follow a healthy eating plan based on high fibre carbohydrate foods such as wholegrain breads and cereals, vegetables and fruit. Limit fat intake, especially saturated fat. Choose foods low in salt consume only moderate amounts of sugars and food containing added sugars.
Gluten Free - special dietary requirements for coeliac disease A gluten-free special dietary requirements diet is paramount to people who suffer from coeliac disease or dermatitis herpetiformis (a gluten induced skin sensitivity). gluten is a mixture of proteins (glutenin and gliadin) found in some cereals, particularly wheat gliadin component of gluten is responsible for coeliac disease.
Gluten Free Requirements - coeliac disease gluten-free special dietary requirements diet is not the same as a wheat-free diet, some gluten-free foods are not wheat free. it is still unknown how or exactly why gluten harms the gut. complete avoidance of all foods made from or containing wheat, rye, barley and usually, oats.
Wheat Free special dietary requirements wheat is an allergen which can be either ingested or inhaled. symptoms associated with wheat allergies are tiredness, depression, bloating, diarrhoea and mouth ulcers. wheat free foods are available, such as bread, pizzas, pastas, pastries and even steak pie – it is possible to enjoy the alternatives and be safe with special dietary requirements.
Wheat Free special dietary requirements avoid such associated foods, like bread crumbs, bran, cereal extract, cereal protein, couscous, bulgar or bulgur wheat, cracker meal, enriched flour, gluten, semolina wheat, high protein flour, malt, malt vinegar, starch, rusk, baking powder. care is taken when choosing gelonized starch, spelt, kamut, anything from the Triticum family, modified food starch, modified starch, hyrolised starch, soy sauce, vegetable gum or vegetable starch, MSG, citric acid, mustard powder, beer, ale and root beer, malted milk, dextrins, miso, suet.
Egg Free special dietary requirements allergy to eggs can cause a variety of symptoms such as gastrointestinal discomfort, skin rash, hives, and breathing difficulties. in serious cases, life threatening reactions called anaphylaxis. must ensure that food labels are carefully read to ensure that the individual knows what products may contain eggs or egg byproducts, such as globulin, livetin, mayonnaise, meringue, lysozyme,ovalbumin, ovomucin, ovomucoid and ovovitellinor.
Lactose Intolerant a type of food intolerance - inadequate amounts of the lactase enzyme available to break down lactose- the disaccharide in milk –into glucose and galactose Management involves firstly finding the lactose dose that the person can tolerate without symptoms, Secondly maintaining a balanced diet which provides adequate amounts of calcium and other nutrients provided by dairy foods.
Dairy Free Diet The aim of the Dairy-Free Diet is to eliminate major and minor sources of dairy foods and their derivatives in order to prevent symptoms of the food intolerance or allergy from occurring A dairy intolerance or allergy is often implicated in eczema, sinusitis, rhinitis, headache, migraine, asthma and digestive disturbances.
DIET SHOULD BE ADEQUATE IN CALCIUM The following non-dairy foods are good sources of calcium: 1. Soy products. Use soy milk (fortified with calcium), soy-based yoghurts and tofu ice-cream. 2. Fish with soft, edible bones such as sardines, herrings and tinned salmon. 3. Green vegetables such as Chinese greens, kale and broccoli. 4. Almonds, brazil nuts, sunflower and sesame seeds. 5. Baked beans. 6. Calcium-fortified cereals and bread (check labels).
DIET SHOULD ELIMINATE 1. Dairy (animal) milk in all forms - whole, skim/skimmed, modified milk, evaporated and condensed milk, milk powder, non-fat milk solids, whey, buttermilk. 2. Cream, ice-cream, yoghurt, custard, dairy desserts, mousses, cheesecakes, milk chocolate. 3. Cheese, cottage cheese, ricotta cheese, cream cheese, cheese spreads, cheese slices, cheese- flavoured snack foods, milk-based sauces, mornays. 4. Butter and margarine (small amounts of milk protein). NOTE: Check all food labels for ingredients derived from animal’s milk such as whey, non-fat milk solids, casein, caseinate. Some people may be able to tolerate goat’s milk but often this contains the same allergenic proteins as cow’s milk.
Nut Allergy Allergic reaction to nuts can progress rapidly to anaphylaxis. Peanut allergy is responsible for more deaths than any other type of allergy. strictly avoiding nuts, including peanuts and tree nuts like cashews and walnuts, and food containing nuts is the only way to prevent a reaction it is not always easy to avoid these foods since many unsuspecting products contain nuts.
Peanut Products Peanut-Containing Ingredients Tree NutsTree Nut-Containing Ingredients Nut-Containing Foods Cold-pressed or expressed peanut oil Peanut butter Peanut flour Hydrolyzed plant protein Hydrolyzed vegetable protein Almonds Brazil nuts Cashews Chestnuts Filberts Hazelnuts Hickory nuts Macadamia nuts Pecans Pine nuts Pistachios Walnuts Marzipan / almond paste Nougat Artificial nuts Nut butters (such as cashew butter and almond butter) Nut oil Nut paste (such as almond paste) Nut extracts (such as almond extract) Ground nuts Mixed nuts Chex mix Artificial nuts Nougat African, Chinese, Thai, and other ethnic dishes Cookies, candy, pastries, and other baked goods Grain breads Ice cream, frozen desserts High-energy bars Cereals and granola Salad dressing Marzipan Examples of peanut and tree-nut products and foods that may contain them, include:
Common Food Allergens A food allergy is an immune system response to a food that the body mistakenly believes is harmful. Although an individual could be allergic to any food, such as fruits, vegetables, and meats, there are eight foods that account for 90% of all food-allergic reactions. These are: milk, egg, peanut, tree nut (walnut, cashew, etc.), fish, shellfish, soy, and wheat. Anaphylaxis is a serious allergic reaction that is rapid in onset and may cause death.