Presentation on theme: "Baseball Rules Questions What do you rule?. Play 1 At the start of the game, Jones is the DH batting for Harris, the second baseman. In the third inning."— Presentation transcript:
Play 1 At the start of the game, Jones is the DH batting for Harris, the second baseman. In the third inning Harris bats for himself. In the fifth inning, the coach re-enters Jones to bat for Harris. In the seventh inning, the coach attempts to re-enter Harris to bat. You Rule??
Play 1 Ruling This is legal, Allow Harris to re-enter and bat. Jones is now done for the game. 3-1-3, 3-1-4
Play 2 Team A has only 10 players present and is utilizing a DH for the pitcher. In the fifth inning, A’s third baseman takes a ground ball in the face and cannot continue. The team wants the DH to play third. You rule???
Play 2 Ruling The team may continue to play with only 8 defensive players. If later on, the third baseman ca return (provided he has not left and re-entered prior) or another player may show and the team returns to nine players. If the DH plays third, then the pitcher must leave the game. 3-4-3, 4-4-4- 1f, note 2
Play 3 The team is playing with no available substitutes. In the sixth inning, the right fielder with a count of 1-2, swings and fouls a ball that hits him and he cannot continue. The team looks to you for what the rule allows. Would your ruling be different if the right fielder had acquired first base and twisted his ankle such that he could not continue. You Rule???
Play 3 Ruling If there is no available substitutes to assume the right fielder’s count and his at-bat, the right fielder will be declared our and the next proper batter will bat. Every time the right fielder's spot in the line up comes to bat, an out will be declared. If the right fielder becomes able, or if another player shows at the game, the team may return to nine. Had the right fielder obtained a base and then became incapacitated, the last batter not on base could run for him. 4-4- 1f note 1,2
Play 4 With R1 at third and R3 at first and one out, R3 takes several hard steps in what turns out to be a bluff to steal second. F1, in the set position, legally wheels to throw to second base only to find F6 and F4 in their normal fielding positions. F1 goes ahead and throws to F6 who is twenty feet away from second base. As the base umpire you Rule????
Play 4 Ruling This is a legal move. Since the pitcher had reason to believe that a play was possible, he may throw to unoccupied second base. While the rules call for the first baseman to be close enough to first be able to make a play on the runner, no such restriction exists for second or third base. 6-2-4b
Play 5 With runners at first and second, the batter takes ball four. The pitch bounces off the catcher’s shin guard and into an unoccupied media area. Failing to find any aspirin, you rule???
Play 5 Ruling Award each runner, including the batter runner one base 8-3-3d
Play 6 With the bases loaded and no outs, B4 hits an infield fly. U2 calls out B4 on the infield fly. R3, thinking the ball would not be caught, advances past R2, just beyond second base. The fly ball hits R2 while he is off second base. You Rule???
Play 6 Ruling Triple Play. B4 is out on the infield fly. R3 is out for passing unobstructed R2. R2 is out for being hit by the infield fly while off the base. 8-41j, 8-4-2k, 8-4-2m
Play 7 With a runner on third and two outs, B4 hits a ball in front of the plate. R1 slides to home while F2’s throw hits B4 in the back who is out of the running lane on the fair side. Your Rule??? What would you rule if the play started with just one out?
Play 7 Ruling This is interference on the BR and the ball is dead. With two outs, no runs will score as the BR was out and did not obtain first base. If they play started with one out, the BR is still out and other runners return to base occupied at the time of the interference. R1, had he slid past home before the interference, would score; otherwise, he would be returned to third. 8-4-1g
Play 8 Runners on first and third with one out. B4 hits a sinking line drive to center. R1 tags but R3 is off on the crack of the bat. F8 makes a “Sportscenter Catch” of what everyone thought was a base hit. R1 does properly tag and go home. R3 is beyond second at the time of the catch, throw, and still at the time when the throw from center to first goes dead in the dugout. You Rule????
Play 8 Ruling R1 scores. R3 would be awarded third, two bases from the base he had at the time of the pitch, since he had not properly tagged the base on the caught fly ball. If the defense appeals, even if R3 returns to touch first, he would be declared out.
Play 9 Two outs, runner at second. On a 1-2 pitch, R3 steals as the batter checks his swing. R3 is thrown out for the third out. The defense wants to appeal the check swing on the batter so that he strikes out and doesn’t come back to bat the next inning. Do you let them??? Who is out??? Who is the next to hit???
Play 9 Ruling The appeal is allowed, they can have the advantageous fourth out. The batter is out.
Play 10 With two outs and runners on first and third, the batter has a 1-2 count. As he checks his swing, R4 gets in a rundown allowing R3 to score. R4 is tagged out after R3 touches home. The batter’s checked swing in now appealed. You Rule???
Play 10 Ruling No run. The third out is the batter who is declared out before he obtained first base.
Play 11 In the top of the sixth inning, the coach removes F1 (a starter) because it is the team’s fourth defensive conference. IN the bottom of the sixth inning, the removed F1 reports to pinch hit for the pitcher who substituted for him. You Rule???
Play 11 Ruling You will allow the substitute. He may re- enter but may not pitch again. 3-1-2, 3-1-3, 3-4-1 penalty